The Lone Star State

6 Feb

Dear Dallas, TX:

I’ve only been in your lovely city for less than 36 hours but I’m already falling for you. Your skyline? Simplistically beautiful. I love that you leave the lights on in many of your highrise buildings. The building outlined in green neon lights reminds me of a modern version of Emerald City from the Wizard of Oz. It looks warm, inviting, friendly. The total opposite of what we’ve got going on in the StL.

Your downtown? Well of the parts I saw, it’s great. Everyone is friendly, including the very kind young gentlemen who are attempting to hustle roses to make a few bucks. (They offered my father a rose for his “Sweetie,” which happened to me. Politely declined obviously.) The food selections are fantastic. A city where I can get a mesquite hamburger or amazing TexMex? Sign me up.

Your people? Of the many people I’ve encountered every single one has greeted me with a smile, a thank you “ma’am,” and held doors for me left and right. Everyone here seems more pleasant in the StL. Perhaps it’s the weather? Yes, I know 50 degrees is cold for you Texans but for me it was simply glorious. And to see the sun shining and feel 60 degree weather on my face when I exited the conference center? I was tempted to walk across the freeway just to be outside.  I know the grey, gross, cold weather in the StL makes me grumpy so it follows that the folks in the service industry would suffer a case of grumpiness as well.

Oh, and you have palm trees which happen to be one of the only plants that can bring a smile to my face. Any place that has palm trees is a great city in my book.

Confession: I contemplated buying some pink cowgirl boots. Who wouldn’t want a pair of those? And the glitzy jewelry that’s for sale here? Yeah, if I lived here I’d totally buy it. Seriously.

Dallas, TX, we are friends. You’ve treated me well with your fabulous weather and food that tickles the tastebuds, not to mention the business advances I’ve made in the last few days. I can’t complain and I will certainly come back if the opportunity arises.

9 Responses to “The Lone Star State”

  1. ria February 6, 2009 at 7:11 am #

    glad you are having a good time in Texas :)

  2. Kelly February 6, 2009 at 7:11 am #

    Yay! I am glad you like Dallas! If I lived downtown I would so buy pink cowboy boots too. ha-ha

  3. lucklys February 6, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    i’ve never been to dallas, but i’ve driven through and stayed in amarillo one time each. i couldn’t believe how flat and empty it was there, and it was a little unnerving that i swore i could see the curvature of the earth.

    50 degrees sounds wayyy better than what we have here in new york, a balmy 25, though according to weather.com, it feels like 9. yay.

  4. oh February 6, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Aha! You like Texas, too! (you’ve heard me say I love San Antonio.) I’m glad you like it there. Yes, you SHOULD buy those cowgirl boots! AND some of the glitzy jewelry. Why not?
    And I like your new “look” here!

  5. SoMi's Nilsa February 6, 2009 at 8:02 am #

    I hear nothing but really wonderful things about Dallas. And if you have to be in Texas, I’m guessing Dallas is the next best thing to Austin!

  6. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 6, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    I’ve never been to Dallas (or anywhere in Texas) but now I’m intrigued!

  7. andhari February 6, 2009 at 11:33 pm #

    now I REALLY wanna go t i go to there when i go to states again :) sounds like a nice friendly city.

  8. E.P. February 9, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    Aww, fun! I’m glad you enjoyed it so much! What were you up to in Dallas? I’m a big fan of that city, too.

  9. AshleyD February 9, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    I’m so glad you liked Dallas. Texas is awesome. Austin is even better though. You should go there next!

Leave a Reply

