Break Time

6 Mar

After Kyla Bea took her blog down for many valid, excellent reasons and after g-chatting with her about it, it got me thinking: how much time do I spend on the internet? How much time do I really need to spend on the internet? Answer #1: TOO MUCH. Answer #2: Maybe an hour a day?

Between my Blackberry which is chock full of constantly-keep-in-touch-with-people applications, my full Google Reader, Twitter, GMail and the fact that my fabulous boyfriend is a bit of a geek and is on his computer, well, 90% of the time, I have a hard time disconnecting. I know several of my other blog friends have posted about this phenomenon in the last few weeks all of us realizing we need to live our “Real Lives,” just as much as virtual ones.

I find myself reading blogs and commenting before I go to sleep because I want to continue to be a good blog friend, a good commenter and keep the networking going. I find that if my Google Reader is full I get stressed out. Marking “all as read,” makes me feel awful, so I tend to tackle my reader in groups of 10 blogs at a time.

I started disconnecting myself in giving up Facebook for Lent. Let me tell you this: withdrawal is a bitch. Yeah, I was a Facebook Addict and I’m not afraid to say it. I’m at my computer at least 75% of every workday so checking Facebook was as habitual to me as it is for me to drink insane amounts of water each day. Not good.

The first three days? I was itching to check Facebook. But I didn’t. I made it through the first five days and I didn’t even check it last Sunday even though I told myself I could. It feels damn good to not be addicted to status updates, who is dating (or not dating) who, and feeling upset or annoyed if people don’t comment back after I leave them my usual perky, upbeat comments. If I’m meant to know something, I’ll find out somehow, maybe by (gasp!) people taking the time to call me or email me. And as for my communication with my friends? I’ve been a better at making phone calls, sending them greeting cards and etc, just to reach out. I can be so old-fashioned sometimes.

LIBERATING.

The last two nights, I’ve ignored my Google Reader. Oh, I’m sure the posts are piling up with people needing advice, encouragement, support, laughter, etc etc. And I promise I’m there for you!  But I can’t explain how great it is to not fall asleep with my laptop on my lap while trying to catch up, how nice it is to convince Irish to put down his laptop and talk to me about his day or simply cuddle while reading.

So, while I’m not giving up my blog, my blog friends (I’d be insane to do that!) and my reading/commenting time, I’ll be on hiatus for a few days. I need to disconnect from the computer and reconnect with the outdoors, my apartment, my camera, and the tangible things in my life.

I also plan to have at least one night a week where I turn my Crackberry completely off. I know, it sounds crazy, but the quiet and not being easily accessible is important.

I’ll be back in full force in no time.

And while I’m on a blogger vacay, feel free to leave me a a burning question you want me to answer about anything and everything. I promise I’ll answer when I return.

Hugs, Happy Friday, and Blog Love to all of you,

~ Nora

for-wordpress

22 Responses to “Break Time”

  1. lucklys March 6, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    you are a strong woman, and i completely understand where you are coming from. when j gets home from work, we put all the computers and phones and video games away and snuggle while watching a movie and eating dinner or a snack. sometimes we read together, or to each other, and other times we write or paint or do puzzles while listening to music. it’s so much fun and definitely liberating.

    have a good vacation, make the most of it :)

  2. Alesia March 6, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Go have a nice mental spa break. I’ve been thinking about doing this, too.

  3. Akirah March 6, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    Good for you! I’m inspired. Perhaps I should cut back too.

  4. Gigi March 6, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    I completely understand! And often feel the same way. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Tabitha March 6, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    This is a great thing to do! I totally know that overwhelming feeling of realizing how many blog posts are in your Reader, awaiting your attention, on top of a zillion other things pulling you in every direction on the interwebs. I hope you always feel free to take whatever time away that you need, because as much as your blogging friends love your blog and might miss it, YOUR LIFE takes priority.

    P.S. Those flowers in your GiST post below are sooo pretty! Good job Irish!

  6. Amber March 6, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    First, you look stunning in that photo! Beautiful dress.

    I never blog on the weekends, Mon-Fri I log onto my computer first thing in the morning because I have to for school related things and that’s when I blog. I find blogging as a very relaxing outlet for me. Sometimes it can get overwhelming having so many blogs to read. At the same time, it’s a really nice break during my day. I do homework for a couple hours and then take a break and read a few blogs. I also pride myself in being a constant commentor, so if I read a blog I’ll usually also comment on it!

    On the weekends I very rarely check blogs or comment on them because I like to devote my weekends to other things, friends and family things! Anyways, I think that if blogging is starting to overwhelm you then you should most definitely take a hiatus from it and return to the simpler things in life :-) Good for you!

    PS: I miss Kyla Bea’s blog!

