Impromptu St. Patrick’s Day

18 Mar

I spent my St. Patrick’s Day like most people: stuck in the office.

The weather in StL was a fabulous 75, maybe even 80 degrees outside.

The parade that takes place just mere blocks from my office drew close to 10,000 people, all wearing green, beer in hand and NOT AT WORK. (Random fun fact: only 23 tickets were given out yesterday, most for under-aged drinking, a few for fights and of course a few DUIs.)

When I finally escaped the office at 3:30 to have a brief meeting with our local State Senator about a great program from Microsoft for the unemployed, the wind whipped through my hair and the smell of beer seemed to be everywhere. The bar on the corner of my office building’s block which is normally dead was overcrowded with guys and gals alike with faces painted green, insanely large hats, and laughter. I’ll admit I was jealous.

So I decided to pick up a few random things at the grocery store on my way home from work for Irish and I to enjoy since he decided he wasn’t really up for going out:

  • An insane amount of green beads, some with green beer charms attached to them, other with white beads weaved into the mix. Side Note: I tried to get Jack to wear a pair of beads but he kept shaking them off.
  • Skinny Cow mint ice cream sandwiches (because they were green and um, I love mint ice cream and they are healthy)
  • Green decals that spell out the word “Irish,” with three-leaf clovers made out of hearts which I plastered to his hallway closet
  • A picnic dinner of roast chicken, salad, fantastic bread, a selection of cheeses and my personal favorite the “Kiss Me, I’m Irish!” decorated brownie cake. I know it’s no corned beef and cabbage but I can’t have cabbage and didn’t have time to even think about cooking corned beef. Maybe next year!
  • Oh, and Guiness. Can’t forget the Guinness!

Add Boondock Saints to the mix, the fact that we wore the beads throughout our meal and during the movie (even though I fell asleep at 7pm because I’m a lame-o) and it all makes a pretty awesome St. Patrick’s Day.

I think this is the first time in my life I actively celebrated the occasion. It wasn’t so bad after all. Maybe one of these years I’ll get to the parade or dare to take the day off of work to pretend I’m Irish!

8 Responses to “Impromptu St. Patrick’s Day”

  1. Amber March 18, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    Awww that sounds great. I definitely did not celebrate at all. Well, I wore green, if that even counts as “celebrating”. lol

  2. butterflycharlie March 18, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Wow St Patricks day parade?!

  3. Rebekah March 18, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    The Dogtown parade ROCKED! The boyfriend lives half a block from the parade route. Radio people said there were 50,000 people out there with us…

    And you don’t need cabbage. No one does.

  4. oh March 18, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    I will say that you have a wee drop o’ Irish in you from your maternal great gran. But, ahem, there’s more of Italy than the Emerald Isle about you! That’s another place we need to visit and vacation, though, beautiful Ireland.

  5. nova March 19, 2009 at 7:05 am #

    You guys will have to come visit NY sometime to see the St. Patrick’s Day parade here. They go all out here. Everyone is Irish on that day!

    Boondock Saints??? I freakin’ love that movie. It’s one of my favorites.

  6. mandy March 19, 2009 at 7:13 am #

    My friends and I used to skip class (and work up until a few years ago) and go hang out in Pittsburgh for the day. A few years ago one of my friends got married on St. Pattys day — it was quite the celebration and one of the most fun St. Pattys day I had.

  7. lucklys March 19, 2009 at 9:30 am #

    man, i want a picnic so bad now. you made me picture blankets and fields and the beach and summer…

    mint ice cream sandwiches sound like the perfect st. patty’s day snack :)

  8. ria March 19, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    i love skinny cow ice cream sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

