57 Degree Sunday Eve

14 Dec

It is currently 57 degrees in StL. In the middle of December. Unheard of.
The weathermen predict sleet and ice starting around 4am tonight. Until then, I’ll take Jack on all the walks he desires.

You probably don’t care about the weather here so much as you do Ugly Sweater Party Three…

* I managed to have one of the ugliest outfits possible. TDH and I were able to find clothes to wear yesterday despite or intense procrastination. Pictures have yet to be uploaded to my computer, nor have I received any via email so as a study break early this week, pictures shall be posted.

* The twist this year (the “bracket” as it were) went very well, though yours truly was eliminated in Round One, though the girl I was up against didn’t really have a sweater on, much less a hideous outfit. C’est la vie.

* TDH and I were eliminated in Round One of Beer Pong, despite the concerted effort. It was probably for the best as I managed to consume much more alcohol than planned.

* I had much more fun than I anticipated. That sounds terrible, I know, but not having seen many of the guys/gals there in months I was slightly nervous. Between (their) weddings, honeymoons, life changes (new houses, pregnancy!) and much more, we seldom all get together in one place.

*****************
Wreath Making!

Darling & The Boss are members of the Botanical Garden here in town, meaning they receive updates and special offers for “adult education” classes and seminars, one of which is holiday wreath making.

All three of us went this year, my brother choosing to stay on campus, and within 90 minutes we had ourselves three, homemade, spectacular yet equally different, wreaths. (I shall have to take a picture of mine as well, just for fun.)

It’s amazing to watch some of the other attendees: they bring their own ribbons, bows, glitter, ornaments and even other accent plants. Others bring their own gardening gloves and aprons; we dealt with the sap, scraps and pine scent on our hands.

Christmas carols drift throughout the classroom and there are plenty of Botanical Garden helpers on hand to assist with technique (yes, we get to wrap the branches to the wire ourselves!), provide us with holly, acorns, and bows, and to clean up our mess after we desert the place, our cars smelling like pine and our houses newly adorned with holiday festive accents.

It’s always good for some laughs, too. I rarely get Darling and The Boss to myself!

**********************
Posting will likely (apart from Ugly Sweater Pictures) be light for the first few days this week. Final time is upon me and thanks to the recovery I needed to deal with this morning (darn Drinking Games) I have been less than useful and studious today. Example: I woke up at 11:30. Made cinnamon rolls. Fell asleep again at 1. Took a shower and put on a different set of pajamas. It’s kind of nice, though, to have a day with Jack, TDH, and a couch.

********************

6 Responses to “57 Degree Sunday Eve”

  1. Gigi December 15, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    Sounds like you were about as productive as I was yesterday! Good luck on finals!

  2. Little Miss Obsessive December 15, 2008 at 8:24 am #

    I cannot wait to see the pics of your ugly sweater outfit! Glad you had fun.. and the wreathe making sounds like a good time too! :)

  3. Kyla Bea December 15, 2008 at 9:01 am #

    Good luck with your finals! Sounds like some serious fun was a great way to kick them off!

  4. She She December 15, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    Good luck on your finals!

  5. butterflycharlie December 15, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    What’s beer pong?! (Oh god, does that make me sound really British and square?!)

  6. SSG December 16, 2008 at 3:09 am #

    57 degrees, is that hot or cold? and butterflycharlie, dont worry, I had to ask too!
    I love those fall asleep and snuggle in the afternoon type days!
    And wreath making, that is soo Christmasssy, sounds a really good event. Sometimes I wish I lived in a city so they organised stuff like that to do. Would be fun, I love the smells of christmas and music, and doing things with family.

Leave a Reply

