Tuesday Tidbits & This Is…

17 Mar
  • My brother has a blog. Check it out. (Yes, I’m a proud big sister. Oh, and to clarify he’s not going to my undergrad college because I went there in case anyone interpreted it that way. He’s working on transferring there to attend the best Journalism School in the Nation. It still makes me all kinds of happy!)
  • It’s St. Patrick’s Day today. I remember to wear my green but really, who pinches non-green wearing people any more? I remember the days in elementary school and middle school when it would happen all the time: in the lunch line, during recess, on the bus. I tricked people into thinking I wasn’t wearing green but I always had on shamrock socks. I was told it didn’t count, but I think it did.
  • The Tiling Project. Irish and I (mostly Irish) started tiling on Saturday. It looks awesome so far and I must say having the small hand in the DIY project is really rewarding. I am in charge of grouting after all the tile is laid; I get a special grout-piping bag which is very similar to that of a cake icing bag, just thicker. We hit a bit of a roadblock on Sunday afternoon as the tile cutter we purchased is giving us all sorts of grief and is managing to ruin several of the tiles which means we either need to educate ourselves on the scoring process better or rent a tile cutter this weekend. Hopefully it will all be done by Sunday!
  • This Is… theme this week is about my creative space. Sadly, I don’t have a creative space right now. When it comes to writing, it’s in my head, and it pops up at the most random times: at the movies, out to dinner with friends, at the gym, in the shower. Totally boring and not exciting at all, but it’s true. I do long for the days in which I’ll have a room to put my scrapbooking stuff, camera, journals, photos, blog ideas and etc. For now I’ll settle for using my laptop and the random thoughts that pop into my head that I consider to be creative.
  • House Sitting. This Friday marks the beginning of my yearly house (okay, let’s be honest, mansion) sitting for a friend, though it’s with a twist this time around: I get to take care of a puppy! Hanging out at this house for a week is more like a spa vacation than a job. I’m contemplating taking a day off of work this time around just to enjoy some time to myself (I’ve always wanted to do it and never have. This could be the year.)
  • Interval Training. Wow, does it kick some serious butt. Fortunately I located the “speed interval,” button so I don’t have to attempt to run at a speed of 8.0 and change it back to 6.3. I already feel better and maybe even a little bit stronger. I have no idea if that’s possible, but maybe.
  • That’s all I’ve got other than I’m jonesing for a serious vacation somewhere, away from computers, cell phones, the MidWest, preferably a place that has a beach, margaritas and loads of books for me to read.
9 Responses to “Tuesday Tidbits & This Is…”

  1. Jennifer March 17, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    I always run intervals but I didn’t know there was an interval button on treadmills! I’ll have to check it out! That will help soooo much!

  2. Amber March 17, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    That’s so funny that you get the job of grouting. Cute!

    You absolutely should take a day off work and enjoy the mansion. Make your own margarita’s and hide your laptop under the bed :-) Puppy’s are so fun too!

  3. lucklys March 17, 2009 at 5:23 pm #

    well i haven’t really been a part of any home improvement projects, but i’ve been teaching j how to bake! he even added a few suggestions to our first cookie lesson, haha.

  4. carina March 17, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    Just like me, not a lot of creativity comes from my creative space… Hopefully, soon!

  5. mandy March 17, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    House sitting in a mansion sounds fabulous and you should totally take a day off to enjoy it! Make sure you wear a fluffy robe and comfy slippers all day.

    I dont really have a creative place either. It just comes to me at random times.

  6. Snarl March 18, 2009 at 2:16 am #

    I knew you’d print a clarification (so to speak). In terms of coming up with great ideas at random, carry a pocket-sized notebook and pen. I know you don’t always wear bottoms with pockets, but a little Moleskine looks professional.

    I never leave without mine.

  7. andhari March 18, 2009 at 2:51 am #

    Shamrock socks totally count! How cute are they?:)

  8. amber March 18, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    Heeehee, Shamrock Socks :o)
    Sorry to hear you don’t have a specific space, looking forward to reading next week’s

  9. Alesia March 18, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    I used to have a friend whose mother dressed her in orange on St. Patrick’s day. It was a traumatic holiday for her!

Leave a Reply

