Pet Peeves: The Work Edition

2 Feb

What better to address the Case of the Mondays with than a bit o’ bitchin’ about the office?

In particular order, a list of things that really get under my skin:

I have a large, U-Shaped desk. In addition to my ten different hats at my office, I often double as receptionist since I know all of our clients names and have a pulse on the buisness/office as a whole. So with that said, I have many files, post-its, slips of paper, mail, etc. on my desk at any given time. For some reason people who come to my desk to ask me a question/request a favor/tell me something feel the need to rearrange these papers on my desk. Uncool. Don’t touch!

Email. I love email, I really do. What I don’t love is when someone pens an email to me requesting a favor that they could have easily accomplished twice in the time it took them to thoughtfully craft the email. With that said, if I don’t respond to your email in what you expect to be a timely fashion, do not come to my desk, put your face in my personal space and ask if I have received it. Of course I have, I just have a bajillion other customer-facing things to do first.

Coffee. I do not drink it. I do not even like it. While I will make the coffee each morning as it’s become part of my job (evidently being the only woman in the office means I must make the coffee? Hello, 1950s), if it runs out at 10 am because you took the last drop, please make some more. I may not have time to rush back to the break room every 20 minutes to see if the supply has been depleted.

Number Two. I know nature calls when we’re at work. I get it. But please, please, please, men, do not take the magazines that our company pays for into the bathroom and then back out! How gross. Once it’s been in the bathroom, it needs to remain the bathroom. It cannot be salvaged. Oh, and ladies who are students of ours? If you have to take care of business, please feel free to use the Lysol we have graciously (and hopefully) placed in the bathroom. My nose would appreciate it.

As I mentioned above, I often sit at the front desk, a place I enjoy for the most part since it’s apart from the loud sales area. Just because I sit near the front of the office doors does not mean I know where each employee is at every moment of the day. That’s what the phones are for. Or, you know, your legs. Walk back to their office and see if you can find them.

And lastly, because of all the the above, please do not have the audacity to ask me if my project is finished yet. If I didn’t have to make coffee, play Where’s Waldo with the Office Staff, sort through my re-organized papers, trash magazines that had clearly been in bathrooms and deal with silly favors/requests and your incessant questions then yes, it would be done.

What’s your work pet peeve?

12 Responses to “Pet Peeves: The Work Edition”

  1. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 2, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    I’m sorry you have to deal with some seriously frustrating things at work! I’m definitely not cut out for an office job b/c these things would drive me crazy as well!

  2. Jennifer February 2, 2009 at 8:22 am #

    I agree about receiving emails with requests that the person could have done themselves in a shorter time than it took them to type the email.

    And the mags in the bathroom is so gross!

  3. Gigi February 2, 2009 at 8:24 am #

    I have asked numerous times for people to put all of my paperwork in my basket. I know what it is (it’s my job afterall), so I can sort through it, no matter what it is. If I don’t know what it is….I will figure it out! I come to work and there are 800 mini piles of papers scattered across my keyboard, my desk and just thrown all over the place. Sometimes arranged to where I will see them, or with post-its notes with my name on them. Then someone will ask…”did you see such and such on your desk?” And I’m thinking, “why yes…I had to remove it to log onto my computer!!!!”

    Ugh…it is most definitely MONDAY!

  4. pinkielarue February 2, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    as a nanny now, I don’t have very many pet peeves. But I do have some from when I worked in Advertising sales. My biggest pet peeve was coworkers coming to my desk stealing my office supplies! My Pens, thumbtacks, paperclips, whatever! when the supply office was literally just down the hall.

    GRRR!

  5. Kyla Bea February 2, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    The magazine thing? SO gross. As if people are comfortable enough to do that. That totally crosses a line!

    I always called myself a reception-ish when I was working the reception. I liked some things about it but many I hated with a passion. My biggest dislike was having to fetch three crates of milk from three floors below us and lug them up the flights of stairs one at a time.

    We were above one of my favourite restaurants and the smell of their food in the stair well when I was lugging the milk up and down? Well the smell of their food makes me a little nauseous now.

  6. ria February 2, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    I need at least a half hour in the morning before people come to my desk to talk to me ;)

  7. Alesia February 2, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    My main pet peeve at work is when adults don’t act like adults. When I have to manage employees and it reminds me of dealing with my toddler, it doesn’t make me happy.

    When people start pawing through stuff on your desk, you should say, “Oh, I hope you don’t catch this horrible infection I have!” My guess is they’ll probably keep their hands to themselves after that.

  8. butterflycharlie February 2, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    i hate it when people ask you questions before you’ve even sat down and taken your coat off, i hate it when people move my things off/on my desk, i hate people asking me to finish something they’ve started and can quite easily finish themselves, i hate it when people copy me in on emails that dont necessarily concern me, i hate that people leave the milk out, i hate when people are perfectly capable of sending you stupid emails but when it comes to something vital they suddenly lose the ability to keep you informed…

    ….*deep breath*……and i really hate when we have to hotdesk in the studio and the person you need to take over from is still sitting there a few minutes into your show and you desperately need the computer….!!

    that’ll do. For now.

  9. Tabitha February 2, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Hey! Got your letter here for the ten-things-you-love-starting-with… challenge. Can I get a drumroll, please?

    Okay, forget the drumroll. I’ll just give it to ya. It’s D. Yay!

    Post me another comment when you do it, and I’ll be happy to link back to your D post!

    -Tabitha

  10. Kelly February 2, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    I love your blog. I was reading your tweets today and they were mirroring my own frustrations on the job. I myself have recently been promoted from receptionist to legal assistant/paralegal so whenever our receptionist/office assistant are out…well I have many hates, as you said. I hate it when co-workers give me mail 5 minutes before it is time to go home! Our office policy is that every letter has to be scanned in and saved in a clients electronic file (law firm)_- so when I get 20 letters at 4:55…well I am not done in 5 minutes.

    I also hate it when clients call and talk down to me, treat me like an idiot, or just flat out argue with me. Being a jerk doesn’t make me want to help them, and these people need help. Ugh!

    I wish people would just take a step backand realize that we are all human, we all make mistakes, and we all have bad days.

    I totally just ranted in a comment.

    Anyway I am completely intrigued as to what exactly you do, and I am a new dedicated reader!

    P.S i totally agree about all of what you said, especially the bathroom stuff. ew.

  11. Kelly February 2, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    *hats — Freud would love that kind of typo

  12. sleepyjane February 3, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    The lady that I share an office with thinks I’m like some kind of IT genius. When something happens to her computer she just sits and stares and me and says; “I don’t know what happened. It just went off…”

    She’d sit like that all day until I try and see what the problem is.

Leave a Reply

