Unspoken

20 Mar

The Twenty Something Writers Prompt today is to write something to someone that you’ve never said but want to say/wish you could say and etc.
Here’s my attempt, and please keep in mind that I’m only writing some of the mean things because I know that “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

***************************************************

Dear Last Guy I dated before Irish,

I’ll admit I was infuriated by the way you broke up with me and cursed your name for several weeks after the fact. You left me feeling broken, confused and angrier than I had ever been before. But now I need to thank you. When you broke up with me I realized that I had been looking for the wrong things in what I ideally wanted in a man. I also realized that I needed to learn to live more for me and what I wanted rather than what my friends did, what society suggested I try and I put myself first. It felt awkward at first, ignoring other people’s needs and focusing on myself but the end result was amazing. I felt confident, strong, in-touch with my sense of self, emotions and desires and finally discovered what I wanted in a man and wouldn’t you know it has nothing to do with you, even in the smallest way? So thank you for being a complete assclown- it was just what I needed to meet the real man of my dreams.

************************************

Dear Mean Girl,

It would really help all of us out if you stopped being a bitch. Your gruff personality, snide comments and rude behavior do not make me want to hang out with you and furthermore, I’m done trying to be nice. I think you’re the only person in this world who makes me feel tense, frustrated, angry and annoyed. You are the only person I know who has broken my kind spirit. I kind of hate you for that.  You’re alienating people from your life at an alarmingly fast rate. I hope that you can sort out your issues so you stop hurting people and perhaps be a bright, sunny person that I think you want to be. Until that time, leave me the hell alone. 

*************************************

Dear Poppy,

I’m sorry I didn’t say a final goodbye at your funeral all those years ago.  I couldn’t summon the courage to look at your face one last time. I still regret it.  Darling and I get tears in our eyes when we think and talk about you. You are missed more than you could possibly imagine. We’re taking good care of Gram for you; know that she misses you more than all of us combined. She’s never been the same since you left us which to me is a sign of true love, a great man and a strong connection. Hope to see you in my dreams again soon.

Love,
Half-Pint

*******************************

Dear Irish,

I don’t know where to begin with you. It seems anything I’ll say will sound too corny, cheesy or gushy. But it would all be true. You are my light, my love and my newest best friend. I can’t express how excited I am for any and all of the adventures we have before us. Thrilled you came into my life and even more thrilled that we have brought out the best in each other.

Love,
Spices

*****************************

Dear Blogosphere and blog friends,

I don’t think you could get any better unless of course blogs could involve teleportation so that the blog friends and I could get together and share drinks, baked goods, and fun? You’ve been here for me in many ways that some of my “real” friends haven’t. You don’t judge. You’re compassionate, supportive, genius and never cease to amaze. I hope I do half as much for you as you have done for me.

Eternally grateful,
Nora

*************************
What do you wish you could tell someone?

17 Responses to “Unspoken”

  1. Page March 20, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    Dear Rude Trainee in the UK:

    No, you are not the only person on the training, so we can’t stop for 5 minutes and put 20 other attendees on hold to find another number for you to dial since you didn’t check prior to the session to confirm that you can’t dial 800 numbers. And by the way, when you do finally get into the session, please put your phone on mute before you tell a coworker “Oh God, I’m on this horribly boring teleconference.”

  2. Seeker March 20, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    What a great post !!! I need to try that (but not blog about it). It would clear a lot of bad Karma for me…Thank you…

  3. lucklys March 20, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    i would definitely write a letter to my last ex (in high school) thanking him for deciding that a freshman girl was more exciting than me (a senior). and for introducing me to his then-best friend so that i could be his new best friend after he (the ex) broke up with me. if we hadn’t dated, i would never have met one of the nicest guys i know and have come to care for. plus j likes him too :)

    your letters were all really good, definitely things i could say to different people in my life, too.

  4. Amber March 20, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Aww, what great letters! I think that’s such a great idea for a prompt, it really helps to write letters to get things off your chest! I would have to resist trying to send some of mine though, lol!

  5. Amber March 20, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    PS: Your a GREAT blog friend :-)

  6. Larissa March 20, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    this is cool, I might have to try this someday…and aww your letter to irish made me happy. love is a wonderful thing isnt it?

    have a lovely weekend dear! *hugs*

  7. Larissa March 20, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    i agree with amber on her ps- you rock!!!! <3

  8. ria March 20, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    you are an awesome blog friend :)

    i love this idea and i think i might do some letters of my own

    happy friday!

  9. Irish March 20, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Dear Singer Electric Co.,
    You broke my heart today when I found out you stopped manufacturing dual-shaft electric motors in the 1970’s. If you had considered my feelings on the matter, albeit I wasn’t born yet, you could have saved me the $1800 it’s going to cost me to replace my heating and cooling system.
    I understand that you were preoccupied with your sewing machines and figuring out how to make repairing ripped clothing more efficient. But if you are going to start something, you should commit to it.
    We had some good times together.
    But I’m leaving you for a younger, sexier, quieter and more efficient heating and cooling system.
    It’s not me. It’s you.

  10. mandy March 20, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Dear Nora,

    Thanks for being an awesome blog friend. You, too, have been there for me in ways that some of my in real life friends havent. I admire your dedication to the people you love and your drive, I like to think its something we have in common. Your encouragement and support in my recent endeavors mean the world to me and you help inspire me to be a better person.

    Your blog friend,
    Mandy

    P.S. I still think it would kick ass to open a bakery together.

  11. andhari March 21, 2009 at 12:47 am #

    I laughed at the first letter, seriously it’s kinda amazing how douchebags end up sending their ex to a much better guy who can treat her right. So good! I need this to happen for myself soon.

  12. Rebekah March 21, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    Dear Mom and Dad,

    I should have told you when you bought it and had the receipt, but I HATE the curio cabinet you bought me to display the collection of Gone With the Wind stuff I no longer care about. I hate oak. I hate gold hardware. I hate cluttered rooms with too much furniture. Now I have all three and I feel badly for not telling you because I resent you for it and it’s not really your fault. But I want to smash glass every time I see the stupid thing.

  13. caterpillar85 March 21, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    this is a fantastic post & idea. i really loved yours to the last boyfriend before Irish! It gave me a sense of hope that one day I hope to write such a thing! I might have to steal this idea… :) hope you are having a great weekend hun!

  14. somewhat voluble March 21, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    These were so fun to write!

  15. Tabitha March 23, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    Such a great post! :)

  16. Jennifer March 24, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    this is great; thanks for sharing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. & that’s the way life goes » Blog Archive » words unspoken - March 20, 2009

    […] saw this on Laylou’s blog first but it’s orginally a writing prompt from 20something […]

Leave a Reply

