Overheard…

18 Feb

… at Chevy’s last Friday when our bills were completely screwed up and our waitress did a less than stellar job:

“I’m not a retard, I promise. I just don’t know what I’m doing. The Red Bull I drank before work has me totally whacked. I know how to fix this… I think.”

Not a single one of us complained to her or the management, nor did we call her a “retard,” a word I never use.

*******************

… at Dierberg’s last Wednesday when TDH and I were picking up some food essentials to cut down on our dining out costs:

Cashier: “Do you know where Bob went?”
Bag Boy: ” He went that-a-way. I never get to say that… ‘he went that-a-way.’ I feel like I’m in a movie. I take every advantage I can to use the phrase ‘he went that-a-way.’ I feel so cool when I get to say it, especially when I can point my finger in the appropriate direction.”
Cashier: silence.

I must admit I had to stifle a laugh because no one was really listening to the poor BagBoy who couldn’t have been more than 16.

***********************

…. at the office. One of the students on break, in the front hallway.

“They told me I owed them $20 bucks so I told them to go to hell, to cancel my account and that they wouldn’t be getting any of my (serious expletive, serious expletive) ever again. So when can your company hook me up with internet?”

Something tells me that’s not a great way to start a new account/relationship with any sort of vendor.

Also overheard at the office…

“I ate some bad peanuts so now I have salmonella poisoning meaning I have to run to the bathroom to deal with the runs every hour. I hope that’s not a problem.”

Oh, wow.

*********************

Have you overheard anything unusual/funny/odd/random lately?

6 Responses to “Overheard…”

  1. mandy February 18, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    Ahahaha, those are all great. I think I would have laughed with the bag boy. Poor kid.

  2. Akirah February 18, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    I certainly haven’t heard anything as amazing as any of those quotes. Particularly that poor, awkward bag boy.

  3. Kyla Bea February 18, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    Lol Oh my gosh, the general public is a little frightening, hey?

    Glad you’ve survived them with a sense of humor!

  4. ria February 18, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    those are pretty funny, i really liked the bagboy one. this one isn’t mine but a co-workers, it will still make you giggle:

    ::Overheard on building radio: “Mary, have you seen Neil anywhere” Mary replies: “He’s here. He’s probably in the woman’s bathroom again.”::

  5. Amber February 18, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Hahaha. That’s so funny, I like the bag boy one too, I sometimes go off on random rants like that, but I try not to do it when other people are around. lol

  6. Kelly February 18, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    I overheard my co-worker say this on the phone today

    “do you have everything you need for the flamingo round-up yet?”

    umm?.. haha

Leave a Reply

