Dee-lightful

5 Feb

I figured out why I love these memes/tagging games: they allow me to really write, prompt to think about things in a completely different way than I normally do. So, thanks to Just Tabitha I am in charge of the Letter Dee and Ten Things I love that start with the Letter Dee.

1. Dairy. I love my cheeses. I love milk. I love ice cream. I would be lost without dairy, many of my cooking escapades would be bland and chocolate chip cookies would not be the same without a tall glass of milk next to it.

2. Days Off. It’s few and far between that I have a day off that is not a sick day, not a work trip, not a bridesmaid duty escapade. This year I’ve committed to taking several days off that are either just for me or will involve fun trips with TDH. On the current trip docket: Memphis, TN; possibly Nashville, TN to see Dave Matthews Band; New Orleans, LA;  Seattle, WA; or Bostn, MA.

3. Dave Matthews Band. I’ve seen eight concerts. I now collect t-shirts from each concert I attend (only three and counting). His music is one of the only bands who can immediately put me in a good mood. And now I follow him on Twitter which is just awesome.

4. Dogs. I am now hooked on the Dog Whisperer. I can’t go near a pet store at the mall without immediately wanting to plop down my life savings and buy all the dogs. I am a sucker for dog commercials, dog stores, puppies of all kinds and of course my fabulous dog Jack.

5. Dates. TDH and I have recently reinstated date night. Once a week we have dinner and movie night… OUT. Yeah, the economy sucks but that doesn’t mean we need to suffer from cabin fever and repetitive dating behavior. I can’t say that we chose the most uplifting movies (Slumdog Millioniare, Underworld 3 and The Wrestler) as of late but it’s fun to get out on a week night. I enjoy the time to connect, to try new restaurants and see the latest cinematic adventures. We are also venturing into double-date territory a bit more than before, finding new couples to hang out with and I couldn’t be more excited. I love double dates.

6. Darling. Darling as in my mom. Sometime when we moved to STL Darling became my go-to. I told her everything about my days, about school, about what I thought and feel. I still do to this day, though some small details are left out. (Although we have been known to talk about sex, drinking and etc. She’s pretty awesome if I do say so myself.) Once or twice a month we have errand days where we do the girlie stuff: shopping, scrapping, whatever. I can honestly say to this day that Darling is my number one best friend and if she’d allow it, she’d totally be a bridesmaid in my wedding.

7 . Dr. Pepper. I am not drinking much soda anymore or if I do, it’s only the clear stuff but I love me a Dr. Pepper. It just tastes so darn good with the classic junk foods: Mexican, pizza, greasy, delicious appetizers. It’s a weakness.

8. Dazzle. I’m talking jewelry here. Not the crazy expensive kind but the fun colors and cheapo stuff you can get at costume jewelry stores, H&M, Forever 21 and even Claire’s. (Yes, I’m 25 and still shop at Claire’s on occasion.) I love it how it jazzes up an outfit, brings a sense of confidence and boldness to the workplace monotony and of course the comments are always fun.

9. Digital. I have been a bad photographer as of late but I heart my digital camera. I travel with it almost all the time just in case there is a need. It’s hard for me to remember the days when digital wasn’t an option and I can’t remember where many of my college photos have gone since they were pre-digital but now I can take as many photos as I want and share them with the world immediately. Pretty awesome.

10. Deals. I’m not a cheapskate by any means but I pride myself on not shopping much unless the clothes are on sale. Most of my wardrobe is Gap, Banana Republic, The Limited and etc but I only purchase the cothes if there is a signifcant discount or I have those handy coupons they send me every two weeks. I find it makes shopping an adventure and as of late I’ve told TDH we should go vintage/used clothes shopping for a change of pace and fun adventures.

And now, I’ll open the floor for comments: what’s your one favorite thing that starts with “D?” And if you want to play the Alphabet game, let me know.

13 Responses to “Dee-lightful”

  1. sleepyjane February 5, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    I had a dirty thought. You figure it out. haha

    Mmmm lets see…Doggies!! They’re on my top 5 list of favourite things! :)

  2. Alesia February 5, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    I love the relationship you have with Darling. I hope, hope, hope that I can have that kind of closeness with my Nora when she’s an adult.

    And Dave Matthews is fine.

  3. andhari February 5, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    Dogs and Days off, certainly can make me grin from ear to ear :)

  4. Amber February 5, 2009 at 9:30 am #

    Great list! Who doesn’t love deals, especially these days! My boyfriend and I have been trying to set up a “date night” but we’re so busy it hardly ever sticks. It is our anniversary today though so we’re going on a date this weekend!

  5. Paige February 5, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Mmm. Days off are my favorite. I don’t take enough of them, I don’t think anybody does.

  6. Tabitha February 5, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    Yay! Great job with the D-list. I love that your mom’s name (or nickname?) is Darling, and that she’s your best friend. Makes me want to go watch some Gilmore Girls. :-P

    Let’s see…my favorite D thing? That’s tough! How about I just pick my favorite word that starts with “D”…cuz I’m a nerd and an English major. I choose, “delicious.” I think it’s just a great word, and saying it almost TASTES good! :)

  7. Kyla Bea February 5, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    Great list! I love that you have a date night, that’s so cute!

    I have a weird one: The Dutch. I work in children’s theatre and kids theatre from Europe crosses lines in sexuality, death, all kinds of topics that you just aren’t allowed to touch in North America. So one of the lines that has popped up constantly in our office? “It’s not dirty! It’s Dutch!”

  8. anne February 5, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    DOGS ! And I am also addicted to Dog Whisperer.

    I love how fondly you describe your parents- it speaks very highly of you and them….

    Hope you are doing well- miss you !

  9. Jennifer February 5, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    Since you admitted it, I will admit it too. I stop in Claire’s once in awhile too. I don’t have my ears pierced, so they actually have cute, stylish clip on earrings!

  10. oh February 5, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    YEs, yes, can I be maid of honor? Come on, Dr. McDreamy was a maid of honor…ok, no, that’s cool. Whenever you get married (should you choose to do so, of course) I’ll be the best coolest MOB that I can muster. (and I will NOT wear a full-length silver dress with a long jacket, nor a silly mini-dress…

  11. oh February 5, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    PS The reference to McDreamy is of course Patrick Dempsey (name right?) in MADE OF HONOR.

  12. ria February 6, 2009 at 7:26 am #

    great list. i love dairy products too hehe

  13. E.P. February 9, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    Yay for days off! It makes me really happy that you’re planning a trip to my hometown (Memphis), the town I want to live in (Nashville) and the town that feels like my hometown even though I’m not a Louisianan. You are going to have an incredible time in all three!

Leave a Reply

