“I like my money right where I can see it: hanging in my closet…”

4 Mar

Borrowed this from Fab Brunette.

Name the item of clothing that has been with you the longest:
An olive green pair of pants that I’ve had for five or six years. Purchased at the Gap. I feel super skinny when I wear them. I also have a pair of jeans that I’ve owned since sophomore year in high school. They are way too big on me now which is a great feeling. I wear them when I’m moving/painting/doing chores that are dirty.

Other than jeans, what’s an article of clothing that you can’t live without?
An endless supply of tank tops. All colors. I know, super boring.

 

What was the last item of clothing you bought?
A few awesome tops from Banana Republic; flowy, chic, sexy and professional all at the same time.

 

Describe your perfect winter & summer footwear:
In winter I love knee-high boots allowing me to wear my skirts year-round.
Summer time I’m a classic flip-flop girl or strappy sandals with a slight heel.

And what’s a brand you wouldn’t recommend?
Most brands from Kohl’s. They are good for a few wears but after you wash them they lose their shape, color and are generally dull.

What’s the ugliest trend of all time?
Tight-rolled jeans.

And the best?
Little Black Dress.

What was your biggest fashion faux-pas?
Oh, I’m sure there have been many. Big, baggy clothes in middle school. Hipster jeans with midriff tops; even though I have the midriff for that style it’s just totally not classy.

What colors predominate in your wardrobe?
Black. Blue. Dark purple.

What are your vintage shopping strategies?
I don’t even bother. I try and get fed up, can’t find a thing and leave the store frustrated.

What’s the most insane piece of clothing that you have ever owned?
Several of my tops are a little random and not my normal style, but I love them. I also have this great top that has Jean Harlow’s silohuette on it. It gets lots of compliments, looks great and now that I thinkn about it, I’ve had it since high school so by far the oldest piece of clothing in my wardrobe.

If you could describe the majority of the clothes you own in one word, what would it be?
Professional chic. I also dabble in the sexy for date nights, the practical for gym, and random for bachelorette parties, bridal showers and girls’ nights out.

What’s one piece of clothing you can’t live without?

8 Responses to ““I like my money right where I can see it: hanging in my closet…””

  1. oh March 4, 2009 at 7:23 am #

    Can’t live without my black jacket. Others probably wish that I could live without it! I tend to think it goes with more than half my wardrobe, year round. But it’s well cut, classic and just the right length.
    I can’t live without my rolling stones sweats either, but those are for the homefront only.

  2. Jacqueline from MissMusing March 4, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    I can’t think of a particular item that I can’t live without, but I have an unhealthy obsession with summer dresses.

  3. Fab Brunette March 4, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    I seriously can’t live without my crazy sexy dresses. Lol, great meme.

  4. Amber March 4, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Awesome survey, I’ve been meaning to do a post about my clothes because I LOVE them all so much!

    It’s so hard to pick one piece of clothing I couldn’t live without so I’d have to go with my Ugg boots. I have the black, cardy Uggs and I LOVE them. Since I’m still a student I don’t really have to look too professional so my Uggs are perfect for days when I’m rushing out the door or to the gym or whatever! I wear them almost everyday!

  5. Liz March 4, 2009 at 9:47 am #

    I have a favorite pair of jeans I cannot live without. And sneakers. I feel most comfortable in my jeans, black adidas sneakers and a black t-shirt. Boring, but I like it.

    Also not to be overlooked: a really good bra.

    But my favorite outfit has to be my “little black dress.” It’s halter syle and knee-length. I go from boring to sexy in 2 minutes flat!

  6. Ben March 4, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    I feel like I should say the $300 blue leather Hugo Boss belt that I’m wearing right now but considering how frivolous it actually is and how ridiculous I feel for spending that much money on it…I’m going to have to go with no.

  7. andhari March 4, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    oh wow so true. gotta love pretty lbd’s!!!

  8. AuburnKat March 4, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    I loved this list! I think I might just have to post it!

Leave a Reply

