The Dentist vs. Nora

23 Jan

If there is one doctor I dislike the most out of all the doctors we ladies have to go to, it’s amazingly enough The Dentist. Not the OB/GYN. Not the radiologists who have to smash our boobs for x-rays. Not the dermatologist. Not the people who take your blood for the yearly check-up. Most people find these doctors uncomfortable, awkward and downright strange, but for me, it’s The Dentist.

I admit I went over a year without going to The Dentist. Forutnatley none of my teeth are rotten or yellow and gross, and I don’t have any new cavities but even so, it’s just so uncomfortable. The reasons I detest The Dentist:

* Your hands taste and smell like rubber gloves for hours after no matter how many times you brush your teeth, use mouthwash or (gasp!) chew gum.
* The polish they use on your teeth is gritty and sure, they can rinse and rinse and rinse with their little water picks but there is still grit in your mouth when you leave.
* You can floss each hour, on the hour, for a whole year, and they still tell you that you need to floss more.
* The dental hygenist, while trying to be sweet and personable, talks the whole time: about her husband snoring and needing to lose weight, how her neighbor’s house got struck by lightning, free make-up lawsuits. I will admit it relaxed me a bit, but how am I supposed to answer you when your hands are in my mouth?!?!
* You’re stuck in the chair for an hour and while they have a TV in the cleaning room, it’s not functioning. It only displays the pictures of your teeth the hygenist took for the Dentist to see.
*It costs an insane amount to see the dentist and you only get a toothbrush in return.
* And my latest reason for detesting The Dentist: they informed me I need to have all four of my wisdom teeth removed which is totally not cool.

Dentist: 7
Nora: 0

7 Responses to “The Dentist vs. Nora”

  1. Liz January 23, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    Oh my…that’s awful news about the wisdom teeth. I had mine taken out when I was in college, over spring break. And they had to CUT MINE OUT! At least they usually give you some good pain killers. And when they knock you out, waking up is kind of fun.

  2. She She January 23, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    I had my 4 wisdom teeth out when I was 22. I looked like a chipmunk for weeks.

    But I’m sure you’ll be fine!

    (And you’ll never have to do it again.)

  3. andhari January 23, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    believe me or not, I barely go to the dentist. That sounds bad I know, but I really cant stand it too :P I just make sure I brush my teeth and floss regularly

  4. butterflycharlie January 23, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    I can’t remember the last time i went to the dentist… and despite the american vision of british teeth, i have good ones!

  5. E.P. January 24, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    I’m not a fan of the dentist, either. It kills me that the dental hygenist asks me questions while she’s doing my teeth. Obnoxious, seeing that I cannot talk with someone’s hands in my mouth.

    The wisdom teeth thing sucks, but you get a few days to have others take care of you. I was drugged up the entire time, too, so I didn’t have a worry in the world, and I ate soup and ice cream for the better part of a week. My boy, on the other hand, had his taken out this summer. He was eating solid food the day after the surgery!

  6. Kyla Bea January 24, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    lol! Oh no! I can’t believe this is your pet peeve! I don’t mind the dentist, but I think it’s because when I was little I had cavities in almost all of my baby teeth (country water = no fluoride).

    It was so normal that I just got totally desensitized.

  7. rialeilani January 26, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    ick i hate the dentist too, but i might hate the ob/gyn more ;) make sure they knock you out for your wisdom teeth, i didn’t have many problems and obviously i didn’t feel anything hehe

Leave a Reply

