Reverse Valentine’s Day

10 Feb

A few weeks ago I mentioned the fact that I have a bit of disdain for Valentine’s Day. No particular reason other than why is it necessary to celebrate love for friends, family and that special someone only once a year? Why not celebrate each day? And also for the fact that I’ve had many terrible Valentine’s Day.

So why my distaste?

  • In high school the day was a popularity contest. The Journalism department sold roses for people to purchase and they were distributed during certain periods of class. Some girls wound up with more than a dozen roses, some had at least five secret admirers and until my junior year apart from my trusty girlfriends, I never received a rose from a guy. We also had our lovely King of Hearts (aka Sadie Hawkins) dance and I was turned down my freshman year leading me to not even bother asking anyone my sophomore year. Me and the girls had too much fun with junk food galore making it an accidental “boys are stupid,” party
  • In college I spent most of my Valentine’s Days either at home in sweats with a stack of magazines, chick flicks, peanut M&Ms and pizzza or out, at a bar, dancing with at least one drink in my hand. This is not a bad way to spend your time but when all of your friends have boyfriends/girlfriends/first dates/secret admirers it certainly does stink
  • Of all the Valentine’s Days I’ve spent with a guy, I’ve endured cold dinners with warm champagne, forced conversaton, awkward situations, useless presents and the trite “I love yous,” and the mandatory make-out sessions. Blah.
  • One year, post really awful break-up, the guy had the nerve to call me and wish me a Happy Valentine’s Day. Some would say that’s sweet, but considering he wanted one thing and one thing only after we were broken up it only served to confuse my already muddled thoughts. I spent that night at a movie theater, in a chick flick, with a large beer in my hand (they have theaters where you can drink here) sobbing.
  • Ever since the aforementioned Valentine’s Day, I have worn black, ignored the day, and kept my eyes to the ground to avoid the flood of pink/red/white that people tend to wear. I do, however, send Valentine’s to my friends and family because even though I don’t celebrate it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t at least acknowledge and thank  them for their friendship over the years.

Like I mentioned in TDH Tidbits, Volume Two, TDH and I immediatly bonded over our mutual dislike for the over commercialized holiday.
 
And so Reverse Valentine’s Day was born. We are partaking in a day long be-as-unromantic-as-possible-day along with Liz of Will There be Cake and her husband. The agenda includes Bowling with Cheap Keg Beer, a fantastic slasher film (Friday the 13th) and the icing on the cake is reservations for White Castle, dinner for four. (For those of you who don’t have White Castle, it’s a really greasy fastfood joint that serves mini-burgers. On Valentine’s Day they accept reservations for people to be waited on and enjoy their greasy burgers, fries and shakes over candlelight. Normally there is no waitstaff and the lighting is very harsh.) I have a strange feeling that this will be the best Valentine’s Day  ever, loads of fun and in some odd way, it will be romantic.

We have capped our presents at $20 a piece and they aren’t allowed to be sentimental or romantic.

I sense that this is the start of a wonderful tradition!

What are your Valentine’s or Reverse Valentine’s Day plans/traditions?

14 Responses to “Reverse Valentine’s Day”

  1. ria February 10, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    i hated those stupid roses in high school. love your idea for a reverse valentine’s day!

  2. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 10, 2009 at 7:58 am #

    I’m so not impressed with Valentine’s Day either. It feels too contrived. I’m trying to talk my boyfriend into letting us celebrate at home, in sweatpants, with take out, but he’s not buying it yet!

  3. caterpillar85 February 10, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    i love the anti valentines day idea :) have a blast!

  4. andhari February 10, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    that sounds really goood and I really want a whitecastle :(

  5. pinkielarue February 10, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    i am sooooooooo jealous of the white castle. those tasty little burgers. mmm!

  6. Gigi February 10, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    1) I love pizza with peanut M&M’s! Especially Pizza Hut..it’s so greasy!
    2) I am cracking up over the harsh lighting @White Castle! So true! I think there is something romantic about being unromantic on Valentine’s Day. I hope you two have a wonderful time!

  7. Kyla Bea February 10, 2009 at 9:05 am #

    I’m definitely down with not doing something huge for Valentines Day, I have friends who do a big thing and I just find it a little forced. I really prefer to buy everything we need for dinner, cook us something great, and surprise him with dessert and flowers just every now and then.

    I think we’re going to just curl up and watch some TV together = )

  8. Liz February 10, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    This is going to be the best Valentine’s Day yet! And because it’s so un-romantic, I have a feeling it’s going to be very romantic, but in that natural way. not forced.

    We’ve gotten all dressed up and had an expensive dinner for V-Day before and half way through the night I was wishing we were at home, in our sweats, watching a movie and eating pizza and drinking a beer or a bottle of cheap wine. Because that’s how we roll. But White Castle? That’s going to be a whole new ballgame for us. I can’t wait!

  9. kristen February 10, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    I am not big on Valentine’s Day either. So silly…and I don’t particularly like getting flowers/heart-shaped boxes of candy/balloons/stuffed animals anyway.

    But, since it’s a three-day weekend, we’re going to celebrate that by going camping! And…funnily enough, on Valentine’s Day we’ll probably go see the elephant seals mate (it’s the season) at a state beach nearby our campground. How’s that for unromantic?!

  10. Amber February 10, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    I really don’t want to go out to dinner because every restaurant in town will be super busy so we’re just going to stay in, order pizza or chinese food and watch movies. I don’t think we’re even going to exchange presents, we’re not big on Valentines either.

  11. Little Miss Obsessive February 10, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    lol I love your Valentine’s Day plans :) It’s a silly holiday and I’ve spent too many alone to ever really enjoy the day! I do think it was the carnation popularity contest in high school that really did it for me. Anyways, looks like I have a Valentine this year but I think I’d rather be getting drunk with my single girlfriends instead.

  12. Courtney February 10, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    what a great idea! i totally feel the same way– i mean, there shouldn’t be just ONE day to celebrate your love for another person. you should be doing that every single day. :)

    Thanks for your comments, by the way!

    -C.

  13. E.P. February 13, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    I love that you celebrate Reverse Valentine’s Day! I need to do something like that, too. Last year, my boy and I spent the evening in, eating Chinese and watching musicals. It was awesome, and I wish he was going to be here this year. That would be a fun little tradition to continue simply because it was anti-Valentine’s for us both.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Follow-Up: Valentine’s Day « Walking through the Rain - February 15, 2009

    […] « Love/Hate: The Return Follow-Up: Valentine’s Day February 15, 2009 Reverse Valentine’s Day was a hit. In fact, it was the best Valentine’s Day I’ve had by […]

Leave a Reply

