Just Prey

16 Feb

Today’s blog is brought to you by TDH. He has a book full of short stories and microfiction and I asked him to choose one to share with us. Here’s his first pick. Let me/TDH/us know what you think! 

 

Just Prey

 by TDH

 

 

Charleen was trying to kill me and she was getting better at it all the time.

She was a praying mantis and I had captured her 9 days ago. I had kept her in an old, giant pretzel jar I had found in the attic until I couldn’t stand it anymore.  Oh, I was very good to her. I caught her moths, aphids, flies and even a cricket, but it wasn’t good enough. When I watched her through the jar, she would watch me.  She would stare back with a terrible intelligence and I knew she hungered for more.

On the third day of her captivity, I released her. I tipped the pretzel jar on its side, removed the lid and ran back inside. I watched her from behind the sliding glass door as she climbed out of the jar and onto its top, cleaned her eyes and stared at me with   murderous intent. She then flew off of my porch and, I assumed, out of my life.

But I wasn’t so lucky.

The brake lines on my car had been cut, “Chewed through” is what the mechanic had said. I had almost been crushed by a falling piano, and now I was stuck in an elevator that was supposedly “Under Repair”.  I could hear the dead, dry leaf fluttering of her wings in the elevator shaft.

It was only a matter of time now.

7 Responses to “Just Prey”

  1. Liz February 16, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    What happens next?! C’mon TDH, don’t leave us hanging like that!

  2. Tabitha February 16, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    I like it!

  3. sleepyjane February 17, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    I love this. What happens next? I want to know too!!

  4. butterflycharlie February 17, 2009 at 4:41 am #

    love short stories like these, they really get you’re imagination going.

  5. SSG February 17, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    preying mantis. scary. eugh i hate insects!

  6. Alesia February 17, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    Love it!

    And then…. what happened?

  7. oh February 17, 2009 at 7:50 pm #

    I knew it. I just knew it!!!! After reading so much and so well, you have now turned to writing. A storymaster, eh? Go, TDH! (ok, but one thing – why the name Charleen?)

Leave a Reply

