This is… My Home

3 Mar

As I mentioned last week, I joined Carina’s Tuesday Meme which will always start off with “This is…”.

This is my home

I live in the StL which is more or less smackdab in the middle of the States.

StL is known for: toasted ravioli, Ted Drewe’s Frozen Custard, St. Louis Cardinals, St. Louis Rams who had a really terrible season, St.Louis Blues who have their fair share of ups and downs, The Arch: Gateway to the MidWest, Mississippi River which enjoys flooding on occasion, the nation’s highest crime rate, a town full of good food, former home of Anheuser-Busch headquarters, friendly faces, one of the best zoos in the nation and Forest Park which is bigger than Central Park in New York City (true story!).  

Anyone who is new to StL needs to know that the most popular question is “Where did you go to high school?” Don’t ask me why but everyone here likes to make judgments about you depending on where you went to high school, as if that can tell so much about a person.

StL has been my home since 1993; I’ve lived in my parents house and I’m currently on my third apartment. In the spirit of the theme this week, here are some of my favorite parts of my home:

img_3211
My red couch, where I spend the bulk of  my time when I’m home, if I’m not in the kitchen. The only frustrating part about this room is that two of the walls are straight concrete so hanging pictures is not an option. Fortunately there are stained glass windows above the couch that add some zest and of course I have lots of paintings on the other walls.

img_32132
The dining area of my kitchen, the heart of any house I suppose. I love, love, love the fact that my kitchen is red, my dining room table courtesy of Darling and the Boss, and the amount of space I have. (Not pictured: fancy old stove/oven, fridge which doubles as my liquor cabinet, my expansive countertops and lots of cabinet/storage space.)

img_3215

Salt & Pepper Shakers. The Boss gave them to me for Christmas and they are a permanent fixture on my dining room table. From the Museum of Modern Art, these shakers hug each other when they aren’t in use. Irish laughs at me because they don’t have any salt or pepper in them at this time. (Okay, so I admit it’s rather silly, but I don’t want to ruin them and get them all gunky.)

img_3225

My ever-growing stack of books that I must read/want to read/should read. I need an additional bookshelf as the one I currently have is completely packed.

img_32242

And no home would be complete without a super relaxing, constantly inviting bed.

Other things in my bedroom which for whatever reason don’t picture super-well: lots of black and white photos of New York City, photos of love from Darling, my overflowing bookshelf, Jack’s dog toy basket, mahogany dresser, my Steven-Tyler inspired lamp (it has several feather boas and scarves draped over it) and the entrance to my sunroom.

I can’t forget other great parts of my home: Jack, Irish, who are both very permanent fixtures in my home, my fridge which is always stocked with organic milk, SlimFast, cheese, bread and a variety of other quick-fix meals, my pantry which is ready to with a variety of baking needs and utensils, my closet which is full of clothes though lately I feel like there aren’t any good ones to pick from, my scrapbooks, my bookshelf full of movies and lots of warm, cozy places to curl up, watch a movie, sip some wine, and read books/blogs.

What’s the favorite part of your home?

21 Responses to “This is… My Home”

  1. mandy March 3, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    I love my home! My favorite part of the house is probably my bedroom which has lots of bright colors and a comfy chair where I love to read. My second favorite part of the house – the kitchen with my KichenAid!

    We have similar reading tastes!

  2. Alesia March 3, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    Your place is so neat! My favorite place in my home is the back yard in summer. Does that count?

  3. Liz March 3, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    I’ve been meaning to take pictures of my house and post them. Figured it would motivate me to clean b/c I won’t take pictures of it when it’s dirty.

    This has been on my list since October. Hm. Maybe it isn’t enough motivation after all.

  4. Jacqueline from MissMusing March 3, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    What great pictures! Thanks for sharing :) I love the red walls and all the small decorative accents that you’ve added to your place.

    I’ve been debating whether or not to share pictures of my home. I do it casually by adding a picture or two in some of my posts, but it still feels too intrusive for me. Perhaps I’ll reconsider.

  5. Gigi March 3, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    Your place is super cute!!! And I heart St. Louis. Especially Forest Park and Trader Joe’s (we don’t have one around here!)

  6. Amber March 3, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    Your place is SO colourful! I love it!!!! Those salt and pepper shakers are too cute.

    I spend the most time in my spare room because that’s where I have my homework space set up but I don’t really like that room. My favourite part of our apartment would have to be the dining room because I ADORE the dining room table my dad got me for my birthday or our bedroom! Our place is mostly decorated in browns and beiges though, I seriously LOVE all the colour at your place!

  7. andhari March 3, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    I love itttt, I love the paint and everything looks so cozy!!:)

  8. Kimberly March 3, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    I love your bedspread! My favorite place is curled up on the sofa watching a movie.

  9. SoMi's Nilsa March 3, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    Awww, St. Louis. I hold you near and dear to my heart. And that HS thing is SO TRUE. Since I didn’t go to HS in StL, I get so annoyed when people ask. I usually respond with, I went to college in North Carolina. =) My favorite room in our condo is becoming our kitchen. I’ve never before had an eat-in kitchen … ours is the perfect space.

  10. lucklys March 3, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    you have a sunroom!!? i want one!!

    looove your kitchen though, that colour is really gorgeous :)

  11. carina March 3, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    I love the red kitchen and the red coach! I love when a color as bold as red works! It’s hot!!

  12. carina March 3, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    I have done mind yet, it will be up Thuesday morning, but do you wnat to be hostess next week? Pick anything you like. It would be awesome if you would do a hostess post, then people could find out the theme directly from the source. Just remeber to link to me so people know where to join. lol.. if you don’t want to be hostess, let me know – no problemo! :O)

  13. the girl in stiletto March 3, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    i love the wall paint! such a nice color & calming. & the books stack. lovesit! =D

  14. amber March 3, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Oooh, I like the polka-dot bedding!
    I love all the bright colors, makes it feel so happy :o)

  15. Seeker March 3, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    love your home…nice, bright and homey….thanks for sharing. i dropped in from “The Blogette”. Read some of your posts and will be following….

  16. Shoshanah March 3, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    Toasted Raviloi? That sounds amazing. Does it live up to its name?

    Are those sheet from Target? I think my friend had the same one.

    And third, not that you need more books to read but I got your responce and you really should read the sisterhood books. I think I liked them more than the movie. The moive pretty much ended the way the LAST book ended. SO if they do have a third one it wouldn’t neccessarily be based on any of the books.

  17. Lauren March 3, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    Great place! I like the colors and your bedspread! And I have those salt and pepper shakers too – love them.

  18. Kelly March 3, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    I love your couch! I have a BRIGHT pink couch. At first I was afraid it would be too much, but since I couldn’t add color to the walls it was in my furniture. You’ll be happy to know that I didn’t throw out the cupcakes – I gave them, and the co-worker didn’t say anything about it to me at work. (She had to leave early). In the end I was glad I didn’t just chunk them. :]

    Have a happy Wednesday! 1/2 of the work week is over!!

  19. SSG March 4, 2009 at 4:40 am #

    ah Nora, finally getting round to catching up with your blog. Just want to say thanks for the emails (which i haven;t got round to replying to yet, grrrr) and also that i ADORE your house. love the sofa, love the warm kitchen coloured like a heart, love the bed linen and the black and white pictures. Whats StL like? a good place? You have great style lady! Just how I want my house to be one day!

  20. ria March 4, 2009 at 1:00 pm #

    oh i like this idea. your rooms look nice and tidy, i wish my house was like that!

  21. E.P. March 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I’m loving your kitchen and the color of the walls! That is so fun. And no home is a home without a comfy bed.

Leave a Reply

