Tidbit Tuesday

9 Dec
  • Christmas lights!

    Tonight TDH and I are meeting up with my Wednesday night crew (yes, on a Tuesday!) for a Christmas dinner and then a carriage ride through one of the local parks that does crazy amounts of Christmas lights. I am making bowtie pasta with pesto sauce and have a killer asiago bake-in-your-oven bread to take. I am also beside myself with excitement. Yes, it’s going to be cold but it’s going to be jovial, romantic and allows me to cross another “wish I could” item off my list.

  • Grad School Update! Are you sick of them yet? Don’t worry… they are almost done for awhile! 5 more essays and one final to go and then I’m done for at least a month. I’m 99% sure I’m taking the first nine weeks off due to stress levels (need to lower them a bit) and also to give my company a break from paying for school since the economy is proving to be a Debbie Downer. I really have learned a lot about business law and I have a secret to share: I LOVE IT. If law school didn’t mean suspending my life for three solid years of my life I would be taking the LSAT and getting down with the law books.
  • Road Trip Weekend. Last weekend TDH and I ventured two hours south of the StL to visit one of my dear friends who I miss on a regular basis, Miss Mel. She’s my most recently married friend (remember the pics of me on a hayride? Yup, that was her weddin’.) We antiqued. We drank (a lot). The boys played poker. The girls cooked dinner and snacks. The dogs ran and played and chased and tugged. We danced to live music. Tried a microbrew. Most of all, we laughed, we smiled, we reminisced. I told TDH I wish we could go visit them every other month and he said “well, why not? Let’s do it.” It’s great to have a man who can relate to my closeness with my friends and start to be close with them too.
  • Gram Update. Okay, I confess I haven’t seen my Gram yet. Yes, I feel bad about it. I am going to make it a point to stop by her new place this weekend, bring her a housewarming gift of some kind (no idea what yet, she brought 61 boxes so she must have some serious stuff!) Today/tonight is supposed to be her last night at my parents and start her independent living life at the new retirement community. I’ll write a backgrounder on my relationship with my Gram at some point so that I don’t seem wildly insensitive about her moving here.
  • Christmas. Um, is it really only two and a half weeks ago? Is anyone else completely prepared? I am not… though I finally made a list of what I already have, what I need to get for each person and where those presents can be found. I feel much better in just doing that.
  • Pictures. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a picture. I know I talk about TDH, well… a lot, but I love this picture Miss Mel took of us over the weekend, so I’m sharing. And I’m putting Miss Mel up with me, too. I’m sure she won’t mind!

with Miss Mel

img_3121

8 Responses to “Tidbit Tuesday”

  1. Gigi December 9, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    Cute couple! I hope you have a great time tonight!

  2. Kyla Bea December 9, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    Oh no, stress leave? I’m glad you’re taking the time that you need at least – deep breaths! And WOW about your holiday night with TDH. That’s the most romantic thing, I hope you guys have an amazing time!

  3. brookem December 9, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    how adorable are you?!
    and a horse and buggy ride?! im super jealous. have fun!

  4. She She December 9, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    What a nice smile he has. And I love your hat!

  5. Little Miss Obsessive December 9, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    Aw your night sounds like it is going to be so much fun! So excited for you.

    Also, you and TDH are just too freakin cute – great pic!

  6. Liz December 9, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    I love pictures. And wait, are you taller than TDH? You’ll have to tell me the name of the park with the lights and carriage rides. I’ve always wanted to do that with my husband!

  7. laylou December 9, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    Thanks for all the kind word guys! And no, TDH is not shorter than me. I only date taller guys :)

  8. SSG December 10, 2008 at 2:58 am #

    Hey sweet photos, and loving the snow on your website! Man you have some great things going on in your life, I want to go on a road trip!

Leave a Reply

