TDH Tidbits, Volume Three

12 Feb

One of my definitions of love is wanting to become a better version of yourself for that person: not all the time, not in all capacities, but somehow a better version of yourself.

I also think it’s important to open yourself up during that love and try new things, attempt new experiences.

And courteous of TDH a quick list…

Things that I want to do for myself and TDH that are “new,” to me:

  • Expand my Domestic Goddess Journey. I now have a specific counter area dedicated to cookbooks and cooking magazines. One cabinet is dedicated to supplies needed for baking, another all pots and pans, another for the necessary utensils. I also thoroughly enjoy cleaning both my place and his. Nothing is more attractive to me lately than a clean and picked up bedroom
  • Video Games. The journey is evolving and I’m still very much into the arcade games at this point but they are addictive. And awesome. My feeble attempt at a “first person shooter,” game was uber-pathetic however I was able to laugh at myself during the process, while feeling mildly embarassed. I also don’t mind watching play video games anymore.
  • Vampires. Before I dove into the Twilight series, TDH had been talking to me about vampire books for awhile. Twilight gave me the jumpstart. And now, every other book I read is a vampire book. It’s an addiction worse than chocolate in a way.
  • Pool Halls. I can honestly say that except for maybe once in college as an underager, I had never been in a pool hall before, much less had the desire to go into one. I still don’t particularly like them; the clientele is definitely interesting and the cigarette smoke in there is enough to make my hair stink for days, even if I wash it relentlessly.
  • Record Players/Record Stores. I grew up listening to records; my parents often woke my brother and I up to sweet sounds of the Beatles, occasionally The Muppets, Bill Cosby or some other class 60s band but at some point in the early 90s my family switched over the CDs. We still have the records, they are just rarely used. TDH recently purchased a really cool record player, receiver and speakers. And we now are obsessed with shopping for old records. I found a secret treasure not far from my residence that is floor to ceiling, wall to wall with records, casettes, CDs, movies, record players, classic posters and other silly things like “Kiss” dolls and Elvis Presley clocks. When we go TDH has a few artists in mind and we begin the hunt. The only downside is it’s an expensive habit.
  • Organize (this is a me thing). I am pretty sure at some point in the next 12 months our possessions will start cohabitating and I feel I owe it to myself to get all my papers filed properly, preferably with color-coordinated labels (Yes, I am a DORK), sort through my clothes, CDs, pictures, DVDs and much more. It’s amazing that after only three and a half years of living on my own that I have an insane amount of stuff.
  • Sharks. TDH loves Sharks… TV shows like Shark Week from Discovery Channel and other shows on National Geographic and it’s like I’m not even in the room. So long as the sharks aren’t eating baby seals on screen, I am indeed fascinated by sharks and their behavior.
  • And lastly, Passion. I forced myself to repress feelings of passion for anyone for so long, I still struggle with this. I still am afraid that some morning I’ll wake up and find it’s all been a dream. If that is the case, at the very least I will have been passionate for and about someone and I suppose not many people can say that, right? TDH has awakened what I like to call the “Old Nora,” the one who loved whole heartedly. It’s still a struggle at times for me to surrender to it completely, but I’m getting better.

Do you have anything that you were introduced to or learned during a past or present realtionship that stands out the most to you?

8 Responses to “TDH Tidbits, Volume Three”

  1. caterpillar85 February 12, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    so this may be a completely stupid question but what does “TDH” stand for? I’ve seen it on several people’s logs and I know that “DH” is Dear Husband & I know it is your boyfriend, but geez…i’m lost :)

    More power to you about the video games hun! :) I’m not going to lie they were a huge source of the downfall of me and current ex’s break up but he was obsessed and it involved being drunk at the same time, ho hum.

    i LOVE that your TDH has awakened the “old nora” that is amazing & i cannot wait to find the person for me that will do the same!

  2. Amber February 12, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    My boyfriend is super mellow. He doesn’t drink and he’d rather stay in then go out. I still go out with my friends occasionally, but I’ve definitely learned to just enjoy watching a movie at home and going to bed early since we’ve been living together!

  3. Liz February 12, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    When my husband and I first started dating, I became incredibly domestic – wanting to cook, bake, clean, do laundry…I still do, but now it’s “normal” whereas before, it was all new behavior for me.

  4. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 12, 2009 at 9:27 am #

    I agree with you 100% on this. One of the things I love most about a relationship is the opportunity to step outside of your comfort zone and try new things.

  5. Kyla Bea February 12, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    Up until Mister and I were actually married I struggled with letting go completely. I don’t know why! It’s so silly! But there it is!

    Your list is a good one – I love doing all the domestic stuff if only because I love working with my hands and making things from nothing. So cleaning house or making something new that’s edible? That’s even better!

  6. andhari February 12, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    i can relate to the twilight thing. Im addicted.

  7. Scarlett February 12, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    I like the new layout!

    I need to expand my domestic abilities in the worst way!

    The other day I was telling roomie about eating saltines and choc chips together…and she told me that was for sure SSB, haha!

    Good thinking on the organizing.

  8. E.P. February 13, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    I feel you on the vampire addiction. I’ve been dealing with that for a while now, and it’s crazy. My boy just accepts it.

    I’m liking this!

Leave a Reply

