Getting the GiST of things

11 Mar

Since Saturday, ironically after I decided I needed a break from blogging, it seems that every time I turned around, the universe was flipping me off as if to say, “not so fast, little lady, you’ve got to deal with this. And this. And this. AND THIS!” **None of which were things I wanted to deal with, and so today, I need to post about the GiST in my day. Clearly I can’t be the only person in the entire world having a rough day… I know this! And so, I just gotta GiST, as usual in no particular order!

1. Winning  the Blogger Friend Award from Mandy at Knowing the Difference. Seriously, Mandy, you made my day. I was fortunate enough to be given Mandy as my Blog Valentine for the secret project back in February and I’m glad that I did! Her blog cracks me up, makes think, inspires me and she’s become another great friend.

2. Along the same lines, I won the 20 Something Biggest Loser Challenge Week! I rarely win anything in a random drawing type contest, so that’s pretty awesome. Thanks to Sarah & Rachel for putting 20 Something Biggest Loser together. It’s pushed me more than I thought it would which is sometimes all we need to keep our momentum going, right?

3. Getting my house spic-and-span clean last night. Rather than spend my night in front of the computer reading, I took the time to get in all the nooks, crannies and crevices. It’s a pretty awesome feeling.

4. Having to up my weight resistance at the gym. Subsequently realizing my workouts are going to take longer now since I’m no longer sore after my regular routine.

5. Irish coming over to see me after a long day at work, an even longer night at a networking event, making me smile and hugging me after my rough couple of days.

6. Darling, for being the best mother in the world. Her birthday is coming soon so I’m feeling a nostalgic post on the horizon.

7. Waking up to a cold yet sunny Wednesday morning… a sign that the week is half over.

8. Receiving tremendous support from all of my blog friends during my “break time,” and teaching myself that I can be more casual about posting.

9. Watching Step Up 2: The Streets. I love cheesy, teen-dancing type movies.

10. My younger brother stopped by on Sunday evening to drop off a present for me. He hugged me and kissed my forehead when he left, which is a rarity.

11. Having a super-awesome blog friend-turned-real life-friend who you can find here.

12. Taking the plunge (no, not that one!) and signing up for several grad school classes this summer. I think a countdown to graduation is in order.

**(Since I’ve had a few days to internalize, digest and deal with the ridiculous events of the last few days, I’m sure I’ll put together a funny post about all of it).

14 Responses to “Getting the GiST of things”

  1. Amber March 11, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Glad that you’re back!

    Great job on the gym going, you’re so inspiring. You should do a detailed post on what you do for a workout?? I love reading about what other people’s workout routines are!

    There is no feeling in the world that compares with sitting in a spotlessly clean house. It’s quite possibly my favourite thing ever! Haha

  2. mandy March 11, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    You are am amazing friend and talented blogger. I’m glad that our paths have crossed. I always enjoy your Grace in Small Things post, its such a nice reminder to step back and remember how blessed we truly are.

  3. E.P. March 11, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Good for you! These all sound lovely!

  4. E.P. March 11, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Also, what grad school classes are you taking this summer?

  5. Kelly March 11, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    Step Up 2 is amazing. …so cheesy, and the main character is so attractive. You know the part where the girl goes “I like yo teef” and the guy with the teeth goes “Thank you I like your accent” and she’s all “what accent?” and he’s like “your accent, the accent that you have…” kills me every time. It is so stupid but I laugh every time.

  6. andhari March 11, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    LOL did you twitted about it a few days ago? Step Up 2? I love it.

  7. anne March 11, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Yeah !! You are back…. hope you enjoyed your break and glad you are back online.

  8. lucklys March 11, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    i’ve been taking a break from twitter and from my reader. it’s going to kick me in the butt after a few more days, but it’s been so worth it to not have to worry about rushing through blogs to make sure i clear my number down to zero.

    congrats on the 20sbbl win :) and on your work at the gym! that’s really great!

  9. caterpillar85 March 12, 2009 at 7:13 am #

    awesome job at the gym :) i’ve been pumping it extra hard this week myself…it truly does pay off & those endorphines are a wonderful feeling.

    yay for you taking the plunge into graduate school!

    i’m also glad the week is half way over :) hope you are doing well hun!

  10. Liz March 12, 2009 at 7:16 am #

    I made the GiST list! Woot!

    And oh do I know the good feelings that come with having clean place. Last night I made my husband run upstairs and “LOOK HOW CLEAN THE SHOWER IS!” He humored me by asking if I painted it white since it was so clean. :)

  11. Alesia March 12, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    A kiss on the forehead is one of my favorite things.

  12. Jacqueline from MissMusing March 12, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Getting the house nice and clean is always a great feeling. I actually don’t mind cleaning once I start, but getting myself to start is usually my biggest hangup.

  13. Larissa March 12, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    Glad to have you back! I’m sorry the break wasn’t as great as you’d wanted. Trust me you’re not the only one having a rough day- seems to be going around these days

    *Yay for both of your awards.
    *And Yay for wonderful boyfriends. I’m jealous. :)
    *Your mother blogs too?! I love it! That’s awesome.
    *I hate it when its so incredibly beautiful outside but soooo cold. Its definitely a tease.
    *I’m so happy for you…I admit there are a couple blog friends I would love to someday meet…almost feels like I’ve known them all my life…too bad theyre on the east coast. Bleh.
    **(Since I’ve had a few days to internalize, digest and deal with the ridiculous events of the last few days, I’m sure I’ll put together a funny post about all of it).
    –yes, I will definitely be wanting to hear what you’ve been up to! Have a wonderful day dear!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Howl at the Moon « Walking through the Rain - March 13, 2009

    […] I briefly alluded to the ridiculousness in my life that started after my blogging hiatus which could perhaps be attributed to the Blogging Gods being furious with my absence, though I doubt it. Here’s a rundown, with as much huor as is possible: […]

Leave a Reply

