I don’t understand…

25 Feb

… why drivers get so annoyed at pedestrian crosswalks and speed off fast and furiuos once the pedestrian has crossed. Were those extra two seconds of waiting really that much of an inconvenience?

… why corporate America insists on working five days a week; I am pretty sure we’d all be more productive and happy if we had four day work weeks.

… why some parents think it’s acceptable to discipline their children in Wal-Mart. When I see parents hitting their children it takes all of my energy to NOT march up to them and give them a piece of my mind.

… why I find the ShamWow! infomercials so hilarious.

… my current book obsession. I am purchasing them faster than I can read them. My stack of books to read has grown to at least 12!

… why Jack feels the need to snatch other dogs “business” on our walks. The vet doesn’t have an answer either.

… why I am so drawn to Mexican food. It’s bordering on an unhealthy obsession.

… the unsettled feeling I get in my stomach at bedtime if the closet doors aren’t closed and the kitchen isn’t clean.

… why somedays it seems a challenge to find “Grace in Small Things,” when I know I’m a very blessed and fortunate person.

… why I can’t ever show up to a party or dinner empty-handed. It just feels so unnatural but sometimes the pressure to come up with something “Dazzling,” is stressful.

… why I can’t seem to fall asleep before 11pm no matter how exhausted I am.

… that no matter how hard I work at the gym I don’t feel nearly as skinny as I want to be. This only makes me work harder!

… why high school classmates “friend” you on Facebook even if they never spoke to you or gave you the time of day in high school. Is the popularity contest still going on?

… why I am addicted to cheese.

What don’t you understand today?

11 Responses to “I don’t understand…”

  1. Kyla Bea February 25, 2009 at 8:00 am #

    People like that friend you on facebook because they’re trying to internet stalk you! Hands down.

    And I think you’re addicted to cheese because it is the essence of all that is good in the world. But that’s just a hunch.

  2. Jacqueline from MissMusing February 25, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    I can’t resist cheese either.

    Watching parents discipline their children in public makes me very uncomfortable sometimes. I saw a mother being very physical with her child in the store the other day, and it frightened me to think of what she did at home since she was willing to be so violent in public.

  3. Jennifer February 25, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    I have that same feeling if my house is a mess at bedtime. My husband doesn’t understand it, but I fold laundry and put dishes in the dishwasher at 11 at night! Just so I can feel peace when I go to bed!

  4. eschete February 25, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    why Jack feels the need to snatch other dogs “business” on our walks. The vet doesn’t have an answer either……my dog does the same thing….I take it Jack is your dog right?

    oh and I LOVE CHEESE

  5. Little Miss Obsessive February 25, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Ah, my friends and I alwaysss talk about how the work week should just be FOUR days! I’m usually too tired to want to party on Friday so instead I go out Saturday but then I feel like I don’t get to recover before it’s Monday. That’s why we need Mondays off always.

    I also have an unhealthy addiction to mexican food..

    I also keep buying books even though I have a stack of like 10 to read..

    I also love cheese! My friend’s parents use to call me a mouse when I was younger lol

    Further proof we were meant to be friends :)

  6. Akirah February 25, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    I don’t understand astrophysics.

    And I REALLY don’t understand why the computers in the lab I was conducting my training in this morning kept disobeying me. Especially if I’ve already given the technical requirements to the IT person…TWICE.

  7. Lauren February 25, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Ahhh. Just reading the words ‘cheese and Mexican’ make my mouth water even though I just ate lunch!

    I would love to work a 4 day week. My mom works 4 days a week and can get so much more done!

  8. Amber February 25, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    Hahaha, totally feel you on the kitchen thing, which I blogged about a few weeks ago.

    I also agree with the whole facebook phenomenon, people I NEVER even talked to in high school befriend me but then when I go home for the weekend or holidays and see them around town they act like they don’t even know me. Weird…

    Cheese is amazing. I gave it up for 6 months and lost 20 pounds, it’s not the ONLY thing I gave up, I just used to eat an unhealthy amount of it. Now I’ve gradually added it back into my diet. A little feta cheese makes a salad SO much better!

  9. Kelly February 25, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    I am pretty sure you just summed up everything I don’t understand, and it was awesome because I didn’t have to do anything. I mean, eerily similar to what I would have said! The FB thing annoys me to no end ha-ha. Have a happy Wednesday!!

  10. butterflycharlie February 25, 2009 at 5:14 pm #

    I don’t understand what a ShamWow! informercial is, which is a shame really, because it sounds like something i too would find hilarious! I’ll have to google it…

  11. TDH February 26, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    I don’t understand why people feel the need to repeatedly insert the word “actually” into a statement to try and increase its validity.
    It’s like they think that I think they are lying to me and they have to convince me.
    Actually, they don’t need to.

Leave a Reply

