You Ask, I tell

13 Jan

Thanks to all you who have delurked so far; some familiar faces, some new ones! As I promised, here more answers to the questons you’ve asked me. (The first question was posted last night.)

Are your parents still married?
SheShe

Fortunately and thankfully, yes, Darling and The Boss are still married. (The Boss is my dad and he’s my boss at my office. It can get quite interesting at times!) My parents are going on 29 years of marriage, 32 years of being together. One could say the reason my dating standards are so high is in part due to witnessing my parents stellar marriage over the years. My dad is the kind of guy who brings flowers home just because, he pens sweet notes and poems for Darling on a regular basis and he’s thoughtul in obscure yet thrilling ways. My parents are empty nesters now that my younger brother lives on campus full-time and it has been fun to see my parents rekindle their romance, go on dates and some weeks I would bet they go out more than TDH and I do!

You won a million dollars, and you have to get rid of half or you get to keep nothing.  You can’t give any to family or friends. What would you do with it?
Racheliza, Confessions of a Jersey Girl

This question is harder than it looks. I am a former volunteer for Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri and they are struggling to get funding thanks to the economy, so they would definitely get a portion of the money. As many of you know, when it comes to animals, I’m a bleeding heart. I would likely start a new charity that would reside on a farm, ensuring I wouldn’t have to be a no-kill shelter. I would take as many dogs and as many kinds as I could. I’d staff a vet, start a website, and keep adoption fees as low as possible so more people who want and deserve a furry, loving friend could have one. And lastly, I’d donate money to Heat up St. Louis, a local charity that helps the less fortunate pay their heat bills during the dead cold months of winter.

What is the most spontaneous thing you have ever done?
– Ashley D of Turqouise Ribbons

You girls are good question-askers! Well, when TDH and I started dating, probably a three weeks into our dating, he asked me to go to a wedding in Canada. I booked my flight and hotel that evening, so while the trip wasn’t immediate, I took quick action. I haven’t spent that much money to be with a man in a long time.

In high school I was a band dork (flute players unite!) for two years and then one day decided it wasn’t for me and I quit the same day. I mulled the idea over for maybe a whole three or four hours. 

I have hopped on stage during a few nights out at piano bars and commanded the stage with my (drunken) dancing and lip synching.

Sadly I don’t have any cool stories about me jet-setting off to Florida or Europe, jumping into a mosh pit or anything else radical and random. I guess I’m too much of a planner??

Your best friend is taking a nap on the floor of your living room. Suddenly, you are faced with a bizarre existential problem: This friend is going to die unless you kick them (as hard as you can) in the rib cage. If you don’t kick them while they slumber, they will never wake up. However, you can never explain this to your friend; if you later inform them that you did this to save their life, they will also die from that. So you have to kick a sleeping friend in the ribs, and you can’t tell them why. Since you cannot tell your friend the truth, what excuse will you fabricate to explain this (seemingly inexplicable) attack?
– TDH

The first thing that comes to mind is this: There are several large brown recluse (aka deathly) spiders about to attack and bite my friend. Considering my immense fear of spiders and likely spider allergies combined with the fear that my friend would be attacked would certainly cause me to kick my friend as hard as possible in the ribs to ensure that all the spiders have been killed. That would be the more humane and believable thing for me to say.

Anything else that comes to mind involves some lie about a high fever and hallucinations as a result of said fever. Or that a “voice,” told me to kick them. Those are rather creepy and not really like me, so I’m pretty sure this friend wouldn’t believe me.

Since you are a STL gal, exactly how many times have you been on the Anheuser-Busch brewery tour? I’ve been twice!
GiGi

Truth: It’s a sad one. NEVER. Every summer I fully intend to get to the Brewery but I never make it. And now, with the AB/IB merge, I’m not sure if they have changed the protocol on tours. I have been to the yearly StL Brew Fest for the last two years if that counts? AB is represented there. So,15 years in the same city and still no brewery tour. I will put that on my list of things I must do in 2009!

What is your favorite recipe and why? Will you post it?
Rialeilani

This is a tough one. Dinner, in the Italian category, baked mostaccioli is by far my favorite. Desserts? Chocolate Cupcakes with cheesecake icing. Appetizers? Spinach Artichoke Dip. And yes, I will post these, but not today so that this isn’t one of the longest post known to man!

One Response to “You Ask, I tell”

  1. She She January 14, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    I’m looking forward to the mostacciolo recipe. I live for spinach.

    Good answers!

Leave a Reply

