Ready? Set! 2009…

7 Jan

I very rarely stick to my resolutions. I make them. They are the usual ones (eat less, workout more, be nicer, work harder, blah blah blah).

And as many of my blog friends have realized, not meeting those goals/resolutions makes us feel like a failure when we don’t get accomplish what we wish. Enter BrookeM, who has wonderful ideas for blogs, and yes, I’m borrowing yet another one, the idea of non-resolutions

Nora’s list of NON-resolutions, things I don’t want to do in 2009:

* Neglect myself. My people-pleasing personality is always well-intended but more often than not, I forget myself. I forget haircuts, shopping trips, gym time, alone time. I don’t want to do that this year. When I lose my time, I lose me, and when I lose me, I become grumpy and insecure and that’s just not cool.
* Lose more friends. I can’t really control this one, but I can stay in better touch with them. In finding myself last year, I lost some friends. I don’t want that to happen again. I realize it’s a reality with marriages, careers, moving, kids and etc.
* Leave dirty dishes in the sink overnight. I always regret the stuck-on food the next day and the mess in the kitchen.
* Go into debt. I haven’t used my credit cards in over two months. I hide them from myself, I don’t go on shopping sprees like I used to and really, spending more time with Jack, friends and me is much better than owing my life to some credit card company.
* Work on a vacation. I calculated the number of vacations I’ve had in the last few years at my office (I’ve worked there for four). It’s probably close to five. However, each time I leave for a vacation, I wind up towing my work laptop along and my cell phone is never far from me. I don’t get to disconnect. So this year, no working on vacations.
* Give a sh!t what people think. This will be hard as I think it’s fundamentally part of who I am, but I need to stop caring what people think about me, my clothes, my lifestyle, my job, my career path, my beliefs. All of it. I care too much. I worry. I obsess. And when I care what people think, I limit myself and I don’t live the way I want to. I’m young, but not so young that I realize that I can’t live my life for other people.
* Worry. See above. I’m also going to stop worrying so much about each decision I make, each sentence I write and say. This one isn’t going to be easy for as long as I can remember, worrying has been inherent in my nature. Might as well give it a shot!
* Deny myself chocolate. This must be the complete opposite of a resolution considering it’s fattening, gross but fabulously delicious. I’m going to limit the doses and occasions of when I have chocolate, but man, I love it. So I will still have it in 2009.
* Stop cooking, baking and exploring in the kitchen. It’s easy to get stuck in ruts with everything young, “single” women do on a regular basis but thanks to the wonderful pots and pans my parents gave me for Christmas (Calphalon) I will continue to create, experiment, taste and try new dinners and desserts. When I’m cooking all the stresses of the day melt away, everything comes down to the recipe or the way a dish tastes and that’s all that matters. That and the wine I decide to pair with dinner, the music on the radio and the candles on the table.
6 Responses to “Ready? Set! 2009…”

  1. meldoesgradschool January 7, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    So thanks for the award and I’m going to do as instructed soon, I swear! But I wanted to tell you that this month’s “Real Simple” magazine (the Martha Stewart mag) had a similar non-resolutions list that’s pretty awesome if you want to check it out. I might have a slightly unhealthy obsession with the woman (minus the prison thing).

    Thanks again for the award – it and your words were SOOO flattering! Totally made my day!

  2. meldoesgradschool January 7, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    I cheated and gave you the award back too… I couldn’t help myself! :o)

  3. E.P. January 7, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    I think these are all fabulous things that you shouldn’t do in 2009!

  4. SSG January 8, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    so, if you break them it don’t matter, right?!!
    My mate’s resolution is to smoke, drink and party more, cos either way she wins!

  5. Kyla Bea January 10, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Those are awesome resolutions! I love it!

  6. Jennifer January 10, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    I’m over here visiting from Liz’s blog. I love that you did non-resolutions! You have a new reader!

Leave a Reply

