What to do when…

25 Mar

(Warning:  Boys, you may not like this post)

… you’re an emotional trainwreck thanks to the lovely, ever un-popular PMS (meaning you feel like crying for no good reason, the thought of leaving the puppy you’ve been house-sitting for the last five days makes you sad,you crave sleep, chocolate and junk food, in no particular order and the last thing you want to do is be perky) :

* Choose a kick-ass outfit for the day so at least you don’t look as emotional as you feel

* Kick your heels off under your desk, just because you can

* Choose the “Chill Time,” playlist you have created on Pandora. Fast forward through the songs that make you feel like crying, even though you don’t know why you want to cry

* Give yourself permission to eat a few pieces of chocolate, totally ignoring your diet

* Drink loads and loads of water

* Keep your head down at your desk, working fast and furious

* Don’t take crap from co-workers at office

* Try not to worry about what’s bothering you (for example: need to buy new black dress for upcoming wedding, how is Jack doing? How are my parents dogs? How will I be able to pull off the bachelorette party to the Smokey Mountains this fall? Why are so many people asking when Irish and I are going to tie the knot? Why does my hair look like crap? To tan or not to tan?)

* Mentally plan your workout for the night, hoping the emotions work their way out of your system this way

* Tell yourself that after the workout you can put on sweats and watch any girlie movie you want, bonus if it helps you cry to rid yourself of that “I just need to cry,” feeling

* Cuddle with dog, boyfriend, pillow, whatever is close to you

* Remind yourself that the week is almost over and the weekend is full of fun

* Feel good for having all monthly bills paid in plenty of time and bonus: Tax Refund is on its way!

* Think of all the love that surrounds you in your life

* Choose not to write a mopey, woe-is-me-blog-post, even though it is what you really want to do

* Smile, because even if you don’t mean it at the beginning of the day, by the end of the day the smile(s) will be geunine

14 Responses to “What to do when…”

  1. Amber March 25, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    What a fabulous, uplifting post!! I totally agree with the renting a girlie movie and just crying. Sometimes just letting the tears flow is the only thing that will help :-)

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. somewhat voluble March 25, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    Love this post!

    The Smokey Mountains? Tennessee, perhaps? I live in TN! :D

  3. mandy March 25, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    Sometimes you just need to cry for no reason. I ascribe to that philosphy. And chcoclate. Sending a hug your way. Half the week down, only 2 and a half more to days to go!

  4. lucklys March 25, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    i love this. i’ve been feeling like utter crap the past few days, like i’m not worth anything, like everything i do is just overlooked and not good enough for anyone. i’ve gotta start realizing that i should be doing things for myself, and as long as it’s good enough for me, then screw everyone else.

    i had a good cry last night with j, we talked about everything that’s been bothering us and how stressed we are in terms of the future. we have all these plans we want to explore with no means of exploring them. yet. and that’s what we have to remember, that we’ll get there when we need to get there, and not before.

    (ps. my mom has been asking me when i’m going to marry j since the first time she met him at our 4 month mark…annoying)

  5. kristen March 25, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    great tips! keep your chin up!

  6. Tabitha March 25, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    Love it! My favorite one is “Kick your heels off under your desk, just because you can.” I do this PMS or no PMS. :)

  7. andhari March 25, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Those are good, I’m in my 2nd day of period myself so I’m totally experiencing the same thing. I’ve been craving desserts lately and feel like crying my heart out.

  8. Larissa March 25, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    Don’t take crap from co-workers at office
    -yes!! I seem to have a problem with that these days.
    sometimes its good to just shut ur bedroom door, lay on ur bed and cry- i mean a really good cry…im sorry its that time of the month, ugh it sucks to be a woman sometimes. chin up! *hugs*

  9. wide open spaces March 25, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    this is hilarious. yeah, I’m having one of those days too. And we have no chocolate in the house.

  10. Jennifer March 25, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    ditto

  11. Snarl March 25, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Really? What would be the male counterpoint to this? A blog about anger problems?

  12. Lily March 26, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    AMEN! This was me earlier this week… I was worried and stressed and freaked out about things that I had no control over, for reasons that were totally irrational. Just two days later? I feel like a crazy person for have even fretted to begin with and now wonder how I was even that emotional in the first place! But Girl Scout cookies definitely help.

  13. Kimmers March 26, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    If it makes you feel any better my boyfriend and I are also at the “so when are you guys getting engaged” place… to a point where EVERYONE feels entitled to grill us about it, including our coworkers to his distant relatives. Ugh. It’s probably not as awkward for us as for you, because we are open with each other and others about the fact that we do plan to get engaged soon, we just need to get some bills paid off first. Because really, what’s the fun in planning a wedding you can’t really enjoying for all the credit cards you’re drowning in?? In the meantime I’m impatient enough for the damn ring, I really don’t need everyone asking about it every 5 seconds!!

    Also: this summer for the first time ever I will have a pool, and I’m thinking this could be the first summer in like 15 years that I’m actually tan… usually I’m so pasty white that it’s blinding. But I’m torn: killer tan vs avoiding possible skin cancer. Is it sick that I’m leaning toward the tan??

    Hope you day picks up! :)

  14. SSG March 26, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    I love this post. So often i write a “woe is me” post. But this list is great. And it’s true sometimes I can’t listen to my ipod incase the songs make me feel like crying. Why do we have to have this 1 week out of 4? ah rubbish! And the water thing is a good idea. And i do cave and eat chocolate, even though i’m supposed to have given it up for lent!

Leave a Reply

