Why January 2009 & Nora are no longer friends

27 Jan

Alright, you know I’m not normally much of a debbie-downer on my blog but I’ve had enough!

Apparently I pissed off January 2009 in a major way…

* Respiratory flu which put me out of commission for four days
* Insane amounts of work stress
* Stomach flu, just two days after recovering from stupid Respiratory flu
* Trip to the dentist, where they inform me I have to remove all four of my wisdom teeth
* Car attack! The STL received ice, snow, ice and then more snow all in a 24-hour time period, something most people in STL aren’t used to. In nursing TDH through his stomach flu last night, I stayed chez TDH, had a snow day from work, and discovered this afternoon that someone had generously smashed into the back of my car in TDH’s condominum parking lot. Bumper is gone. Tailights are in a crumpled mess on the ground. Trunk is dented and lifted. Car slid at least four feet on impact. Car is not legally driveable. I am thankful I wasn’t in my car, but it was definitely not a fun discovery after being up all night with my own stomach flu. I get to spend the next few days dealing with insurance companies, estimates, body shops and either renting a car or finding myself without transportation.

My conclusion? Sometimes I don’t like being an adult. Days like this I’m so thankful for Jack, TDH and my supportive family. And on days like this, I wish I could be a young kid again, back at my parents house, relishing in the fact that I have a few snow days to be totally lazy, instead of feeling overwhelmed, unsettled and icky.

12 Responses to “Why January 2009 & Nora are no longer friends”

  1. andhari January 28, 2009 at 12:34 am #

    sorry about your car and your sickness..

    ps.you have to remove all four wisdom teeth? Now this is why I hate dentists lol

  2. Page January 28, 2009 at 7:42 am #

    So sorry that happened! I know what you mean about the adult stuff…it can be so hard to take care of those kinds of things on your own. I got hit in an ice storm last year and felt the same thing….can’t I just get my Dad to take care of it? :) Hope all goes well…and the good news is that January 2009 is swiftly drawing to a close…

  3. Kyla Bea January 28, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    Oh my gosh! What the heck?! I’m so sorry Nora! = /

    January is so dead.

  4. SoMi's Nilsa January 28, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    What a crappy January! Oh how that car story kills me. A few weeks after I bought my car (years ago) and the day before I was set to leave for Europe, I looked outside my apartment to see a cop with lights on near my car. So, I meandered down the street to find out that my car’s side was smashed in. I had to deal with the police and the person who hit my car when I should’ve been packing. And then left my car in that state for two weeks while I was overseas. What a mess. Here’s hoping there is a quick fix to your car…

  5. She She January 28, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    So sorry. Sounds like a good time to take a mini-vacation somewhere warm.

    Yes, January is dead to me now.

  6. Gigi January 28, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    That sucks about your car! And the sickness too:( Maybe you’ll knock out all of the bad stuff in January and the rest of the year will be fabulous!

  7. butterflycharlie January 28, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    What a rubbish start! I’m sorry to hear about your health and the car. I get those moments where I hate being a grown up too. I find myself in so many situations where i suddenly think “how did i get here?!”

  8. rialeilani January 29, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    i agree with She She

  9. TDH January 29, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    A car cannot be killed.
    It was murdered!
    Thatll be 20 dollars.

  10. Braxton January 30, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    A vacation probably doesn’t sound to bad right now, take a hiatus. Remember, dentists are sadistic. Hopefully February will be better for ya.

  11. oh January 31, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    Car troubles do suck. And it’s costly, one way or another, (time or money wise) to make them go away.
    But you’re right – you’ve got that man of yours and your family nearby so anytime you need a shoulder, a helping hand, a place to hang out, you’ve got it. And, a wildly supportive bunch of blog friends, as well! Bravo, you! You’re getting through it with some of that New-England-Yankee-meets-Sicilian-don’t-mess-with-me strength!
    And you’re welcome chez nous any time you need!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cloud Nine « Walking through the Rain - February 16, 2009

    […] Girl’s Blog « Just Prey Cloud Nine February 16, 2009 So remember how January decided to eat as much fried food, milk, ice cream and then blow chunks all over me? Well February, […]

Leave a Reply

