Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!

22 Dec

1. Wrapping paper or bags?    I prefer wrapping paper with sparkles, silver, glitter, Christmas trees, presents on them and etc.

2. Real tree or Artificial?    Artificial for the last eight years at least. We had several real ones growing up but they weren’t without their problems (leakage and falling over randomly, though they are good for holiday memories!)

3. When do you put up tree??  The Sunday after Thanksgiving because I’m crazy and love Christmas. It’s my own tradition at my apartment/house and with my parents at theirs if we can all get together for it.

4. When do you take the tree down? After the Twelve Days of Christmas, so around January 6th

6. Favorite gift received as a child?  Geez, I don’t know. I would have to say in the last few years it’s been my laptop and digital camera. When I was younger my American Girl Doll for sure. Oh and the year I got a parakeet! Those just stand out, but my parents get me great presents every year, no matter what.

7. Hardest person to buy for?   My dad. He has everything he wants it seems.

8. Easiest person to buy for?   Mom, hands down. And TDH. I could buy him 100s of presents.

 9. Do you have a nativity scene?  Yes, a very special one. Poppy made me the manger and he gave me a Precious Moments set to go with it. It’s on my window sill this year.

10. Mail or E-mail Christmas cards?  USPS. I love to send Christmas cards.

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?  I’ve gotten some ugly sweaters from people who aren’t my immediate family. Or those random little calendars that you never actually use.  Those gifts come from people who don’t really know you.

12. Favorite Christmas Movie?  I have to choose ONE? ELF. Love Actually. The Holiday. A Christmas Story. Muppet Christmas.

 13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?  Around Thanksgiving.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? I don’t think so, no.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?  Cheesy potato casserole on Christmas morning. And our Christmas Eve dinner.

16. Lights on the tree?  Multi-Color lights.

17. Favorite Christmas song?”  “This Christmas,” “O Holy Night,” “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays,” and… I think that’s all.

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?   We stay here. Just the four of us, plus Gram, and occasionally my Aunt and Uncle will come up to surprise us, and maybe the signifant others in my life/my brother’s life. It’s small, intimate and I love it.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?   Ummm… no. Dasher, Dancer. Blitzen, Cupid, Rudolph.  I know I’m forgetting some of them!

20. Angel on the tree top or a star?  Star at my house. Star on one tree at Darlings and an angel on the other. (My mom has two trees. They are glorious. Check out her blog to see pictures!)

21.. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning?  One on Christmas Eve before bed. Then the rest on Christmas morning.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year?   This year it’s way too freakin’ cold! Other than that, I wish I had an endless supply of money so I could buy everyone I care about tons of presents.

23. Favorite ornament theme or color? Traditional ornaments; red, green, orange, purple, blue, some with glitter, some without.

 24. Favorite for Christmas dinner?  Dad’s Christmas Eve dinner and Darling’s Christmas Day Dinner.

25. What do you want for Christmas this year?  Honestly? I have no particular requests other than happy family and good times. Any presents I get are really going to be a surprise since I didn’t “ask” for much.

And a random slideshow of some fun pictures for you… more to come as  receive them. 

2 Responses to “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!”

  1. butterflycharlie December 23, 2008 at 5:13 am #

    Its been so long since i’ve sat down and made a real effort in wrapping my presents. I used to curl ribbons on then, put handfuls of sparkly stars in them so they showered everywhere when people ripped the paper off…..but now? They’re lucky if i can fold the corners properly…..

  2. Nilsa December 23, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    So long as you wait until AFTER Thanksgiving to put up your tree, I’m good with that. But when people make Halloween bleed into Christmas – that’s where I draw the line!

Leave a Reply