  7. caterpillar85 March 6, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    oh i love your outlook on all of this & the pretty picture :) i too like the idea of having one evening a week dedicated to turning off the crackberry! I might have to take your advice on that! enjoy your weekend!

  8. Kali March 6, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    I totally know what you mean about having a full reader! Mine is at 104 unread right now and I feel so overwhelmed.

  9. Larissa March 6, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    I’m happy for you…its nice to take a step back and relax for once. enjoy life. I think we may have been on the same wavelengths this week- I totally havent been on in days- all week actually. and i love it…not to say i dont miss my blog friends *hugs* but sometimes I need a break from it all.

    I think this statement is adorable: “how nice it is to convince Irish to put down his laptop and talk to me about his day or simply cuddle while reading.”
    -so I hope you did a ton of cuddling

    I hope to respond to emails this weekend- so when I do you’ll hear from me. Have a wonderful weekend dear and you are a very pretty person from your photo.

  10. mandy March 6, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    I think this is a wonderful idea. I have cut way back on my interneting, cut down on my google reader, and dont feel the need to check it as soon as I get home. Its ok to disconnect. And you’re right. Incredibly liberating.

  11. andhari March 6, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    Kyla took her blog down? What’s happening?:(

    Have a good break, girl. I hope you get that much needed quality time without internet and distractions. We’ll be here when you get back.

  12. Fab Brunette March 6, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    OMG, this post was funny because I’m going through the same thing… I deleted a lot of old people on Facebook – ppl I haven’t talked to in a year or two, all from high school. So that was weird cutting down my list.

    And the same, I felt like I was wasting so much time on google reader, checking my mail (which i do on my iphone too) and blogging blogging blogging.

    well I got sick a couple of days ago and haven’t done much on the computer at all. hoorah! good luck!

  13. oh March 7, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    First of all, you gotta show me how to use my Google reader (pathetic, I know) and secondly, that dress is darling! love it.

  14. AuburnKat March 7, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    I know exactly what you are saying. I’ve cut back on the amount of time that I blog and read blogs. I used to have to have my googlereader be at 0 every night, but I just don’t stress about it anymore. When I have free time I will get around to reading everything…

  15. carina March 8, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    What a great photo of you! Love the dress!

    Thanks for choosing such a great theme for “this is”. I am counting on some great stories will be posted on Thuesday on that topic! If you could e-mail me a photo on ablogette@yahoo.com, I’ll put it in the hostess box :o)

  16. SSG March 9, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    hey Nora, you should totally not feel guilty about taking time out, you put a lot of pressure on yourself and I can recognise it cos I do a lot of it to myself too. But sometimes you gotta realise other people and places need your time more, and you cant be everything for everyone. And it’s liberating, in some ways, deciding not to be perfect at everything. So you don’t comment on someone’s blog, you’re a slack blogger, but at least you’re there for irish and your good friends. Your good friends know who you are and that’s what counts. I’d rather here a nice word from you once a month than feel you felt you had to comment! So you go girl, chill out and enjoy time without any pressure to live up to your expectations! You know sometimes you remind me of me so much it’s funny!

  17. uberfrau March 10, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Ironically, I am commenting with support of your endeavor when I should really go to sleep

  18. Kyla Roma March 10, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    Pfft. That Kyla Bea girl was nuts and you’re nuts for listening to her! lol Hi Nora!! = )

    I think it’s about balance, and the main thing that I noticed was that I was losing the ability to be alone. If I was on the bus, walking the dogs, at home, I was always thinking about blogging to the point that I was fixated on it and couldn’t just read a book or hang with the puppies. I need to be able to have balance to be happy.

    For me that meant not worrying about online stalkers, and not being fixated on one part of my life all the time. Your readers will be there for you when you do post, and being able to pick it up and not have it consume you is a very positive thing. And making 10 or 15 meaningful comments rather than 75 or 80 throw away one liners does go much farther for community building than you would think.

    Now if you can send me the pills you used to get yourself off facebook that would be great.

  19. E.P. March 10, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    It’s nice to disconnect every once in a while, and it is liberating to realize that you don’t need technology to be happy or otherwise. I hope you’re enjoying your little hiatus, and we’ll all be around whenever you come back!

  20. Thomas March 11, 2009 at 2:27 am #

    Hurry back. I was just getting into your blog.

  21. carina March 11, 2009 at 7:43 am #

    I get it! The time infront of the computer can ble time consuming. Personally, I am going thorugh a hard time at the moment and I am constantly feeling guilty for not reading and commenting as I used to.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting the GiST of things « Walking through the Rain - March 11, 2009

    […] through the Rain A Happy Girl’s Blog « Break Time Getting the GiST of things March 11, 2009 Since Saturday, ironically after I decided I […]

Leave a Reply

