Most Random Thought Thursday

8 Jan

I have an alarm clock. You know, the old school kind that you have to manually set each night before you go to bed?

It’s a Sony, it’s white with the flourescent green numbers. I wake up to the same radio station each morning.

Anytime I hit snooze, it’s for nine minutes. I’ve never understood why it’s nine minutes instead of ten, but I digress.

I wonder if I’m one of the only people left who uses a real alarm clock? Has everyone switched to the digital era completely, using cell phones as alarms? I know TDH does. My younger brother. My old ManMate. Maybe it’s a guy thing?

I use my cell phone as an alarm when I fauxhabitate with TDH but I detest it. The obnoxious beeping and chiming. No music or update on the news like my good old Sony, which I’ve had for over 10 years.

So readers, tell me, do you use an old school alarm or are you completely digital?

20 Responses to “Most Random Thought Thursday”

  1. butterflycharlie January 8, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    I hate alarm clocks! Back in the day I had one which tuned into a radio station but it freaked me out that all of a sudden I’d be fast asleep, then the next I’d have a DJ in my ear or a really obnoxious song. Then I inherited a wind up one from my mum which was the loudest, most abrupt, shrill sound you could ever imagine. In fact, one morning I was convinced it had actually given my a heart attack; my heart was so sore! So, needless to say I got rid of it after that. Now I just use my phone as an alarm but I hate it too.

    In fact, i just hate mornings!

  2. anne January 8, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Old school alarm clock…. you never know what you will wake up to on the radio.

  3. rialeilani January 8, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    i have my high school alarm clock still. i don’t want to give it up :)

  4. Little Miss Obsessive January 8, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    I use my cell phone as my alarm clock… and my Mom is my back up. lol

  5. Liz January 8, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

    Old school alarm clock, but it’s the beeping kind. No radio. I have one with a radio, but I never use it for an alarm. I use it as a regular clock b/c the numbers are bigger. When traveling, I always use my phone alarm. I don’t trust wake up calls or hotel alarm clocks.

  6. SSG January 9, 2009 at 4:34 am #

    I have been using my phone alarm for a while, hate it. I asked for a clock radio for Christmas and I got it, yayay! love it! Love the digital display and the snooze for 9 minutes and the music and talk!!!
    My boyfriend still uses his phone as an alarm but he has music on his which he wake up to, much nicer than beeping. My clock radio is different from yours though- I can change the snooze mins and I dont have to set it every night, and I can also plug my ipod in and use it as speakers or ipod music as an alarm. it ROCKS!!!

  7. laylou January 9, 2009 at 9:05 am #

    Thank you all for the responses!

    Definitely an interesting mix exists among us. I suppose I should figure out how to get my phone to play music instead of annoying beeping. I’d rather here gentle talk or music instead of beeps and chimes.

  8. SoMi's Nilsa January 9, 2009 at 9:05 am #

    We have an old school alarm clock. When I first started dating Sweets, we fought over alarm clocks. Mine was the beeping kind. He couldn’t stand it. But, I couldn’t stand waking up to music, so that’s why I got it. When we moved in together, he managed to put my alarm clock in a different room. Now, we wake up to NPR and it’s honestly awesome!

  9. Rwick January 9, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    ME – Old school small indiglo clock. I CANNOT live without snooze. Ask my husband….he hates it. HE – Cell phone with funky house music.

    Really old, old school – I was going through boxes at our new house and found my Big Bird alarm clock from my childhood. It has a big round clock with actual hands and Big Bird sits next to it. He is easily 8 to 10 inches tall. The husband made fun of me (not sure if b/c I once owned it or that I still have it). So, for laughs, I am going to get that bad boy running with new batteries, set it for around 6:30 am one morning and hide it next to HIS side of the bed. What he does not know is that it does not simply ring – oh no – Big Bird will have a fantastic message for him. I cannot wait. I will let you know the outcome!

  10. She She January 9, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    Most definitely old school — so old I can’t remember where it came from. I probably got it when I went to college 25 years ago!

  11. Gigi January 9, 2009 at 10:33 am #

    I only use my cell phone if I’m away from home…even then I check to make sure it’s set a billion times! Just not as reliable as my clock radio! The best is when a really good song comes on when your alarm clock goes off. Starts the day off right:)

  12. Scott January 9, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    good question about the whole 9 minute thing. By your desciption we have the same clock. Don’t know about yours but the best part of mine is the battery which keeps it up to date when the power fails.

  13. teality January 9, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    I only recently switched from using an alarm clock to my phone. And like your clock, my phone’s snooze feature is in increments of 9 minutes. ;)

  14. E.P. January 9, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    I have a really tech-savy alarm clock that my dad gave me. It projects the time onto the ceiling so you can see the time whenever you open your eyes in the morning. I use that and my cell phone as backup.

    And that alarm clock you have? I had one, too, and would wake up to a specific radio station every morning.

  15. Scarlett January 10, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    I ALWAYS use an alarm. But mine is on buzz, not radio. And I never hit snooze. Just can’t!

    WS uses his cell phone, too.

    Yet another thing we have in common! LOL!

  16. Kyla Bea January 10, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    We are woken up by the TV & radio – but I have an old fashioned alarm I keep at work.

    Nostalgia killer: Being woken up by a really loud bell is a little unnerving!

  17. oh January 11, 2009 at 11:48 am #

    I don’t know why the 9-minute thing, but we have it on ours, too! We press it at least twice before paying any attention to it at all.

  18. floreta January 11, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    i definitely don’t use a cellphone but i don’t have to set my alarm clock each night.. i think that means mine is digital..

  19. Cassie January 11, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    i’m a cell phone alarm gal myself. although somedays i do miss old school alarm clocks, waking up to “shoop” (salt n pepa) on the radio was the highlight of my morning circa 5th grade.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Excuses, Excuses « Walking through the Rain - January 11, 2009

    […] All About Nora Most Random Thought Thursday […]

Leave a Reply

