Suds

4 Feb

I went on a small adventure on Sunday: the neighborhood laundromat.

MWood, where I currently reside, is a combination of young college kids, young professionals, just-marrieds, middle-age alternative, and HUD/Section 8 housing. Broad range for sure.

With all the fauxhabitating that takes place between TDH and I, our clothes have become a comingled dirty mess that take over my sunroom and demand attention. My apartment complex provides one washer/dryer for the 6 units which normally is convenient and allows me one night a week to do laundry, clean, read blogs and cuddle with Jackers. Yesterday the washer/dryer was monopolized and so TDH suggested we head to the laundromat.

Quarters, laundry detergent, two books and a crossword puzzle book in tow, we trekked up the street to the laundromat. The cool part about the laundromat: the ability to do five loads- yes, that’s right we had five loads- at once, throw the loads together in the industrial-strength dryers, read and my favorite part- the people watching.

The people at the laundromat were your typical college students with scruffy facial hair, torn jeans, iPods attached to their arms and a hip book in their hands. The 40-year old men who are single and sadly alone with their hangers for each shirt and pair of pants and then there were the more interesting folks.

Couple #1: Middle-age man and his girlfriend/wife/fiance/woman friend (one can’t be sure what she was to him). Man walks in with a half-smoked cigarette dangling out of his mouth; he doesn’t put it out. Instead, he proceeds to light up two more cigarettes while we are there. It is obvious that his lady friend runs his life more or less, though he fights her tooth and nail every step of the way. He didn’t like how the clothes were folded, the washer and dryer she chose in relation to the rest of them, and got super pissed off when someone told him his truck was about to be towed.

Lady # 1: She popped her head in, found the only Asian student in the laundromat, and asked him if he would do her laundry. He rightfully so, looked shocked and shook his head no. She sighed and left promptly.

Everyone Else: There was the Resident I-Talk-on-my-cell-phone-in-public loudly young guy; the cat lady who brought in four or five large comforters, all covered with cat hair and stuff them into one washer; and the guy who came to pick up his laundry that looked like it had been in the dryer for over a week.

I finally have all of my clothes clean, the floor of my sunroom is once again vacant, and I can check “go to a laundromat,” off my list. I’ll probably go again, but most likely on with TDH.

9 Responses to “Suds”

  1. sleepyjane February 4, 2009 at 7:50 am #

    I love to people watch. :) I always wonder if they’re happy, if they’re in relationships and random things like that.

  2. Liz February 4, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Ugh, I remember the laundromat days. Hated them. Though the ability to do laundry in bulk is appealing.

  3. lucklys February 4, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    yes! bulk laundry is so amazing! my bf and i go to a laundromat every other week with at least 3 loads and manage to fit it all into one machine. it’s so nice, though not as nice as it would be to have an actual washer and dryer in our apartment. i miss living at home for this reason. it was so convenient.

    i’m not sure what city you live in, but in new york, a vast majority of the laundromats are run by asians or mexicans (but usually owned by someone who fits in both the “male” and “white” categories). there are people here who do the same thing, asking for someone to do their laundry. they’ll bring in bags and bags of laundry and expect it done by a certain time, and then they don’t tip for making these poor people touch their dirty underwear and fold their clothes. i can’t imagine they get paid a lot or they really enjoy their job.

    the guy in couple number 1 sounds like a real winner, haha

  4. Page February 4, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    I spent 3 months in Mexico one summer and had to go to the laundromat. If you think it’s an experience in people watching here…you should check it out there! Except, it was never fun to lug clean clothes back home on the bus!

  5. andhari February 4, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    hahaha whattt, thats funny how could someone just ask other people do their laundries, I might have to throw a dirty pants to a random person who asks me that

  6. Paige February 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I love laundry mats. When I was in elementary school and middle school my dad and I used to go to the laundry mat after school. I would do my homework on the big white tables. Hmm. Good times. Plus, the smell of clean laundry.. mmm.

  7. oh February 4, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    It’s a very human place, the laundromat. Everyone ends up there at least once in life for some reason: something they would NOT put in their own washer; no electricity; the damn washer gushing water all over the floor for some reason; maxed out on dirty clothes and dying for an afternoon out, even at ye olde laundromatte; and, well, tons of other reasons.
    Makes one appreciative, too, of having their own washer/dryer, be it ever so compact, boring, old, noisy, quirky or remarkably, just right!

  8. Amber February 4, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    Hey, we’re on the same 20sb biggest loser team and I just added you to my blogroll :-)

    I lived in dorms my first two years of college and the dorm laundry units were always SO busy so I started taking my stuff to the laundromat too. I LOVED doing five loads at once, even though it sucked that it cost 4 bucks a load. You definitely see lots of interesting people at the laundromat :-)

  9. TDH February 5, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    Don’t forget Prodigal Son #1 who came back to get his clothes. We were there for almost 2 hours and this dude, who we only assumed even existed, had packed one of the dryers chock-full with his clothes. The dryer obviously didn’t appreciate it because the door had popped open, in what looked like mid-spin, and his clothes spilled out onto the dirty floor.
    It looked like the dryer had barfed out his socks and pants in protest. He then sauntered back in after we had all been stepping around his dryer-vomited clothing for the better part of an hour, gathered his garments and sauntered back out of our lives as quickly as he had entered it.

    I love the laundromat!

Leave a Reply

