Making Friday the 13th that much better…

13 Mar

The fantastic Alyssa bestowed upon me a new award that’s been making the rounds on the blogosphere the last few weeks.

honest-scrap

The Honest Scrap award comes with a caveat or 2. Firstly you have to tell your readers 10 things about you they may not know, but that are true. Secondly you have to tag 10 people with the award.

Ten Things about me:
1. My very first job ever was a “Mommy’s Helper,” which is pretty much a babysitter, even though the mom is around. The first lady I worked for was Mexican and had the cutest little baby.

2. I graduated from college in three and a half years and it wasn’t intentional. One day my counselor called me and said I had enough credits to graduate and so I did. I’m taking my time on my M.B.A. though, to make up for it.

3. People assume that because I’m Italian I have connections to the mafia. When they ask me, I put my sunglasses on and act all mysterious, just to keep them guessing when frankly the stereotype annoys me.

4. I do have an strong love to learn more about the Mafia. I’ve read several really powerful stories, biographies and government-published books on the organization.

5. I have dreamed of living in NYC since I was in high school. I’m not entirely sure it’s ever going to happen.

6. Prior to Irish I had 2.5 serious relationships.

7. I’m super “young” for my age, meaning I didn’t turn 16 until my junior year in high school or 21 until my final semester in college. It ceratinly was a challenge at times.

8. I broke my ankle in three places at camp when I was in sixth grade. Ruined my entire summer but the cast with the tie-dye on it was totally rockin’. (Looking back I don’t know why I didn’t get pink or something more normal. Sigh.)

9. I could eat Mexican and Italian food every other day and be totally happy. Quite large, probably, but happy.

10. I should live in a bubble: I’m allergic to all trees, flowers, dusts, mold, pollens, mildews, grasses, and bushes we have in Missouri. I’m also allergic to 100% of fruits, 95% of vegetables, all tree nuts, soy, sesame seeds and celery.

I happily give this award to the following to many women I haven’t been able to give an award to yet:
1. Fabulous at Fab Obsessed
2. Larissa at Confessions of a Broken Heart
3. Kelly at Dear Friend,
4. Mandy at Knowing the Difference
5. Insomniac Lolita
6. Carina, A Blogette
7. Auburn Kat
8. Charlotte at Butterfly Rush
9. SSG at Wake Up it’s Tuesday!
10. Tabitha at Just Tabitha

10 Responses to “Making Friday the 13th that much better…”

  1. Kelly March 13, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    I am allergic to everything too!! Thank you for the award! I hope you have a good rest of the workday and an awesome weekend!! I plan on sleeping…a lot. ha-ha!

  2. lucklys March 13, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    haha, i love the italian thing! j is puerto rican/italian, and he does the accents so well that people are always confused as to where he’s really from, and when he does the really strong italian accent, he’s actually quite frightening. sometimes i can’t tell if he’s joking or serious and i get really confused. he can do any accent actually…he’s too impressive.

    also, j is only my second serious relationship. i hope he’s my last, too :D

    and one last thing, j is allergic to everything that has to do with animals, raw fruits and veggies, and nature. poor guy.

    you guys are almost exactly the same…

  3. Amber March 13, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    I was a “mommy’s helper” my first job too. Haha, hilarious!

    That sucks that you’re allergic to so much stuff :S

  4. mandy March 13, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    Awwww, thanks Nora!! What a great way to end the week! With an award from you!

    That tie dyed cast had to be rocking!

  5. andhari March 13, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Thanks love.

    Anywya, you graduated in 3,5 years? So jealous over here! LMAO

  6. Tabitha March 13, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    Yay! Thanks for nominating me. I did this one awhile back, though: http://just-tabitha.blogspot.com/2009/02/honest-scrap-because-i-know-how.html

    PS – I have TONS of allergies too! I can eat some fruits, but I think what gets me is the pesticides or something. Usually if it’s organic I’m okay. I haven’t been able to eat lettuce/salad in like two years. AND I recently found out I’m allergic to sesame…and I had NO idea how much stuff it’s in! What do you eat??

  7. butterflycharlie March 14, 2009 at 4:46 am #

    Ohh just saw this! Once i get my internet connection back at home i’ll pick up on this. Thanks!

  8. AuburnKat March 15, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    Awww! Thanks=)

    Sorry I’m so late!!!

  9. SSG March 16, 2009 at 5:34 am #

    cool! poor you with the allergies. My twin sis has many allergies and i don’t have many at all, poo poo. Thank you for the scrap will get on with it!

  10. Carina the Blogarina May 10, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Ohh, I just saw this! Fun fun! I’ll do it right away! This is was happens when you live without the net for a while..

Leave a Reply

