Interview!

2 Jan

Evidently my creative juices are lacking this week, so I took Nilsa up on the offer to interview me.

Rules: Link to the interviewer’s Interview Blog. And then:

1. If you want to participate, leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.” (And your e-mail address, please.)
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

(1) Name only one blogger you really respect and tell me why.

Only one makes this really, really tough. I’m going with KylaBea for several reasons: creativity, being bold, and above all, honest. Kyla puts it all out there for her readers and makes no excuses (nor should she, Kyla rocks!). I still struggle with disclosure on my blog but Kyla writes honestly, openly and shares many aspects of her life with her readers and I truly admire that. Additionally, Kyla offers great creative advice on clothes, cooking, DIY and much more. We stumbled upon each other’s blogs thanks to Twenty Something Bloggers and I’m thrilled; she’s given me a push in the right direction to add variety to my blog and to be honest with myself and my readers.

(2) If you had to pick a non-urban, U.S. destination in which to vacation for a week, where would you go?

I do not have an exact city/state picked out for this one but bottom line: Some place with no cell phone service, no computer, no internet. I’d love to go to a bed and breakfast in the country side or a cabin on a lake. Fill me up with books, magazines, an empty journal, hiking trails, a boat,  Jack (so he could participate), TDH, and a few bottles of wine, some board games and I’d be good to go. In the spirit of the question, Oregon, Colorado, Vermont, Maine are all states with many non-urban destinations and scenery, nature and lovely attractions I’ve heard so much about.

(3) If you had $500 to spend on housing, food and entertainment for the trip mentioned in (2), how would you spend it?

Practically speaking: cabin, some wood for a great bonfire, marshmallows, graham crackers and chocolate for s’mores, and chicken/spices for the week. I’d somehow manage to sign us up for a hiking tour or a boat tour in the area as well. Maybe bike rentals.

Whimiscal: Money for antiquing, buying books at local book stores, coffee (hot chocolate), dinner at a local restaurant, check out any local plays or theaters that are in the area.

(4) Tell me about one person with whom you’ve lost touch. If you hope for a reunion, how would you like that reunion to take place?

My college roommate, from my freshman year. We attended high school together, toured college together and agreed to be roomies. She was vibrant, hilarious, loyal and one of my best friends for several years. We shared everything, everyday, for over three years.

Shortly after we started our first semester, she became depressed, ran with some bad people, and didn’t perform as well as she should have in classes, told me she was contemplating suicide. I called her older sister, terrified, about what she had told me. Her parents took her home for a weekend, much to her protestation and after telling me she hated me. She came back slightly better, though still bitter.

After our finals, she informed me she wouldn’t be returning to classes the following semester. She told me over the phone. I was devastated. Within days she stopped calling, we didn’t see each other over the break at all, and it was as if our friendship didn’t even exist.

We are now facebook friends. She’s married, lives in Florida and seems to be doing well. We don’t talk about the old days, about what happened when she left. In fact, we rarely talk at all. I don’t know if a reunion could take place but if it could, I envision being over beers and our favorite, crappy late night pizza place which we frequented on a few drunken evenings. Laughing and chatting like nothing ever happened.

(5) In 2008, what was your biggest achievement and your biggest failure/disappointment?

My biggest achievement was learning to finally be ME. Sounds crazy perhaps but I’m the queen of living for other people.I still do it from time to time, but in 2008 thanks to the help of some bad break-ups, great friends andManMate, I re-evaluated my eating choices, my gym routine, my goals and what I wanted to do. I learned to live for me, and to love me. And once those two things fell into place, I became happier… naturally. I met a great guy. I solidified my good friendships and learned to eliminate the toxic ones. I suppose it’s true that once you love yourself, you are able to let others love you.

As for my greatest failure, I have lost touch with some of my great friends from college and high school. I’m not sure if its the distance between us, lack of effort on my behalf or theirs, the lack of time, or the exact reason, but it’s been hard. I have also slightly lost sight of the Nora that I love in the last few months thanks to work, school, relationship, friends and family and that is rather disappointing to me. I’m working on it through things such as renewing my gym membership, cooking better/healthier and not being afraid to say “no” to things I do not want to do.

********
Alright, who is next? Leave a comment and your email address (if I don’t already have it) and I’ll send you five questions. Don’t be shy, they won’t be hard :)

5 Responses to “Interview!”

  1. E.P. January 2, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    How fun! I love your answer on the last one — I feel the exact same way about learning about ME, but also losing some friends along the way.

  2. She She January 3, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Great answers (and I totally get it about the lack of creativity — is it the weather? too long a break from real life?). Anyway — interview me!

  3. Kyla Bea January 3, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    Oh my goodness LayLou – you are such a sweetie! I just about fell off my chair!

    I love your cabin idea, I would totally be up for that (as long as I had enough lead time to order vegetarian marshmellows off the internet lol)

  4. Gigi January 5, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    Oh, interview me! Anything to keep me from working today! Haha!

  5. Liz January 5, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    I love interviews like this! I’ll play!

Leave a Reply

