Post Staycation, with a tad of malaise

4 Jan

As Murphy would have it, I’m finally relaxed and learning to enjoy my time off when…. (drum roll), it’s time to go back to work. The office. The dreaded, dreaded office.

Most days I like my job.
Most days I’m treated well and things go smoothly but lately I’ve been longing for something different, a tad more challenging and maybe with a bit more money attached to it.
Realistically I understand now is not really the time to find a new job,what with the fantastically tanking economy and all, and the last in-first out principle that tends to apply to hiring/firing during this time, so I shall try to stick with it for the next few months.

And while it’s true that I get bored after several days of doing nothing, I could use a few more of nothing-days. But now is not really the time to dwell on the inevitable so I shall turn my attention elsewhere:

I realize I owe everyone an update on The Rat Terrier. TDH and I decided against adopting the puppy at this point in time. I’m not a huge fan of tiny dogs, especially ones that are high-energy, so a rat terrier is not my first choice of dog to adopt. Secondly, we decided that we should take our time and meet several dogs when the timing is better, like when we have a backyard for the two dogs. And preferably when we have more than 900 square feet for them to run around in. So, decision: Dog is onhold. New topic of discussion: Potential house purchase (in TDH’s name, I would pay rent) before we move in together so we have more room for not only the two of us, but also Jack and the future dog.

And as for resolutions. I haven’t really made any yet. I suppose I’m run-of-the-mill when it comes to resolutions. Get back in shape. Eat healthier. Budget better. I am thinking about a long-term hiatus from grad school and volunteering with Habitat for Humanity, at a dog shelter, or with a kid organization again. Additionally I am working on saying NO more. Sounds negative, but in case you haven’t noticed from many of my blog posts, I’m constantly running around and pleasing people. So I’m going to turn my focus a tad bit inward and get back to things Nora wants to do. Gym. Reading. More Cooking. Longer walks with Jack. More girls nights (assuming I can get any of us together, it’s so darn hard!). Most years this doesn’t last more than a few weeks, but I will try harder.

Now to turn my attention to the fake world of “Friends,” for a bit before I unwillingly go to bed early and go to the office in the morning.

9 Responses to “Post Staycation, with a tad of malaise”

  1. Gigi January 5, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    Ugh, work sucks. I hope you can make it through the day! Hiatus from school sounds lovely, especially since you’ll be offering to help others:)

  2. Scarlett January 5, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    Your ideas for the year sound great. I hope to get back in to volunteering as well. Sorry you are bummed about work, I am hating mine in a big way at the moment!

  3. meldoesgradschool January 5, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    I just wanted to say that I was never a big little dog person, but then I met Bella and fell in love. If someone told me two years ago that I’d own a dog that weighed less than 10 pounds AND that she was the love of my life… well, I would have laughed and called them crazy. But what can I say? I love her and it is nice to have a dog that’s always going to look like a puppy and is perfect for playing with children, among other benefits!

    And I’m impressed that your family reads your blog… I’m nowhere near that close with my family and would rather remove my own appendix than let them read it… so I’m impressed (and a little jealous that you have such a close, honest relationship) with that!

    Good luck with the big changes/decision stuff coming up… think about that instead of work (that’s what I tell myself)! :o)

  4. Liz January 5, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Let me know what volunteering you decide to do. I’d like to get more inovlved in stuff like that too but am always hesitant to commit to something by myself.

  5. E.P. January 5, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    I’m loving your ideas for the new year. I really want to get involved in volunteering this year, too. Here’s to hoping this year has already been wonderful, despite having to go back to work. (I know the feeling..)

  6. oh January 5, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    Laylou! Come on over to my place and check out the Award you’ve won! Yup, I’m giving you something nice (for your blog).

    And you really do deserve such an award. I’m serious.

  7. Kyla Bea January 6, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    Oh I’m glad you didn’t adopt a rat terrier! Terriers are wonderful but are so stubborn and with a little high energy dog you have to be committed to working with them & walking them enough and everything or they get destructive really fast. Do what Cesar says! Pick a dog that matches your energy level or is lower energy than you.

    I have two high energy dogs and a high energy husband – and if Mister couldn’t keep up with them they would rule our lives!

    And I completely get the post-staycation blues. I’ve got them now & am going through the same work stuff. My heart goes out to you. Feel better!

  8. laylou January 6, 2009 at 10:46 am #

    I should probably clarify when I say that I don’t like little dogs… if you really knew me, you would know I really do love all dogs. I just have a medium-sized dog, so I’m not used to smaller anmials, nor is Jack. So, I’m sure I would have loved the rat terrirer!

    But, to Kyla’s point, part of the reason I wasn’t really interested in it was because any one I know with experience with rat terriers has a lot of land for them to run on. I have a great place, but not suitable for a small, high energy dog. So I will wait until I have a yard! I am fortunate that Jack, while high energy at times, is four years old and mellow :)

  9. SSG January 7, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    saying no to others and yes to you sometimes is a hard thing to do, but it is the right thing to do! And in saying no to some people you can say yes to the people that really mean soemthing to you!

Leave a Reply

