Facebook Much?

7 Feb

I use Facebook the way I think most people do: casual “stalking,” status updates, photo sharing and the occasional stay-in-touch with old friends things. It seems that as of late the “25 Things About You,” meme/post has been going around on FB. Rather than do it on Facebook where no one would read it, much less care, I thought I’d share 25 more random things about myself with the BlogWorld, with the friends that may really care.

1. I cry at the Kay Jeweler’s commercials. Doesn’t matter the time of year or the gift the girl receives, I get tears in my eyes each time.

2. This is the first year in four years I am NOT a Bridesmaid in any friends weddings. I have three (and counting) to attend but not a one requires me to stand at the altar. It’s refreshing and also slightly unnerving. I don’t quite know what to do with my extra time.

3. I worked in a BBQ restaurant for a year during my sophomore year in college. The coworkers were drug dealers and addicts and while I didn’t fall prey to their vices, I did find myself partying three or four times a week which lead to me giving up alcohol for Lent that year. I quit working at the restaurant shortly thereafter.

4. When I saw “The Ring,” I couldn’t look in a mirror for two weeks post-movie viewing.

5. I can’t go to the 20SB Meet-Up in June anymore due to work. It stinks.

6. Starting at age four I danced: ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary classes. I stopped my freshman year in college. If I could do it over again I never would have quit. I won’t say I regret it but I would certainly change it.

7. Ipledge a sorority for a month in college. I de-pledged when the sorority president told me I had to choose between the sorority and my grades. being pre-law at the time the decision was easy for me. School.

8. I am terrified of flying. I pray the entire time during take-off and landing.

9. In 2004 Darling & I took my Gram to London, England for her 80th Birthday/Girls’ Trip. We took a double-decker bus to the outskirts of town accidentally. It was one of the most glorious accidents I’ve ever been on.

10. TDH’s family owns a golf course. I have never golfed in my life. Frankly, I don’t think I want to.

11. In sixth grade my friend had a birthday party at a horse ranch. My horse decided to run wild off the path and through the forest. Insert fear of horses for several years after.

12. Also in sixth grade I managed to break my left ankle in three spots at sixth grade camp (a mandatory week at camp in my school district). I had to wear a cast the entire summer which ruined pool parties for me.

13. Amanda Peet really gets under my skin. No clue why.

14. I feel sexier when I’m tan.

15. I haven’t been to a beach in over 16 months and I’m craving it. I need the beach.

16. At any given time I have at least four different lip glosses in my purse plus two tubes of Burt’s Bees chapstick

17. I could tell you exactly what TDH was wearing on our first date.

18. My younger brother is 20 and we are finally growing closer. It makes me infinitely happy.

19. Killing insects makes me feel bad.

20. Taking the trash out to the dumpster is my least favorite household chore.

21. Thin Mints are my favorite Girl Scout cookie.

22. I was a nanny in college and at one point the mom accused me of stealing her husband’s iPod. It was the end of our business and personal relationship and it broke my heart to leave those kids but to accuse the person who spent 35 hours a week with her kids of taking an iPod? The money she paid me would have paid for several iPods in one month.

23. I can’t sleep at night when I’m in hotels, most especially if I’m alone.

24. I think the world would be a happier place if we had Christmas lights up year round.

25. Putting together a list of 25 random things about myself is much harder than I thought it would be.

9 Responses to “Facebook Much?”

  1. She She February 7, 2009 at 7:22 am #

    I like the new masthead. And great list!

    I imagine your former employer finding the iPod later and feeling (I hope) horrible.

    Come find me on Facebook. I’ll friend you!

  2. Kyla Bea February 7, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    Very cute new layout! I think you might need to re-size a couple of your sidebar pictures though = )

    I just did this on facebook too, it’s a fun one.

  3. Kelly February 7, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    I stopped dancing when I was in college too! I tried to do the splits the other day…it was scary. I had some notion tha I could still do it…WRONG! haha

    I am also terrified of flying! I was in a pretty turbulant plane ride when I was little and it has scared me ever since. Plus I hate not being in control.

    I can’t sleep when I’m in hotels because I watched a show on the “germs” that reside in certain places…..

    I loved your list!

  4. Gigi February 7, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    Love the new layout….and that you were a dancer! I was too, and I miss it so bad!

  5. Little Miss Obsessive February 7, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    Omg you can’t go to the Blog Meetup? I’m so sad! I was leaning towards going.. now I don’t know – I won’t even get to meet my Bloggy BFF!

    Loveeee the new layout BTW :)

  6. Amber February 7, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Cool list. I like learning things about other bloggers this way :-)

  7. andhari February 7, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

    :) I moved my tv outside after I watched The Ring too. Have you watched the japanese one? that’s so much creepier :)

  8. E.P. February 9, 2009 at 12:16 am #

    I’m really liking the new banner! It’s pretty! And I totally understand what you mean when you’re talking about Kay Jewlers commercials. I get all teary-eyed when anything remotely romantic comes on the TV. You can only imagine what things are like when my boy gets all sappy… ;)

  9. Imogen February 9, 2009 at 1:40 am #

    Hey, I’m back…Sorry for the long absence, I’m a bit mad like that sometimes :(
    Glad to see you’re doing good :) LOVE the new layout (guess new years are bound to bring about change, huh?)
    Laughed at your lip gloss/ balm point. I’ve got 2 glosses and a Kiehl’s balm in my bag, at the mo…Must be a girly thing :P

Leave a Reply

