“Contradiction is not a sign of falsity, nor the lack of contradiction a sign of truth.”

12 Dec

Blog title by Blaise Pascal

Evidently I’m incapable of coming up with new things to write about, despite the fact I’ve had an eventful week.  And it seems I’m compelled to write although none of the ideas are original. So I’m stealing my inspiration from Brookem at SkrinkeringHearts again. Today’s theme? Contradictions.

I rescued Jack from the Missouri Humane Society yet I refuse to donate any more money to them because the euthanize. I know there are many dogs, both good and bad, that are homeless, but no dog deserves to be killed.

I love eating chicken but preparing raw chicken disgusts me. Literally turns my stomach.

I can’t stand dirty houses, messy bedrooms or disheveled beds. Now that I live alone, I clean only when absolutely necessary.

I don’t like being cold at all, but there is something about winter I find magical and enticing.

I’m a very social, outgoing person but as of late all I want to do is curl up on the couch with Jack, TDH or a blanket and either a good movie or book. Sounds rather lame, so I’m hoping it’s just the winter weather.

I can eat tuna fish from a can (I know, it’s probably not tuna) without any allergy problems; give me anything else seafood related and I can’t handle it.

I strongly dislike the taste of coffee but love the aroma from coffee shops, especially as I stroll by.

I don’t really enjoy rap but I can’t get a good workout in unless it’s blaring on my MP3 player.

I am not a fan of smoking, especially when it’s the man I’m dating, yet there is something slightly and strangely sexy about the act of smoking. The crease above the eyes, the change in their facial expressions.

I love the taste of broccoli but cauliflower, broccoli’s cousin? Don’t even get it near me.

I complain about being busy but if I’m not busy I don’t quite know what to do with myself; I get bored entirely too easily.

I am not mentally prepared to have a baby but my body screams out each time it sees a darling newborn, toddler or otherwise adorable child.

Seeing cows standing in pastures makes me sad yet I crave a delicious cheeseburger on the regular.

I never seem to have stamps yet I insist on sending my bills in the old-fashioned way each month.

I need quiet in order to sleep but when TDH isn’t around I must fall asleep to the tv.

I say I don’t care what people think of me, but secretly, inside, I do.

I am usually so busy pleasing other people that I forget to please myself.

I have an immense amount of love for my family, TDH and Jack yet I really stink at saying it out loud. (I’m working on it!)

I despise the bar scene but some days I crave a ridiculous, drunken night out.

******************

9 Responses to ““Contradiction is not a sign of falsity, nor the lack of contradiction a sign of truth.””

  1. SSG December 12, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    You have some good ideas for blogging, must rememeber to steal some next time I am flagging!
    Everyone is a contradiction, aren’t we? Just like nobody’s perfect. And reading this and your last post I think sometimes we are in the midst of change, and moving to a new way of thinking while still clining to past ideals. I campaigned against smoking when in high school, then took it up at university. What a hypocrite you might say. But I don’t smoke anymore. At least I know what the choice is like now.

  2. Little Miss Obsessive December 12, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    After I read Brookem’s contradictions post I wanted to my own too lol just haven’t had time.

    Raw chicken really really grosses me out too! And I always would say “I don’t care what people think..” but I’ve realized recently that I do, I just don’t like to admit it.

  3. Liz December 12, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    you should donate to Stray Rescue instead ;)

    I feel the same way about cows and cheeseburgers. It’s especially sad when I see their cute faces peeking out from the little holes in a truck as they’re being taken to the slaughter house. :(

    Sorry, that was a real downer of a comment.

  4. laylou December 12, 2008 at 10:34 am #

    Liz: I should probably volunteer for Stray Rescue! I have always wanted too- if you work with them or have info, please email me. And I know exactly what you mean about the cows. It breaks my heart. I’d probably have a cow farm, not for eating purposes of course :)

    Little: Brookem has the best posts lately! Love how she’s giving me fuel for my otherwise not so stellar brain!

    SSG: I think you are exactly right.

  5. She She December 12, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    I’m with you on the chicken — raw and cooked. Whenever T. roasts a chicken, I always ask him to strip it. I can’t take it.

    Also with you on the broccoli and smoking.

  6. brookem December 12, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    woo! glad to see this is making the rounds!
    happy weekend sister!

  7. Nilsa December 12, 2008 at 2:44 pm #

    Oh how I love this post! I can relate to a lot of your contradictions, especially the one about coffee. Too funny!

  8. Kyla Bea December 12, 2008 at 10:49 pm #

    I love this one!

    I was just suggesting to Mister that we have a secret bar night where we cab to and from down town just to go dancing together at a really upscale club.

    And I hate those clubs. But still, there’s an appeal!

  9. J December 14, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    I agree with the coffee thing. It disgusts me but it smells so good. I could just live in a Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

