Intermission

16 Dec

Now that I have put my graduate school ambitions on pause to regroup, I have one of the best gifts one can receive: TIME.

Even this evening, final completed, essays turned in, though my nerves are bit on edge as I wait for the grade, my shoulders feel about 50 pounds lighter.

Unfortunatlely my event planner day-job occasionally interferes with my persona life so I find myself penciling in things on my calendar. I am facing a staycation starting next Tuesday at noon so the following will begin:

* Catching up One Tree Hill. I’m an avid, albeit late, fan of this show and I’ve missed the last six weeks easily. I love that the CW allows full streaming episodes online.

* Finishing “The Book Thief.” It was a birthday present, I just started it about a week ago and it’s really great. Compelling. Different writing style. After that, Bram Stoker’s “Dracula.” And then I’ll randomly pick one of the many other books I have waiting to be read.

* Teeth whitening and some spray-tan action. Yes, I admit that I like to have a hint of a tan during the winter season. I don’t go super tan so as to not look totally out of  place.

* The Gym! I’m so excited about the gym, I can’t even tell you. It will be like a reunion of two long lost friends or a couple deciding they are ready to try again.

* Catching up on simple organization projects. Filing the stack of paid bills. Scrapbooking and sending photos to those who have been receving empty promises for the last few months. Cleaning out my closet and donating clothes to Goodwill.

* Catching up with my girl friends. It may be a tad harder than I’m used to since all of us are attached (again!), newly married or working 60+hours a week, but I’ll do it. I have several friends who are married to military men who are facing deployment so I’ll start by being there more for them. They deserve it and they need it.

* Helping out Gram. Darling and I went to her place last Wednesday to help her unpack and organize. While I don’t want to create a dependency on us and I do want her to have her own life, she’s here and I should take full advantage of that.

* ME time. That’s right, I’m going to be  a tad selfish. The whole reason I’m taking a break is because I feel the need to refocus on myself, health and well being. So I’m going to do it. Better cooking. Better sleeping. Better Nora.

4 Responses to “Intermission”

  1. Little Miss Obsessive December 16, 2008 at 8:36 am #

    Yay for staycation! You’ve been working so hard, you deserve it. And congrats on the end of the semester =) what a great feeling.

    Oh and I think I’m trying out a spray tan for the first time ever for New Years Eve!

  2. She She December 16, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    Phew! Your downtime sounds exhausting! But fun!

    Congratulations on being out from under.

  3. Gigi December 16, 2008 at 10:23 pm #

    I hope you get lots and lots of YOU time! How fun:) I’m going to compile my list too!

  4. laylou December 17, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    Little Miss: We’ll see how well our tans turn out!

    SheShe: Yes, I re-read my list and it is rather tiresome, huh? Maybe I’ll start with the ME time and work my way up to the other stuff. I’m too much of a go-getter sometimes for my own good.

    Gigi: Enjoy your time too! It’s well deserved :)

Leave a Reply

