Winter Daze

17 Dec

It’s another snowy, blustery, so-freakin-cold-your-face-hurts kind of day.
The office is quiet. I can’t tell if it’s because of the holidays, the economy or a winter daze that we are all in.
So, just because I feel like it, a random list:

*I have never been fishing. Ever.

* The one time I went camping it was at Fort Wilderness, which is owned & operated by Disney in Orlando, FL. (Ever seen Troop Beverly Hills? We weren’t that stuck up, but our camping was not even close to real.) The closest we came to wildlife was an armadillo scurrying past our tent.

* It really annoys when able-bodied people in my office, co-workers and colleagues alike, take the eleveator down to the first floor. We are on the second floor. I have counted a total of 16 steps to get from there to here.

* I have a habit of calling people who are “older,” than me “sir,” and “ma’am.” I hope it doesn’t offend anyone.

* I rarely go a day without chocolate. If I do I’m always surprised the next that I survived without it, which proves that I don’t really need it.

* I’m 25 and I have a ton of white hairs on my head. Not gray. WHITE. And not only are they white but they choose to defy me and stick striaght out of my head in all kinds of crazy, curly directions.

* I have vivid dreams every night. Lately they have been scary and terrifying. Last night: I was held hostage at a gas station by a gang of men who had pistols and were taking over all the gas stations in town.

* I occasionally will not wear an article of clothing if I associate it with something negative.

* I think I have really chubby cheeks. They annoy me.

* My parents have made a list as long as their arms of nicknames for me. Beeps is the one that is used most frequently as of late. Most of them do not even relate to my name, so I have no idea what their origin is.

* On nights when I’m having me-time, I rarely eat a proper dinner. I usually go for a bowl of cereal and then later on a piece of cheese.

* Ironing and laundry are two of my most favorite household chores. I know it’s crazy, but I like them.

* I have had three surgeries: appendicitis, sinus surgery and removal of my very annoying tonsils.

* I often think that I would love to start and own a bakery. I have contemplated going to cooking classes for fun.

* Deja Blue is my favorite brand of bottled water. I do recycle.

* I can’t go into PetCo or PetSmart on puppy adoption days. I will start crying. I would love to have lots of land so I could have at least five dogs.

* I don’t think I’ve ever felt so at ease, safe, and passionate about a man before as I do with and for TDH. 

* I really want to find a way to go to the 20SB conference/event in June 2009…

7 Responses to “Winter Daze”

  1. Kyla Bea December 17, 2008 at 9:02 am #

    I’m with you on the puppies & domestic duties – and with the 20SB event. I’m not 100% sure that I’m going but… we’ll see!

  2. SSG December 17, 2008 at 9:29 am #

    hey what’s 20SB? I liked this post, lots of things you could talk about! My boyfriend is 29 and has LOTS of grey, since he was a teenager. When I visited him in Australia and he was playing cricket, I overheard a conversation between guys watching: A: So, that new Pommie dude, how old is he ay? B: Awh, he’s about 40 i reckon, but his girlfriend is like 17.
    That made me feel good, at the age of 24! and how i laughed when I told my boyfriend. He didn’t! I sometimes try my hardest to go without chocolate. What is so difficult about it? i think i have an addiciton. And, yeah, what is it with people taking the lift, is the ultimate in laziness, and is almost laughable. Some people don’t have enough food, we’re running out of crude oil, yet we use electricity to move us up a few flights cos we’re too lazy to use those things called legs. And electric doors- yeah it’s all nice but do we really need them? Save for people who genuinely need them. Way to go SSG, you made your point well. Ahem.

  3. Nilsa December 17, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    What a great list of randomness. You should definitely go to cooking classes. Worst thing that can happen is you have a little fun. Best thing? You find yourself a new career. And those water bottles? Not all of them can be recycled. So they sit in landfills. Forever. I love the new Brita commercials – they’re brilliant!

  4. laylou December 17, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Kyla: I will only go to Chicago if at least four of my bloggy friends go. Not that I don’t want to meet other people, but I think it would be much more fun if I had people I actually “know,” to meet up with, you know? As it gets closer, let’s talk about it!

    SSG: 20SB= Twenty Something Bloggers. You should join, it’s not exclusive to North America. It’s an online community forum for 20-something bloggers :) You can view my 20SB page on the link that is in my right side bar. I dye my hair so the white hair is not really a problem except my roots are about two inches long right now :( You do make good points about the escalators/elevators!

    Nilsa- – I will have to check out the Brita commercials. I do have a water filter on my faucet at home (courtesy of TDH) so I rarely purchase water bottles. I re-used them for many days and then make sure I can recycle them. And okay, you convinced me. I’ll add cooking classes to the list of fun things to do in 2009!

  5. Little Miss Obsessive December 17, 2008 at 11:42 am #

    I have really chubby cheeks too lol… they run on my dad’s side of the family.. sometimes they annoy me too. I had a characature done at a work event and he even drew my cheeks really big lol.. i think I have a pic of it.. maybe I’ll send it your way.

    You should definitely go to cooking class! I always contemplate going to cake decorating classes lol.

  6. nova December 17, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    There’s just something so comforting about doing laundry and ironing. I actually miss doing it. Living here in NY, I have no washer and dryer, and no real time to go to the laundromat. Yeah, I’m one of those losers who drop off my laundry and pick it up.

    I, too, tend to call people older than I am “sir” or “m’am” but am also the type that hates it when I myself am called “m’am” because I feel old.

    I don’t think you have big cheeks at all! I call them “youthful cheeks.” Old[er] people have no cheeks (fallen cheeks). People are getting cheek implants these days to look younger, so be glad for yours!

  7. the manhattan transfer December 18, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    Beeps is a Cutie McCuterson nickname.

    I thought of Troop Beverly Hills the other day because one of the owners of the company I worked for recently bought a ranch, and when we asked him if he was going to take camping trips on the land he said: “Camping? The only place I go camping is to a Marriott with an omelet station.” Hilarity.

Leave a Reply

