Where does the time go???

31 Jan

Wow, so in addition to my request to have a four-day work week and three day weekend, I’d also like to request more hours in the day. 24 just isn’t enough. Not for work, for sleep, for gym, friends, etc. Lately it’s most especially not enough time for work.

Thanks to those of you who still have me on your reader and have put up with my absence as of late.

Here’s the lowdown on everything Nora…

* The Car. Fortunately the man who hit me did leave a note, did leave his information and did assume liability for the accident. I realize I am lucky in many ways with regards to the happenstance: no one was hurt, I knew who did it and etc. It just sucked, for lack of a better term. My car is in the shop and I should get it back within five to seven business days and I do have a rental car in the interim.

* The Killers. The band, not people with guns. They are coming to the StL on May 4th and I have tickets. Bought ’em for TDH and myself, as part of an early one year celebration. Unless anything changes between now and then, it will be our first concert together. The show is at one of the cooler venues here, we have orchestra seats that are on the aisle. (Double bonus if you ask me.)

* February. The month is already looking better than January and nothing has even happened yet. Work trip, TDH has a surprise planned, reverse Valentine’s Day and the promise of much, much more.

* Dallas, TX. The gods have heard me. My office is sending me on a three-day trip to a place with weather that is about 20 degrees warmer than the crud here in StL.  Not sure if I will get to see much of what Dallas has to offer, but the few moments outside of a conference room that I get to spend in warmer weather, I will be a happy, happy woman.

* Reading. I’ve currently have my nose stuck in “Intervew with a Vampire,” by Anne Rice. (Fun fact, though perhaps not little known, Ms. Rice has also written adult erotica and Christian-faith based books as well. I find this fascinating though I doubt I’ll check out her other genres.) I would like to shake the vampire book kick I’m on but they are just so good it’s nearly impossible to walk away from them. I will be reading “Brideshead Revisited,” after this, just for a break.

* Everything else. I hate to say it but I’m not the most exciting 25-year old as of late. Work, as it does most people, has been fast, furious and consuming my waking hours from 7am when I wake up when I start to make lists about what needs to be done, up until 6pm when I’m on my way to the gym and can shake free the work thoughts. The gym is my sanctuary. Love the challenges, love the way I feel after I’m done. TDH and I are splendid as usual. The topic of moving in together has come up again; our lives continually intertwine and weave together making it seem like it rather silly that we don’t live together. I still have my blasted lease and do, of course, enjoy my apartment, my alone nights so for the time being, things will remain as-is. We are planning a few trips throughout the year; nothing extravagant (yet) but fun: Memphis. Boston. Perhaps Canada again. Maybe even Northern California. I’m feeling rather domestic lately, and am planning a massive bakefest: cookies, brownies, cupcakes. Won’t be too good for my diet but hey, I have a sweet tooth and I’m gonna feed it!

5 Responses to “Where does the time go???”

  1. liz January 31, 2009 at 11:56 pm #

    Keep me posted about Memphis. I have great tips.

  2. sleepyjane February 1, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    I agree – there just isn’t time for everything I wish I could get done! Time just flies past and before I know it it’s Sunday afternoon. *sigh*

  3. Kyla Bea February 1, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    Looks like the time is evaporating into all of the crazy activity you’ve been involved with lately!

    And congrats on the work trip, that sounds amazing!

  4. andhari February 1, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    ooh oooh I wanna watch the killers too, envying you nowww :)

  5. oh February 1, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Please count me in on some of those cupcakes! I LOVE cupcakes! So much more economic than a cake. And lots of buttercream icing on top – have I given you the recipe for that yet? I don’t have one; I just know how to make it. Must show you!!!

Leave a Reply

