Yes, she just said THAT.

12 Mar

(photo courtesy of Photobucket)

You know how you have those friends that are life friends? The ones that accept you for you, don’t judge, don’t question your actions, and certainly don’t whine and moan when you are busy but instead embrace you with open arms when you return? I’m fortunate to have several of those life-type friends. I’ve known five of them since 1997 which is  a heck of a long time as far as I’m concerned.

We’ve endured miles of separation, medical school admissions and boards, break-ups, hook-ups, engagements, weddings (theirs, obviously), new houses, new dogs, family drama, tragedy, stress, and everything else that goes along with a friendship that has endured over many years. The girls have stuck by me through thick and thin, the men in the group have offered to beat up exes, stand-in as dates, help me move and all the other big-brother type stuff.

The best thing about my life friends is that they insist on getting together every Wednesday, without fail. I confess I haven’t been frequenting the events as much lately (partially due to my gym dedication, a bit because I’m watching what I spend more than usual, and some nights I need to just chill out) but when I do go, I have the. best. time.

Last night for example, we were all gathering at a restaurant/bar by Irish’s house for beer from around-the-world, trivia, and to catch up. Turns out nothing was super new and ironically the group turns to Irish and I for the latest and greatest in the dating world (this group is made up of three married couples, myself, Irish and then the mother of two of the boys in the group). We had nothing exciting to tell them.

S, my best friend in the group, is a doctor, enduring her second year of residency and has started planning for the year 2010. In case you didn’t know, doctors are required to request vacation time one year in advance. How’s that for some serious planning?

She briefly mentioned that she’s planning when she hopes to start trying for a baby, talked about her upcoming trip to India and abruptly turns to Irish and says, “HEY! If you are planning on proposing to Nora anytime soon, you’ve got to tell me by March 20th. You don’t have to do it by then, I just need to know so I can plan for time off for the showers, wedding and etc. So let me know, would ya? That would be great. By March 20th. Thanks,” and just like that she goes back to her normal conversation.

If I had a picture of how surprised and bright red Irish was during this conversation I would post it. Hilarious, though I admit I wasn’t shocked. S is bold, she’s not afraid to say it, but I don’t think Irish was entirely prepared, even though I warned him she may say something like that. (Last week she called to ask me if I’m engaged yet. No, I say. You’ll know if I am!) That’s S for you.

Fast forward to a few more beers and about 15 trivia questions in and the DJ asks “What does a leprachaun make?”  (Correct Answer: Shoes). I still have no idea how we  got from shoes to Shalalys to the idea that a shalaly is a mini-vibrator to  leprachauns manufacturing the “Wee Little Vibrator.” I was near tears from laughing so darn hard.

I’m not sure if Irish will hang out with us again anytime soon, but laughing with life friends is one of my favorite things to do. They are crazy, wacky, and lovable and they are my life friends.

15 Responses to “Yes, she just said THAT.”

  1. andhari March 12, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    I wish me and my bestfriends will continue to be like that. I love your life! Awesome man, awesome friends :)

  2. Amber March 12, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    I love getting together with my old friends! They’re the ones that know me the best and I always have SO much fun with them. The time flies by!

    That’s HILARIOUS about your friend, OMG!! I have a friend who’s very up front and forward like that, she’s hilarious!

  3. caterpillar85 March 12, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    this made me smile and so thankful for my “life friends” thank you for sharing!

  4. Liz March 12, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Too funny! I wonder if he’ll contact her by March 20? That’s next Friday.

  5. lucklys March 12, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    haha, that’s awesome :) i wish i had good friends like that. sadly, all of the girls i went to high school with, and started college with, were catty, so i mostly just hung out with the guys. now that i’m in new york, i’m completely friendless, and j’s friends don’t really drink or go out much, and they’re all really philosophical. don’t get me wrong, they’re nice people, but boring. a little. don’t tell j i said that.

    your friends sound great, so i’ll just live vicariously through you, since you’re my favorite person on here :)

  6. sugardaddydating March 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Great life… stick to your friends as they’ve proven to you how much they care, and they’ve been together with you…

    P.S. I have to call my friends now;)

  7. Nina March 12, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    That is hilarious!

  8. Akirah March 12, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    Hahah! That’s funny, because I’m totally that girl. Well, I probably wouldn’t have asked Irish that in front of everyone, but I definitely have bugged friends, weekly, asking them if they are engaged yet.

  9. SoMi's Nilsa March 12, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    So, I just came across this post from a blog I read regularly. I laughed when I saw the picture and thought you’d love it:
    http://feeds.gothamistllc.com/click.phdo?i=cd2ca126af0c03aa01d14f37c9fa2811

  10. Shoshanah March 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    I’m jealous you’re life friends are close enough that you can get together every weekend. The friends I’ve had the longest live ALL over. Israel being the farthest current distance.

  11. Scott S March 13, 2009 at 7:32 am #

    I just feel sorry for Irish, poor guy, being put on the spot like that. You ladies do know some guys run away when things like that happen.

    Not to mention, I put some serious thought into when and where to propose, trying to make it special, and would have been ticked if forced to propose to soon.

  12. Jacqueline from MissMusing March 13, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    Like you, I am blessed to have a wonderful group of close friends and I cherish them.

    Poor Irish, being put on the spot like that! I have a friend who is very forward too, and she shocks me on an almost daily basis. Sometimes I appreciate it and other times it can make things a little awkward for people who aren’t use to her ways.

  13. Irish March 13, 2009 at 8:13 am #

    Oh man. I was mid-sip on a beer when she turned to ask me that.
    I pulled an “uuhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh” but by the 2nd “h” she had already turned back to her other conversation.
    It was really funny and I’m sure it would have been a funny interaction to witness.

    I keep my own council on matters such as this, so no hints from me!

  14. Jennifer March 13, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    I miss having friends like that. My college friends are spread throughout the country and my newer friends all have babies!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Howl at the Moon « Walking through the Rain - March 13, 2009

    […] already know about Wednesday night. Certainly not a bad evening but it was just bizarre and of course I hoped with all my might that […]

Leave a Reply

