This is…what my reality show would be

24 Mar

Andhari chose the theme for this week’s “This Is…” and it’s definitely a good one: What would your reality show look like if you could design and star in your own show?

My ideas are:

* Information Technology Reality TV show. I know, I know, it sounds boring, but really it would be a lot like “The Office.” I work in a small place, less than 20 of us total and some of the things that go on and are said are positively ridiculous. I figure we could either angle it as a family business type show, working to take over the market slowly but surely or we could just be a comedy about how silly working in an office everyday can be, depending on how the end-all-be-all editors decide it should go.

* I’ve always wanted to start my own bakery. Mandy and I have joked about starting our own bakery together. How fun would that be? Perhaps a show chronicling friendship, business trials and tribulations and above all, baking. Think Ace of Cakes meets any sort of cooking show combined with Gilmore Girls type banter. (I assume Mandy and I would talk non-stop if we were in the same place.)

* Random Dating Show. If I were single and still in college I’d suggest something more like Real World meets Bachelorette, though my life was never quite that dramatic. I was voted most likely to be on a dating show in college thanks to my peers, and knowing how the dates and etc turned out, I bet the ratings would have been spectacular and the fans would have gotten a laugh out of it knowing they weren’t alone.

* The Normal Nanny Show. I’m a former nanny. If I had video cameras with me then, it would have been like a much nicer Jon & Kate Plus Eight kind of show. I used to nanny for a doctor and his wife: FOUR KIDS. 35 to 40 hours a week. They gave me a car, I stayed over some nights and basically I was a second mom. I had a blast, learned a lot and would love to do it again if I had the opportunity. Maybe America is ready for a nanny-reality show where the nanny doesn’t have to tell the parents how to treat their children, the mom and dad aren’t constantly crazed and running in circles but instead, about the nanny. What she learns with the kids, about herself, her future life and etc.

* Nora Travels. Let’s say I won the lottery. Then let’s also say that I decided to quit work for one year and travel the world with Irish. Mostly Europe, but I’d like to check out Russia, South America, New Zealand/Australia and more of Canada. In my head I’m combining some sort of “where to eat/what to see off the beaten path,” with National Geographic pictures and culture, plus the romance and etc that the Today Show travels seem to show.

* And lastly, I’d like to have a workout reality show. I love the idea of The Biggest Loser but what about those of us who just want to lose a few pounds, have a limited diet thanks to allergies and try to maintain a normal balanced life? We still struggle too! There has to be a reality show in that somewhere, right??

I don’t think I could handle cameras in my face all the time, and I certainly wouldn’t want them interfering with my sleep, alone time nor family/friend/Irish relationships which is why I’m leaving them out of all of the above ideas.

I think my three favorites would have to be the Bakery Start-Up, Nanny show or Nora Travels.

What would you want your reality TV show to be?

12 Responses to “This is…what my reality show would be”

  1. Megan March 24, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    I’d love the travelling one!

  2. mandy March 24, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    The bakery one! We can call it Cookies and Cupcakes. It would have to be incredibly Gilmore Girls -esque (one of my favorite shows btw). That would be simply fantastical. It could chronicle all of our baking adventures and mishaps. Seriously, who wouldnt want to watch that? I want to watch that now! I think we should call producers tomorrow.

  3. Little Fish March 24, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    Can I come on the Travel reality show with you guys?

    PS- I saw Jo from Supernanny in Whole Foods a few months ago.

  4. Larissa March 24, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    ooo…when you head over to Australia let me know and we’ll go together! lol!

  5. Amber March 24, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    My best friend that I’ve known since we were five years old and I used to have the craziest things happen to us. We always joked there should be an “Amber and Michele show” when we were growing up. Lol.

  6. andhari March 24, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    oooh the travels. I’m soooooo gonna be watching that religiously.

  7. the girl in stiletto March 24, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    bakery!!! with different cupcake flavors each week.

  8. E.P. March 24, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to start a bakery, too! Can I join in with y’all? It sounds like a lot of fun. (:

  9. Snarl March 25, 2009 at 1:47 am #

    I’d like a show where I tell people to change the channel all the time.

  10. SSG March 25, 2009 at 6:09 am #

    mmm bakery show, but it would make me hungry!

  11. Christina March 25, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    I like your ideas! I enjoy the one about the bakery though. I myself enjoy baking and experimenting with new recipes. Ace of Cakes rocks! Those cakes are not only huge but they look so delicious!

  12. Christina March 25, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    PS – I never heard of Pandora, but I tried it and that’s a pretty awesome website/gadget!

Leave a Reply

