Cloud Nine

16 Feb

So remember how January decided to eat as much fried food, milk, ice cream and then blow chunks all over me? Well February, thus far, has been much more kind.

Last Friday I had offsite planning meetings with the Boss (aka my dad) and my other Boss (aka the jerk) to discuss the next six months of operation, strategic planning, HR issues and etc. The meeting was fast and furious and ended with… a raise. FOR ME. That’s right, a raise. I thought one was coming but I didn’t expect it this early in the year given the economy. (Side Note: I know the economy is bad, I know people are struggling but if I could make it through just one meeting without hearing about “the economy,” I would be so very happy.) The raise totally negated the fact that the jerky boss spilled my hot chocolate all over me, my work computer and all the papers I compiled for the meeting.

After our planning meeting which I left with a terribly mushy-brain, I went to pick up my car. Finally fixed, I merrily jaunted into the body repair shop, signed the insurance check and I was back in my car. My new, beautifully fixed car. It looks better than new. They were even kind enough to detail my car for me. I hope it’s not terribly pathetic that I missed my car.

Saturday morning I woke to an email from the author of Fab Obsessesd informing me I won the contest she ran last week. I’ve entered many online comment contests and never won a thing so I’m totally pumped about this!

Top it all off with a superb Sunday dinner made by the fabulous Darling (roast chicken and Greek Spinach Pie), good company (The Boss, Darling, Gram and TDH) plus I managed to get two Knock-Outs on Wii Bowling in the first round, with good memories from Valentine’s Day and I’m floating on Cloud Nine.

6 Responses to “Cloud Nine”

  1. Amber February 16, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    Aww, that’s great that February is turning out so well for you.

    I miss my car terribly, I guess the correct word would be “mourn” my car terribly since I’m not getting mine back. I must start looking for a new replacement car soon :-(

  2. mandy February 16, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    Thats great that you got a raise — Congrats! February is turning out to be a great month…

    I miss my car too when I dont have her.

  3. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 16, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I’m so glad February is looking up for you!

  4. Kyla Bea February 16, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    That sounds like a fabulous dinner! (Minus the whole hot chocolate thing, ah!)

    Congratulations on the raise!!

  5. sleepyjane February 17, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    YAY for a raise! :) Sounds like a fab weekend!

  6. SSG February 17, 2009 at 4:33 am #

    congrats on the pay rise! hope it makes work a bit more bearable…xx

Leave a Reply

