Oh, the places I want to go!

21 Jan

Last week in my “You Ask, I tell, Part Deux,” I talked about Italy as being the one place in the world I really want to visit. This is entirely true, it is most certainly at the top of my list, but after I thought about it, there are several other places I must go in my lifetime:

1. Prince Edward Island, Canada.
I think my fascination with this town started when I read Anne of Green Gables sometime in my late elementary years. There is really no other reason for my desire to go here other than what I know about it from the book, what I have seen in movies, travel shows and pictures. It would be like a fairy tale for me to visit this place since I’ve dreamed about it since my childhood. My parents can attest to this.

2. Alaska.
No place in particular in Alaska, I just wish to experience the scenery, the animals, the weather, the people. I know that television shows don’t mean much when it comes to real-life, but if Northern Exposure does Alaska any sort of justice, I will be quite happy. I’ve had dreams of running off to Alaska, finding a random job, and just being: reading, writing, enjoying new culture and a different way of life. I have rethought the moving idea considering I can’t handle below zero temperatures, I don’t think I would fare so well in Alaska. So, I’m thinking maybe a cruise or perhaps a few week retreat in a bed/breakfast or lodge type setting.

3. Paris, France.
Cliched, perhaps, but after taking French starting my 6th grade year up until my junior year in college, I simply must see the city. The people. The cheese. I want to take a train through the country side. I want to eat in several sidewalk cafes. I want to listen to people speaking French and understand maybe a whole 70% of what they are saying. I want a picture of me standing underneath the Eiffel Tower. I want to try tons of French wine and learn about the process while I tour their wine country.

4. New York City.
Oh, I’ve been before. In fact, as a young girl, I lived there. I’ve trekked back several times since my dad’s family hails from there. I haven’t been since 2002, just a year after 9/11. I want to travel there with TDH to experience the city as a couple, as an adult, as someone who can drink in the bars and stay out late. I would like to go to New Year’s Eve there at least once in my life. I’d love to attend a Broadway play. I’d like to buy more Bloomingdale’s underwear. I’d like to take the ferry across Staten Island again. I’d love to browse in old book stores, people watch and soak up the city, the sights, the sounds. I feel very, very alive each time I go to that city. I’d also love to take a girls’ trip to NYC for the quintessential trip: shopping, dancing, drinks, clubs, and an excessive amount of photographs.

5. The Pacific Northwest.
Seattle. Portland. Northern California.
I hear excellent things about the people, the air, the scenery, the foliage, the culture.
I’ve spent a fair amount on the East Coast (NY, NJ, NC, FL) but not much time on the West.

6. The Northeastern United States.
I’ve been to very few of them and would very much like to visit Vermont, Connecticut, Maine.
I want to rent a cabin on lakes.
Hike in forests and national parks.
Take an exceptional amount of pictures.
Learn how to be quiet by enjoying smaller towns and coastal life.

7 Responses to “Oh, the places I want to go!”

  1. Liz January 21, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    Some of these places are on my list too!

    In addition, I’d like to see Hawaii, Napa Valley, Scotland/Ireland/England, and Austrailia.

  2. butterflycharlie January 21, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    I dont think i’ve heard of Prince Edward Island – is that bad?! I’m so glad I went to Rome last year, it is simply beautiful and so inspirational. I didn’t want to come back!! I’d love to go to Iceland, Poland, Moscow…I’d like to go back to Paris and do it properly, Thailand, Israel….too many to mention!! I just need the money and a huuuuge backpack…

  3. Page January 21, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    I, too, have a fascination with Anne of Green Gables and PEI…so I went there for vacation in August last summer. It was all I thought it would be and more! The red cliffs are amazingly beautiful…Cavendish Beach was one of my favorite spots. There is not a nightlife at all (except in Charlottetown), but it made for quite a lovely, relaxing vacation. I recommend August because it’s the end of tourist season and the weather was beautiful.

  4. She She January 21, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    T. and I went to Nova Scotia BC (Before Children) and hiked on the Cabot Trail. So, so beautiful. We really want to go back in a few years, and maybe we’ll bring the little darlings.

    Yes, come to Vermont!

  5. andhari January 21, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    oh manhattan, my favorite city in the world. And you really should visit Paris, the culture is impressive. So does wine and crepes in all the little street cafes.

  6. nova January 21, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    Come to NY!!! I will show you around!!!

  7. E.P. January 24, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    How fun! A lot of those places are on my list, as well!

Leave a Reply

