Conversations that make me go “Oh!”

19 Dec

I think yesterday was the first time in over 45 days I didn’t blog. Terrible, I know.

I had a “shitastic” day at work and I didn’t want to be a Scrooge/Debbie Downer, especially at this time of year. I’m also very well aware that my bad days aren’t nearly as bad as other people’s bad days.

Last night, in an attempt to fix my Bad Day Blues, TDH came over with Jimmy John’s (my favorite sub sandwiches, hands down. It’s the bread, I swear!), National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, and Sierra Mist complete with kisses and snuggles. I wasn’t really my normal self though I tried to be, between going over work crap in my head and making lists, trying to walk Jack on snowy sidewalks, and wishing I were fast asleep in bed (I have bags under my eyes this week!), it was tough.

Later on, talking about his upcoming family Christmas Card that will be shot this weekend (they do photo cards) since his oldest sister will be arriving from Australia tonight, he asked if I wanted to come. I told him no, it’s too much of a production, I don’t belong there. Besides, it’s his family’s Christmas card. I won’t be in them.

TDH:”Oh, yes. You will be in them.”
Nora:”Really? I thought that required a ring on the finger of the outsiders.”
TDH: “It does.”
Nora:”Well, then I won’t be in them.”
TDH:”Not this year you won’t.” <Insert sneaky smile.>
*************************
The other night, after TDH finished reading his Anita Blake Vampire novel, snuggling up to me: “I love you so much.”
Nora (sleep-groggy and teasing): “Oh really? What are ya gonna do about it?”
TDH (whsiper in my ear): “Marry You.”

*************************
I mentioned briefly the other day that TDH and I are seriosly considering adopting a dog together. We’re on a list for the Rat Terrier and will find out on Tuesday if we get him. Wednesday night while shopping with Darling & Gram (A whole post in itself), we texted via Blackberry Messenger:

Nora:”Finally at grocery store. What are you doing?”
TDH:”Watching a docu on fighter pilots. Missing you. Wish you were here.”
Nora: “Agreed! Miss you too, babe.”
TDH:”I’ve been thinking about buying houses and dogs with you all day.”
Nora: ” :)”

*****************************

11 Responses to “Conversations that make me go “Oh!””

  1. nova December 19, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    It just keeps getting better and better!

    I love reading about you and TDH’s interactions. Seriously, it makes me all happy and giddy inside. There should be a sitcom about you two. It would be so cute!

    He is sooo in love with you! ;)

  2. Gigi December 19, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    Wow! Those are some serious hints!!! Do you think you’ll get a ring this Christmas? How exciting!

  3. She She December 19, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    This is so sweet. Please keep these stories coming. They remind me of T and me (about 20 years ago!).

  4. butterflycharlie December 19, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    oooooohhh!!!!!!

  5. laylou December 19, 2008 at 1:50 pm #

    Nova: I know, isn’t it great? I sometimes feel like I’m in a fairy tale.

    Gigi: Honestly, no. I don’t think it will happen for at least another yaer. We shall see I suppose :)

    SheShe: I’m glad you like it. I’m always afraid to get all mushy on my blog. And glad to know that you experienced this and you are still with your wonderful man!

    Butterfly: I think my only response to your ooooohhh can be aaaahhh! (like watching fireworks!)

  6. Nilsa December 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    I love me the Beach Club from JJ’s. You’re making me hungry!

    I love that TDH is such a tease. In a good way, of course!

    Imagine my surprise when we received a holiday card from Dan’s parents and it had a picture of us from our wedding on the front. Oh my! At least you’ll know when you’re going to be a part of TDH’s family photos! =)

  7. Liz December 19, 2008 at 5:30 pm #

    If that boy doesn’t propose by Valentine’s Day, I’ll be VERY surprised.

  8. Scarlett December 20, 2008 at 9:05 am #

    So cute! I love that kind of stuff. It just stays with you and makes you smile randomly, doesn’t it? I hope you guys get the dog!!

    Maybe we will be simultaneously wedding planning :)

  9. Kyla Bea December 20, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Aw! So sweet! = D

    You guys are, and will continue to be, very happy together = )

  10. SSG December 22, 2008 at 4:17 am #

    So… bets on when he proposes? Man you two are so into each other it makes me sick. In a nice way ;)
    Hope you have a great Christmas! SSg

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Post Staycation, with a tad of malaise « Walking through the Rain - January 4, 2009

    […] realize I owe everyone an update on The Rat Terrier. TDH and I decided against adopting the puppy at this point in time. I’m not a huge fan of […]

Leave a Reply

