What NOT to do on Date Night

21 Jan

The Scene:

TDH and myself.
Several books for us to read.
A cute coffee shop complete with light dinner fare (think paninis and sandwiches, salads and soups), yummy smelling coffee, great artwork, a fireplace and comfortable couches.

The Act:

We order paninis and drinks knowing we’ll get a hot chocolate and coffee respectively and find a cozy booth in which we’ll enjoy our dinner.

TDH realizes that he’s not getting “banana chips” with his dinner like he thought due to poor wordering on the baristas behalf so he goes to switch it to pita chips.

I settle into my booth seat, taking off my coat, not paying attention to my very full Sierra Mist/Pink Lemonade combination on the table. At some point during my disrobing, I knock the ENTIRE cup over onto the table, which immediately overflows and then spills onto my pants.

I have on light green pants so they are now covered with sticky soda, front and back, making it look I’ve suffered a moment of peeing my pants.

TDH comes back to me dripping wet with soda, laughing and in shock.

It took over 100 napkins to wipe up the table which we quickly abandoned in favor of another booth.

An entire family of six saw the accident yet they didn’t laugh or say anything. A more alternative couple stopped mid-sentence when they heard the crash of ice cubes and liquid hit the table, my pants, the booth seat and the floor.

Me? Totally embarassed.
TDH? Quite amused.

We enjoyed our dinner while I plastered napkins to my pants to work on soaking up the extra soda. I tried drying my pants using the hand dryer in the bathroom but the location of the hand dryer made it look like I was doing inappropriate things to the wall, so I threw my coat back on and endured the wetness.

Two and a half hours later after sitting by the fireplace, observing a few very awkward first dates, sipping a hot chocolate, finishing one book and starting another, my pants were dry.

I can be such a klutz and usually at the worst possible moments.

What’s one of your memorable date faux pas?

5 Responses to “What NOT to do on Date Night”

  1. andhari January 21, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    LOL i believe you were too excited my dear :P
    Kidding. My dating faux pas? Going out for shabu-shabu with a guy and i couldnt cook the damn thing LOL back in the days. He impressed me by doing the cooking.

    Also, wearing a mini dress and 10cms heels because he said he wanted me to go to a party with him, turned out to be an underground party outdoor by the beach where everyone wear hot pants and flip flops :(

  2. Kyla Bea January 21, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    lol My best one was when Jesse and I were first starting to date, I casually brought a friend along on our date so it was less of a date. Jess was wonderful but oh my gosh, so NOT cool.

    He makes fun of me for it every time we go to that movie theatre.

    What was I to do?! He was 24 I was 19!! I felt like I needed a chaperone!! = D

  3. Habbala January 21, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    So cute. I have had many a spill on dates, and in life in general.

    Hmmm, a dating Faux-Pax… when I was 16 I went on a date with a 21 year0old guy who worked at Starbuck. (my bestie and I had dubbed him “hot starbucks guy”). Now, the faux-pas wasn’t the date. It was pretty bad ass.

    However, I drove on the date. And I had just gotten my license. I got my license right when they made a rule that for the first six-months of driving, I wasn’t allowed to drive with friends in the car. Well, the rule was actually anyone under-21. So, I was able to drive him on our date because he was old enough to “supervise”. I thought it was pretty funny. I don’t think they picked 21 thinking that there would be new drivers going on dates with their chaperons. :)

  4. Liz January 21, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    Hm…I can’t think of any dating faux-paus but I must say, aside from the spilled drink, that sounds like a lovely date. I need a place near me like that. What book did you finish and start?

  5. E.P. January 24, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    Aww! That’s horrible and kind of hilarious, as well. If something like that happened to me, my boy would be on the floor laughing.

    Currently, I cannot think of any dating faux-pas…

Leave a Reply

