This is…

24 Feb

(I decide to join a Tuesday Meme that is new and a bit unusual and will have a different theme each week. Carina started it. Check it out!)

The theme for this week is “This is my favorite man/woman.”

First of all this is very difficult to choose just one man or woman, so I’m going to break it down a little bit into categories.

Favorite woman in my family: Darling. Many of you have read numerous times what a great support network my mother has been for me over the years. When we host parties the next day we have the post-party wrap-up. If we go shopping we laugh, share and comment on our possible and actual purchases. We sneak ice cream on occasion. We bond over girlie movies, our love for dogs and of course the love for our men. Darling is my rock in so many ways.

Favorite woman in my age group: my good friend Miss Mel. We see each other every two or three months as of late considering she lives a few hours away. Our phone calls our frequent, our emails are often and we pick up right where we left off each time we talk. On Sunday she informed that she and her awesome husband are coming to visit me and Irish in March. I can’t wait. Mel is one of my good friends who really gets me, no judgment, full disclosure and always has a shoulder, hug and a glass of wine on hand.

My favorite  female celebrity: Natalie Portman. If someone were to ever make a movie about me, I would request she play me.

Favorite man in my family: Obviously that would be Boss (my dad) for many reasons. He’s my employer. He’s my supporter. He’s my bodyguard (literally, anytime I’ve been out with my parents in the past during my single years not one single guy would look at me. Boss scares them away). He’s my savior on more than one occasion. I also think that Bro is obviously one of my favorite men too; he’s constantly teaching me to look at things from a different perspective, explore, analyze and etc.

Favorite man in my age group: Irish, of course. for making me feel alive, for bringing the passion out in me and for helping me to explore my life in a whole new way. And not that I see him anymore, but ManMate. He’s expecting a baby girl with his girlfriend in June so his life has shifted significantly. We talk once every six weeks but after having lived with him for two years, he’s like a brother to me… now an estrange brother.

Favorite male celebrity: Robert DeNiro. I gravitate towards Italian male celebs for some reason.

7 Responses to “This is…”

  1. Kyla Bea February 24, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    lol Mister and I have a long standing joke about Ms. Portman. He is head over heels in love with her, and whenever she’s on TV I ask if he needs a moment alone with her. I just generally embarrass him. It’s cute.

  2. mandy February 24, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    This is fun! My mom is one of my favorite people too!

  3. andhari February 24, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    I luhurve Natalie Portman too!

  4. Liz February 24, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Trivia: DeNiro is actually only 1/4 Italian and 1/4 Irish. Maybe you gravitate toward Irish male celebs? :)

  5. Habbala February 24, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Natalie Portman, but I am leaning towards Kate Winslet more and more. But my boyfriend is ALL about Natalie Portman– and not just because she’s beautiful, but because she actually seems nice.

  6. carina February 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    I love how you broke it down into categories! I had a hard time choosing myself, so went for the for the moment approach. lol.. how lucky you are that you and your mum are close, I wish I was closer with my mum. We just don’t have that kind of relationship. My dad to is one of my favorite people – Don’t you just love people who will be there for you no matter what?

  7. oh February 24, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    oh. my. lovely. hugs, Darling

Leave a Reply

