24 Days to go

19 Mar

I’m almost halfway through Lent so I thought I’d do a quick udpate on my progress with all of my “give-ups.”

  • Facebook. I’ll admit I was having serious withdrawals the first three days. My fingers itched to type in the URL and quickly sign-in to see what was what with who, but I didn’t. I haven’t checked Facebook once on any Sunday even though I told myself I could. I think I’m going to make it the full 40 days without it. With regards to my “real life friends,” it’s shown me a lot about who cares enough to make contact with me via email, text or phone call. It’s also de-cluttered my life, improved my sense of self (I don’t know about some of you but I get annoyed when I make the effort to stay in touch with FB friends and don’t get anything back… ever), and made me less addicted/reliant on my Blackberry. All good things. I’m sure I’ll check it when I’m “allowed,” to but not two or three times a day like I used too.
  • Soda. For the first two weeks I didn’t miss it all. Then last week I broke down and had a Sprite. The real goal in giving up soda was to avoide caffeine and empty calories. I have since only had a few other Sprites but haven’t finished them nor come even close. It’s the carbonation I crave and miss. I feel a little guilty about this one.
  • Fast food. Easy. Sure it smells good, especially when I’m stuck in traffic on my way home and crave a quick dinner but I keep driving. I keep my $7 bucks and avoid an excessive amount of disgusting food. I’m sure I’ll be able to keep the no fast-food thing up after Lent is over.
  • Fried Food. Surprisingly not as easy, especially when eating out. (Surcharges to have a salad instead of fries are kind of silly if you ask me.) Also not as easy when really want something fried. But I’ve managed to pull it off so far and my body feels better overall for it. I wasn’t eating an excessive amount of fried food before, but hopefully I can be sure to limit my fried food consumption as much as possible after Lent is over. (All this “healthy,” eating is hard when you’re in a relationship, happy hours are common and parties are all about appetizer food!)

In hindsight I wish I had also attempted my hand at quitting chocolate and cheese cold turkey. Those are my absolute favorite things in the world. I’m thinking next year… or maybe after Lent is over, I could give up chocolate and cheese for 40 days and see how it goes? Although, I don’t think anyone would want to be around me if I gave up those things. I may turn into a bit of a monster.

11 Responses to “24 Days to go”

  1. butterflycharlie March 19, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    noo! why would you want to give up cheese and chocolate?! crazy! I could NEVER give up either of those things. Like you, i think i would turn into a complete monster, they are my absolute favourites as well!

  2. lucklys March 19, 2009 at 11:02 am #

    yeah, i think you should not do that cheese and chocolate thing. but you could cut back if you think you’re eating too much, like only eat it every other day, or 2 times a week instead of 4.

    the funny thing about your list (and i mean this in no disrespectful way whatsoever!) is that i’ve given up everything except for facebook (and french fries once a week). i don’t remember the last time i was at a fast food restaurant and carbonation actually makes me sick to my stomach now since i stopped drinking soda 4 years ago.

    it feels really good to be doing this stuff for my body :) keep it up! and good job on the facebook thing, i’ve been cutting back my usage to once a day just to check for messages.

  3. mandy March 19, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    Go you for doing so well, that is great. I’m not even remotely religious and have never given anything up for Lent. Maybe I should try to give something up for 40 days. I’ll have to give it serious thought. I quit drinking soda a year or so ago, I have one every once in a while, but not like I used to. I have also alsmost stopped drinking coffee. sometimes I need the caffeination but I feel better without it now for the most part.

  4. CLo March 19, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    Schnucks stocks these natural sodas. I think they’re sugar free, too. They’re small cans — maybe 8 oz. — but I think they’d help you get through the temptations. There’s little airplanes on the can and there’s a ton of flavors.

  5. Amber March 19, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    Wow! Great job on those things. I think next year I will participate in Lent and give up facebook and sugar!! I kind of wish I’d participated this year, although now that I’ve joined Twitter and have become completely obsessed with blogosphere I don’t check facebook nearly as much as I used to anymore!

  6. SoMi's Nilsa March 19, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    That’s amazing. Seriously. Those are not easy things to give up and even with your minor stumbles, you seem to be doing really well.

    By default, I actually gave up caffeine. When I was sick, I just stopped drinking soda. And so I used those days as a jump-start and figured I’d keep going. As of today, two weeks in, I’m feeling OK. Not completely over the hump, but I’m hoping to stay off the soda for a while.

  7. andhari March 19, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    your last sentence is sooo me when i totally restrict my food intake, i just try anything moderately now xp

  8. ria March 19, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    keep up the good work! :)

  9. Miss Musing March 19, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Good for you for making so much progress. I gave up caffeine last year for Lent and it was torturous. I struggled all the way through, but then a few months ago I decided to give it up for good.

    You can’t give up cheese AND chocolate! Personally, I’d keep the cheese.

  10. somewhat voluble March 20, 2009 at 8:35 am #

    It is sad that restaurants charge extra for trying to be healthy.

  11. caterpillar85 March 21, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    wow hun! you are doing such a great job! the facebook thing…man that would kill me but i really like your insight on it!

Leave a Reply

