You Ask, I tell Part Deux

14 Jan

I love that the questions keep rolling in partially because the comments make me feel warm and fuzzy inside and the questions being asked open up a different part of my brain and really let me write, so thank you!

What is your favorite song?  And do you have a memory that is associated with it? 
– Little Miss Obsessive

Just one song, huh? Okay, all time favorite has to be Crush by Dave Matthews Band. Confession: I wasn’t a Dave Matthews Band fan until my sophomore year in high school when one of my best friends nicknamed Special K scored us four free lawn tickets. Knowing of DMB I enthusiastically went partially for a fun night and partially because StL has a really great amphitheater with a huge lawn area. We had lawn seats and despite the thick, thick fog of organic smoke, if you catch my drift, which blocked most of my view of the stage, I fell in love with DMB then and there. He played Crash and Crush, but Crush remains my favorite love song to this day. I have since seen DMB eight times and counting. Each show is different, amazing and leaves me giddy for days (and not because I partake in any organic smoke action.)

I also LOVE “The Long & Winding Road,” by The Beatles, “Cowboy Take me Away,”by the Dixie Chicks even though I’m not a huge country music fan, “To Be With You,” by Mr. Big, “Just Whisper your Name,” by Harry Connick Jr., and “You are the Best Thing,” by Ray LaMontagne.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
Miss Musing

In a word: ITALY.
It’s part of my heritage.
I have watched “Under the Tuscan Sun” and “Roman Holiday,” countless times. I stare at pictures of wineries and Italian villas. I devour any kind of Italian food and do my best to imitate it in my kitchen. I’m a freak for mafia books and movies. I’d love to go when I can really spend time there, though how that will be possible, I have no idea. Maybe I should figure out how to teach English for an Italian company or get on board with a large international firm. I want to wander, soak up the country, the views, the food, the wine.

I know a lot of girls complain about the “Attention,” they receive from the locals in Italy and while I see it could be annoying, it’s also a compliment and it’s part of their culture. Part of my culture.

And while I’m there, I’d hop over to Greece. And Morocco. Spain! France. Yeah, so all of Europe, but mostly Italy.

6 Responses to “You Ask, I tell Part Deux”

  1. *PinkNic* January 14, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Here I am! I love your blog! And I think it’s only fair that I de-lurk since you did for me :)

    If you could have lived in a past decade, which one would it be and why?

    I’m obsessed with everything 1950s so I would have loved to be around then x

  2. SSG January 15, 2009 at 4:59 am #

    Hey, when you go to italy, stop by in the UK, alright? Will send you a mail somtime this week to catch up, soz it’s a busy one aint it?!

  3. sleepyjane January 15, 2009 at 7:09 am #

    Oooh I want to go to Italy. It’s one of the countries I *have* to visit some day!

  4. andhari January 15, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    just found your blog when i was blogwalking from 20sb :)

    oh wow italy, i love italy..the food, the wine, the men ;) and the beautiful landscapes :)

  5. E.P. January 15, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    I want to go back to Italia, as well. Under the Tuscan Sun was filmed in the little town where I lived for a summer, and I absolutely adored every part of Italy. Seriously. You need to go.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, the places I want to go! « Walking through the Rain - January 21, 2009

    […] Last week in my “You Ask, I tell, Part Deux,” I talked about Italy as being the one place in the world I really want to visit. This is […]

Leave a Reply

