GiST, 18/365 & Irish Saves the Day

4 Mar

1. 60 degree weather.

2. Irish, who knows how to do handyman stuff I’ve never had to deal with.

3. A shower that has a clean drain and no longer backs up thanks to #2.

4. The smell of fresh baked cookies.

5. A phone call from a friend of Darling’s, calling to say hi and catch-up “because it’s been awhile.”

********************
Irish Saves the Day

Post-workout, post-dinner and clean-up, I decided it was finally time to wash the gym off my body. As of late my shower has been a tad slow to drain despite a whole bottle of Drain-O so I thought perhaps that the either a) this is an old apartment building so maybe the plumbing needs some work, b) the tub stopper appears to be stuck halfway closed at all times even though I tried to pull it off or c) there was a huge, huge clog that needed something more than Drain-O.

Warning, this section is kind of disgusting. Irish screwed the tub-stopper (is there a technical word for this?) off in less than 30 seconds and then he proceeded to pull out mass amounts of gunky, gunky hair, soap scum and etc. (Not all of the hair was mine. It’s safe to say it was probably the hair of the last two residents that lived here. Gross, I know.) He ran the water and even still the tub started to fill at an alarmingly rapid rate.

Next step: Irish goes to Home Depot for a plunger and super-duper drain unclogger gel. He came back with drain unclogger that is so toxic it comes in its own sealed plastic bag. It warns not to get any of the liquid gel on you as it could dissolve your skin. The purpose of this stuff? Hair and Grease remover, essentially burning the tissue it comes into contact with.

Irish plunges, pours the gel down the drain and 20 minutes later, voila! A brand new shower/bath and bathroom sink that allows water to flow freely without standing water.

I suppose I could have done all of that myself but the thing that’s awesome about Irish is he knew exactly what he needed to get the job done, went and grabbed it and then miraculously the problem was solved.

If I had done this myself it would have involved two phone calls to The Boss, consulting a member of the Home Depot team and potentially calling my brother or someone else, just to make sure I was doing everything correctly.

Irish is my knight in shining armor in so many ways, plumber included.

11 Responses to “GiST, 18/365 & Irish Saves the Day”

  1. Shoshanah March 4, 2009 at 11:34 pm #

    I wouldn’t have been able to do that all on my own either.

  2. Amber March 4, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    Wow! He’s a trooper. My bathroom sink has been plugged so I poured a bottle of draino down it today, it seems to have done the trick so far!

  3. sleepyjane March 5, 2009 at 2:03 am #

    Go Irish! Can..eww. lol My hair is think so I always lose some when I take a bath and wash my hair. And I really gross myself out when I have to clean it out – and it’s my own hair! lol

  4. lucklys March 5, 2009 at 7:07 am #

    ewww! i can’t stand cleaning out drains, or really cleaning the bathroom. i don’t know why, but when my hair is not attached to my head, and is just laying in a wet pile after a shower, i can’t bring myself to pick it up without thoughts of gagging. isn’t it awesome to have guys who will do this for us? j has no problem getting down and dirty with the stuff in the drains.

    we’ve gone through so much drano since i moved in…haha

  5. mandy March 5, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    I’ve had to deal with that, thankfully my brother is usually the one to take care of it. UGh.

    But a 60 degree day would completely make up for it! It was 25 this morning and I didnt wear a coat it felt almost Spring like.

  6. Gigi March 5, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    A guy who can fix things? Awesome!!! I would’ve had to call my dad for that!

  7. Jacqueline from MissMusing March 5, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    Men who can fix things are worth their weight in gold :) I had a similar problem with my sink.

  8. Jamie March 5, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    I don’t know where you are, but here in Iowa, of all places, it’s supposed to be nearly 70 degrees–this makes me unbelievably happy.

    And yes, boys as plumbers–the best! :)

  9. ria March 5, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    i’ve forgotten what 60 degree days are like lol

  10. andhari March 5, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    He’s like a superhero.

    I want guys who could fix things for me while at the same time a good cook :P asking too much, yes?:P

  11. Kelly March 5, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    The only downfalls to moving away from home: getting sick, bugs, missing family, and when things break. haha!

Leave a Reply

