TDH Tidbits, Volume One

15 Jan

(TDH Tidbit will be a new feature on Thursdays. So I don’t bore my lovely readers with my relationship oohs! and aahs! every other day of  the week, I’ll give you a few highlights from the previous week on Thursdays. So, you’ve been warned. The bitter, cynical and anti-relationship people can prepare to throw-up and gag if they proceed to read. The rest of you, enjoy!)

For those of you who follow me on Twitter will know that TDH bought and baited me with a “Surprise that would enhance cuddles.” My brain went into overdrive attempting to decipher the cryptic message. Ideas I had: a huge sweatshirt since I steal his on a regular basis, a super warm blanket or big throw pillows for my couch since he thinks the ones I have are to small. Ideas from friends on Twitter: engagement ring, heated blanket and a movie set.

The actual surprise was a flat screen 23″ in HDTV for him to put in his bedroom. Due to the fauxhabitation that takes place occasionally I’m at his house, without most of my stuff, attempting to fall asleep alone. Nights alone at my house consist of me falling asleep with the TV on, tuned to Gilmore Girls, Friends, or Northern Exposure. I like quiet when I’m fast asleep but to get there I need some noise. And so, TDH bought me a TV for his room. Complete with cable and DVD player. I know he secretly likes it since it will allow us to be lazier in bed on some days not to mention if he’s ever home sick, he can lay in his bed and veg out.

It may not come across super romantic but the fact that he observed my behavior, processed, thought about it and acted to make me more comfortable in his house is more than I could ask for!

****************
Blackberry Messenger Conversation # 1,532

Nora: Do you realize that next Friday it will be 7 months of us dating!?
TDH: No way!
Nora: Yes! It feels longer, but it’s true. What do you say to another 7 months?
TDH: Only 7? I want all of them!
Nora: Even when I’m old and gray?
TDH: Even those.
Nora: What about if I get fat and pregnant?
TDH: Those too.

******************

Update on the Gym/Video Game Pact: It’s going well. Better than expected. TDH sends me messages saying he wants to go to the gym and he’s managed to hook me on arcade games. (Dork Factor: I “beat” one last night. Now I’m on to the mastery challenges.)

At the gym TDH lets me show him exercises and push him; in turn he works hard and supports my workout time, even respects it. He doesn’t rush me out the door. Occasionally I’ll look up and he’ll wink at me or make a funny face to keep me smiling throughout my workouts.

In the video game realm he’s easing me into it and is thankfully very patient. He has caught a glimpse of my competitiveness which I warned him of… there is a reason I don’t play a lot of games in public, with friends or family.

The seemingly little pacts has strengthened our relationship in a big, big way.

*****************

5 Responses to “TDH Tidbits, Volume One”

  1. E.P. January 15, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    Aww, yay! Those are all so sweet! It sounds like y’all have a great relationship!

  2. Miss Musing January 16, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    That conversation the two of you had is adorable :)

  3. Krys January 16, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

    This was such a sweet post!! I can’t wait to read more!!

  4. Kyla Bea January 18, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    Aw, you guys are way too cute!

    I don’t think I realized you’ve only been dating for 7 months! On principal I retract my engagement ring suggestion. Mister and I only dated for 6 months before living together, and then got engaged 3 years later – I love where we are, but I do miss parts of dating him. Don’t rush that stage just cause you’re awesome together = )

  5. SSG January 19, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    i like the work-out partnership, that is a good idea. and I agree with kyla bea, dont rush the dating part and start co-habiting and getting married straight away, the dating part is the most fun!

Leave a Reply

