My new boyfriend, GYM and a pact with TDH

7 Jan

I feel invigorated.
Renewed.
On fire.

TDH said I sound “swarthy, cocksure, confident.”

Ladies (and gentlemen? Do any guys read this? If so, please let me know, I’d love to know who all of my readers are!), I finely returned to the gym. A mere 50 minutes later after cardio, strength, and more cardio, I left sweaty, hooked and loving it. I can’t wait to go back.

Interesting observation about my gym: it’s sandwiched between the Wine & Cheese Place, CiCi’s Pizza Buffet, Chinese and a Blockbuster. Talk about temptation to be lazy and full of delicious junk food is going to be hard.

I have also made a pact with the devil, and by devil I mean video games. TDH is going to start exercising with me, as well as eating healthier but it comes with a price! That price is that I start to play video games with him and furthermore attend LAN parties. (For those who don’t know, and this is my limited understanding, it’s like all night gaming parties, group games and etc. All video and online.) TDH’s goal: create a super, sexy dork. I already have the librarian glasses, so I’m halfway there.

Bottom Line: We all know that once in a relationship, the happy weight comes freely. Taco Bell at 2am? SURE. Cooking romantic, cheesy Italian dinners? Yes, please. Sleeping in instead of going to the gym? Yup. So I’m hoping (this is not a resolution so much as a decision?) to get to the gym more, pay more attention to the numbers of trip made to fast food and out to eat, and hopefully in the meantime get healthy and (warning, cliche coming) get MY sexy back.

6 Responses to “My new boyfriend, GYM and a pact with TDH”

  1. racheliza January 7, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    go you. i could never do the video game thing, i might kill myself. but it will be fun for you guys to do something together. :)

  2. RWick January 7, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    I must admit that one of the happiest periods in my life was the few months prior to our engagement. We ate, drank, laughed and were generally in love with life and each other. Our life was all social and all about food, friends, family, love, life and drinks to toast to all of these. Downside….I was a chunk-a-monk. The heaviest I have ever been. However, looking back, it never even crossed my mind to be unhappy about it. I was too happy to be unhappy. Sometimes this realization just makes me think. Sure, today I am 25 lbs. lighter, but that does not come carefree. Anyway, I guess I have rambled long enough. This is not meant to be a commentary to you, more of me just remembering the past (maybe a small blog entry of my own – hehe) and maybe passing on to relish the moment. It is a great moment!!!!!

  3. laylou January 7, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Racheliza, I hear you! I am not sure if I can do it either, but relationships are about exploring and compromising, right? =)

    RWick Great to hear from you! I was probably a few pounds lighter when I first met TDH and I must say that as much as I love looking and feeling better, hitting the gym six times a week and watching what passes my lips was not easy! And I agree, I am too happy to be unhappy! I am doing this for me as I am REALLY happy when I exercise like a crazy person. There is something to those endorphines for sure :)

  4. Scarlett January 7, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Yay for invigoration! I need some of that in my life! I totally relate (as always!!!) to the “happy fat” thing…so difficult! But so important to avoid.

  5. E.P. January 9, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    I think it’s awesome that y’all are going to be working out together! Even if you do have to play video games and do all that jazz. It doesn’t sound all that bad.

    And the thing about the happy weight once in a relationship? I’m currently battling that, and it’s killing me, but I’m determined to get my sexy back, too.

  6. Kyla Bea January 10, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    That’s fantastic that you want to go to the gym that’s…. like a super power!

    And oh my gosh, what games do you play? I’m a closet gamer – XBOX, Wii and I also play World of Warcraft (don’t tell anyone!!)

Leave a Reply

