List: What Keeps me from Blogging

19 Jan

It occurs to me that just last Monday I wrote a similar post explaining my lack of blogging as of late. I no longer have time to write posts in advance and have them auto-publish. It is really quite sad this lack of time is squashing my dreams of ever becoming really awesome at this blogging thing, much less ever earning an award for it!

The list:

* Jack. For some reason he loves lots of walks in the cold weather. We are taking at least two more per day than usual. Not short ones, either. The meandering, sniffing, scrounging, scavenging kind of walks.

* The cold weather. I know it’s not as cold here in StL as it is in many parts of the world, but my gloves don’t hold up very well to below-zero temps and as a result my hands take about 20 minutes to thaw. Typing is not desirable after the defrosting of my fingers.

* Laundry. It seems every day I turn around I have a new load of laundry to do. The culprit? My exercise regime. I create more dirty clothes than ever before.

* Sick. TDH is crazy sick and I get to play Nurse. No, no, I certainly don’t mind, but I’d rather not write my posts on his very public, visible computer at his house. Must remember to bring laptop when I stay with him. (And yes, I know it’s silly since he reads this blog, but there is something about him reading it after I’ve posted it, which I prefer.)

* Netflix. In the cold weather, post-gym, I prefer to cook a yummy dinner and cuddle up on the couch alone, with Jack or TDH, evening depending, with a big blanket and a movie. While the thoughts of blog topics swirl around in my head, I lay on the couch in a slightly comatose state. You should try it. It’s good winter weather practice.

* Dates. TDH and I have been on real dates in the last few weeks. You know, dinner and a movie, or drinks and reading in a cafe kind of dates. I’m not home at these points to be close to a computer and blog.

* Reading. I’ve been reading and commenting on blogs (fairly regularly, I think) and reading books/magazines/newspapers a lot more this year than usual. I’m currently hooked on “Interview With a Vampire,” and yes, I realize I need to take a break from vampire novels soon. Darn Twilight and it’s hold it still has on me!

* Gym. Sleep. These two are not new. Just intensified as of late.

Please rest assured I have many posts in draft stage, mostly in my brain, and soon enough on paper and maybe, if I’m lucky, on here.

My apologies for the lack of creativity/funny/inspiring/insightful posts. I suppose I need to get my blog ryhthm back…

8 Responses to “List: What Keeps me from Blogging”

  1. andhari January 19, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    ahh the lack of posts are acceptable when youre having so much fun, like dates or watching movies :)

  2. SoMi's Nilsa January 19, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    Some of the best blog material comes when you’re out there living life. Clearly you are … don’t slow down now!

  3. racheliza January 19, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    don’t stress out about not posting because then blogging becomes WORK and not fun, no bueno. enjoy life! xoxo

  4. Jacqueline from MissMusing January 19, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    Sometimes living life gets in the way of writing about life, and I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing (except for new readers like me who are now hooked on your blog and are disappointed when there aren’t any new posts! jk)

  5. brookem January 19, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    enjoy all that’s keeping you busy lady!

  6. Alesia January 19, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh my god, you’re having a life!

    Hope TDH feels better soon.

  7. Kyla Bea January 19, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    It sounds like your exercise regime is pretty intense, good job!

    I’ve been working on feeling like I have time to relax in the evenings this week and then next week I think I’m going to throw exercise into the mix. If you have any time management tips, I’m all ears!

  8. laylou January 19, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Thanks to everyone for understanding, for the words of encouragement and for being such awesome readers!
    As SheShe put it, I’m having a life (I didn’t think of it that way!) and it truly is glorious.
    I’m now resorting to carrying around a notebook so I can keep track of all that I wish to blog about. It is, after all, one of my creative outlets.

Leave a Reply

