TDH Tidbits, Volume Two

22 Jan

I still struggle with the disclosure aspect of my personal life with TDH on my blog. I don’t talk physical, disagreements, and those super personal, intimate moments regardless of their nature.

Over the holiday I went through my blog archives and realized that I never even wrote about my first date with TDH except for one small bullet point in a random post back in June.

So for posterity, here are the three things TDH and I bonded over immediately:

  • A mutual disdain for Valentine’s Day. I wear black each year, regardless of if I’m single or attached. We have created our own tradition which we are calling “Reverse Valentine’s Day,” this year. No romantic presents. No red, pink or orange clothing. We are going bowling, drinking cheap bowling alley beer and then going to see Friday the 13th. It doesn’t get much more less romantic than that.
  • RAIN. We both love the rain. I don’t care if it rains 200 days a year, I’m a happy girl. We’ve had some of our best dates on nights when it’s raining.
  • Street Lights. It seems that we both put out street lights; I have googled this and it’s a phenomenon that does indeed exist. Scientists say some people emit more electrical waves than others resulting in stopping clocks, watches, turning street lights off/on and other random electrical unexplicables.

Writing about our first date doesn’t do it justice; I can’t describe how perfect the weather was, or how smitten I was with his facial hair and his laugh. I can’t explain the jitters I felt before he arrived to pick me up or the sensation of hope and excitement I felt when he hugged me.

He brought me a bouquet of flowers on our first date and made me promise not to eat them which he said since he knows I’m terribly allergic to pollen.

We spent the next five hours talking. Too nervous to eat, I found myself a tad tipsy off the Blue Moons I ordered. We strolled one of my favorite parts of town, window shopping and then moved on to dessert (ice cream, not each other).

He hugged me three times before he left. Two hours later, via text, he asked me out again.

And we all know how the story goes from there.

9 Responses to “TDH Tidbits, Volume Two”

  1. andhari January 22, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    aaawww so sweet, and your anti valentine itineraries crack me up. I do sometimes think valentine is overrated, but then people give me chocolates and I’m excited. What a sellout.:P

  2. E.P. January 22, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    So sweet! Really! I love what y’all are doing for Valentine’s Day this year. My boy and I spent the night in and picked up Chinese. It was perfect and relaxing. And we watched Dream Girls! (Not that he would ever admit to this, but still.)

  3. Liz January 22, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    What a cute post!

    Ok so I get the hating Valentine’s Day part, but what’s with the rain and the street lights? I’m really confused about the street lights. They just, go out when you’re around?

  4. Jacqueline from MissMusing January 22, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    This is very sweet. I hear you on not wanting to put certain experience and emotions into words.

    Your Reverse V-Day sounds like a lot of fun!

  5. TDH January 22, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

    My idea for our Reverse Valentines Day was that instead of giving each other gifts, we would each steal something small and not easily noticed from the other’s residence.
    For example: I would steal a throw pillow from her couch.

    Then on Valentines Day, we would each have to guess what the other had stolen. If we got it right, we would get a Thief Prize!

    She didn’t like this idea.

  6. The Scarlet Tree January 22, 2009 at 5:56 pm #

    I dunno that sounds fairly romantic i think? I never bothered much with valentines day, but now that we have kids and time together is more of a luxury, valentines days seems all the more important to us. Hope you guys have a great night!

  7. Kyla Bea January 22, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    Aw, so sweet!

    I’m with you on Valentines day, it’s an eye rolling holiday, so we have cheesy fun instead of buying into the whole thing. I like it better that way.

  8. sleepyjane January 23, 2009 at 1:17 am #

    I’m laughing at TDH’s comment – I love that idea! :) Wouldn’t work with J and me seeing as we live together.

    I rather like valentines day…don’t hate me. Please? :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reverse Valentine’s Day « Walking through the Rain - February 10, 2009

    […] I mentioned in TDH Tidbits, Volume Two, TDH and I immediatly bonded over our mutual dislike for the over commercialized holiday.   And so […]

Leave a Reply

