SSB

11 Feb

SSB, stolen from Sex & The City, meaning Secret Single Behavior.

Due to social calendars TDH and I have spent the last few nights at our own respective residences. While it’s unusual I am slightly pleased I have two extra nights at my apartment since I have a feeling things in the habitation department are going to change in the next six to eight months. Might as well soak up all the “me time,” I can.

This is also when I can let loose any of the strange behavior I take part in when TDH isn’t around, such as…

  • Streaming a movie online from Netflix, on my laptop, as I fall asleep. As of late I’ve been alternating between 30 Rock and old musicals.
  • Cleaning up and reorganizing the top of my dresser: jewelry, perfumes, lotions, hair stuff. This sounds like simple tidying up, but I’m so weird about what goes where I’m not sure what TDH would think.
  • Late Night Ritual which takes place when I can’t sleep (which is any night I’m not with TDH): a snack of pretzels or cheese, a Sex & The City episode, sitting on the edge of my bed as though I’ve never seen the episode before.
  • Looking at Real Estate. This is less of a secret since we toss around the idea of buying a house (not now, but in general) and I occasionally email him some listings I fall in love with.
  • Eyebrow plucking/pore observation. I find these two things while necessary extremely unsexy so I try not to let TDH see me do them. I also do face masks when he’s not around. There are some things I don’t even think a guy with three sisters (TDH) would understand.
  • Spread out all my recently paid bill stubs and important mail and file away in each tab in the fil-o-fax.
  • From time to time I’ve been known to serve myself a small bowl of ice cream and eat it standing up in the kitchen, staring out the window.
  • Talking to Jack in the “baby” voice. Why do humans talk to dogs and babies in a weird/funny voice? I don’t get that.

Any “secrets” you don’t want your husband/roommates/fiance/boyfriends/family to know about?

15 Responses to “SSB”

  1. SoMi's Nilsa February 11, 2009 at 8:10 am #

    See, I don’t think any of that behavior is all that strange or weird or needing to be kept from TDH. When two people decide to live together, you both agree you will learn more about their habits you ever thought possible. In my house, my husband knows everything. He even asks me, “did you get it?” when I think I’m being sly about picking my nose. =)

  2. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 11, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    I do the first 3 things too!

  3. Little Miss Obsessive February 11, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    Hmmm.. maybe the fact that I can go into a cleaning frenzy at 2AM or that I eat cookies in bed lol :)

  4. Kyla Bea February 11, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    I *definitely* get what you mean – I don’t think it’s about hididng, it’s about fallin back into those old single habits.

    I’m big on late night snacks, singing in the house, chatting with my dogs, knitting, journaling, and taking big bubble baths. I think that when we moved in together for the first year or so these fell off a little, but then as I started to loosen up around Jess and our schedules got more normal I started doing a lot more of these again – and it has been a lot of fun.

    I definitely do the ice cream thing, too. It’s kind of awesome & it’s fun when Mister joins in!

  5. Akirah February 11, 2009 at 8:56 am #

    Probably that I dance in my underwear after I take a shower. He’s probably love to see me do it. But he never willlll…

  6. SSG February 11, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    you are so like me it’s unreal. Sometimes I just need “me” time to “tidy”. My tidy is not like other people’s tidying. i like things to be Organised, with an intentional capital O. I like my jewellery tidy, my hair stuff tidy, my underwear tidy, my makeup tidy. Now I live with someone else, I can’t have things the tidy way I like, but now and again doing this tidying thing helps me destress.

    Something I dont do around MrC either- remove ingrown hairs. and cut my nails (cos he hates the sound) and epilate or shave, or sit around with greasy hair. These are for the times I have alone! Add experiment with hair styles and makeup, that is an alone thing to do too!

  7. andhari February 11, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    eat chips in bed while watching girly movies and sobbing :P

  8. kristen February 11, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    After three and a half years of dating, and about two of co-habitation, I’ve got absolutely no shame about anything–but this blog post is a good reminder that I probably *should* — a little mystery is sexy.

    Of course some people take discretion to the extreme. I went on a friend’s church youth group trip when I was 14 or 15 and I distinctly remember the youth pastor’s wife remarking that her husband (of several years) had neither heard nor smelled her burp or fart. I was pretty astonished by that.

  9. E.P. February 11, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    I do a lot of the same things. One of my favorite things to do when my boy’s not around is bake. He obviously knows about it, but he doesn’t like me baking around him because he’ll have to eat it. ;)

  10. Liz February 11, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    Oh the eyebrow plucking and beauty maintenance (like waxing). I’ve done it around the hubs before, but I do think some things should be done in private, to add a bit of mystery. I can be pretty crass, and am definitely a total slob when left alone (shoes everywhere, dishes in the sink, multiple water glasses by the bed, empty bowls that once contained popcorn left on the coffee tabe, etc.) I’m a tad bit tidier when he’s around.

  11. Amber February 11, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    We live together so we spend every night together, but Eric likes to stay up late and sometimes he falls asleep on the couch. I love having our queen-sized bed to myself, I get such a better sleep!

  12. Paige February 11, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    nail cutting. I hate when people are around while I cut my nails.

  13. mandy February 11, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    I dont think I have any odd behaviors, though I do enjoying watching old musicals and eat ice cream while starting out the window sometimes.

  14. sleepyjane February 12, 2009 at 4:26 am #

    As you know I live with J so he’s pretty muvh seen everythinh. Much to his horror. :)

  15. uberfrau February 17, 2009 at 12:38 am #

    have you read Dead until Dark? I too have been hooked on vampire novels. I will tell you that you should avoid(at all costs) anything by Katie Mcallister. They are seriously bad novels.

Leave a Reply

