True Confessions, the Nora Version

20 Jan

(not to be confused with the popular MTV Show).

A random list, in no particular order, of things I have yet to divulge to many, if any people in my “real life”, with no real reason as to why/how:

* I have a thing for Tyler Perry movies.
I don’t care what kind of reviews his movies receive, I watch them. My favorites to date are “Why Did I get Married?” Daddy’s Little Girls,” and ” Meet the Browns.”

* I have seen each Sex and the City episode at least ten times.
I also own the coffee table book about the TV show, the soundtrack that maps to the TV show (not the movie) which I purchased off of eBay in 2004, the game, the movie and now one of the movie soundtracks.

* Up until a year ago, when one of my friends would tell me they were engaged I would secretly play “Another One Bites the Dust” in my head.

* My nights alone when I can’t sleep I have a habit…
I make either nachos, in the microwave, or toast, sit Indian-style at the end of my bed, and watch an episode of Sex and the City.

* I do not always pick up Jack’s outside “business,” if it’s late at night, snowing, raining, or if it took place in a pile of leaves.

* I despised eggs and spinach, together or separate, up until about three years ago. Ditto red wine.

* I can’t stand to watch American Idol. The judges ruin it for me.

* I have never seen the “Titanic.”

* I saw Backstreet Boys in concert in 2001 and I would have seen New Kids on the Block a few months ago if my friend hadn’t bailed on me.

* I have seriously contemplated getting breast implants twice.

* I want a tattoo but fear the permanence too much to take the plunge.

* In my entire life, I’ve only tried coffee twice. I’ve spit it back out both those times. I feel like an odd twenty-something for not joining the coffee/latte/iced coffee/chai bandwagon. I order hot chocolate at coffee shops.

* In Las Vegas last February I purchased a lap dance at the male strip club we went to. I took a shot, chugged a beer and had a cigarette before I was ready for it. I laughed the whole time.

What do you wish to confess today?

9 Responses to “True Confessions, the Nora Version”

  1. oh January 20, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    My confession: Sometimes I would like to be a stay-at-home wife. I would make fantastic things both to eat and to look at. And I would miss having a FT job, sometimes.

  2. andhari January 20, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    lol i love satc too and i watch them all over again religiously.
    And i love nachos and popcorns while i watch it.

  3. Jennifer January 20, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    I also don’t like coffee. Everyone wants to meet at Starbuck’s, but I don’t like coffee or tea, so Starbucks is not one of my favs. I love the smell of coffee, but not the taste!

  4. Kyla Bea January 20, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    No way about you contemplating breast implants! You’re so gorgeous – if you’re considering them I should definitely call it a day ; )

    My confession: I would love to have the tattoo on my back made into more of a back piece but Mister is against it & I’m not sure how to tackle that one. I think I’m just going to start saving next year.

  5. Gigi January 20, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    “Diary of a Mad Black Woman”….some of the best Madea quotes around! You need to see it!

  6. Liz January 20, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    I don’t like tattoos. But if you’re undecided, get a temporary one, see how you feel about wearing it with all different kinds of clothing (suit to bikini) and if you still love it, then make it permanent. So long as you think it will still look good when you’re 60.

    I’ve contemplated implants. Not because they need to be any bigger, but because gravity is not kind to me. I’ve decided that once I have kids, I will get them shortly after.

    That last one about Vegas cracked me up!

  7. SoMi's Nilsa January 20, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    I have no confessions. And I laugh at / applaud most of yours. Except the doggie no-no. As a fellow dog owner, I’ve gotta admit I swear outloud at other owners who do not pick up after their dogs. If it’s your own backyard, that’s one thing. If it’s a street or sidewalk that is shared with others, tisk tisk.

  8. TDH January 20, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    Confession: I secretly stick my nose in most books I pickup at the bookstore, whether I buy them or not, and smell them. They smell so good!

  9. Jacqueline from MissMusing January 20, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    Great post! I’m envious of your lack of coffee consumption. Like you, I’ve seen every episode of SATC more than once!

Leave a Reply

