You know it’s love…

26 Mar

…when:

* your boyfriend knows what you want from your favorite Mexican restaurant without asking you

* when the most random song reminds you of a specific moment in time that you spent with your boyfriend (W.A.R’s Low Rider song. Takes me back to our road trip to Canada last year)

* not seeing each other for two whole days and nights is the ultimate torture

* you stock each other’s favorite foods at your house for the fauxhabitation periods

* you gladly go to “bat” for each other in work and social situations

* sitting together and reading is just as awesome as sitting together and talking

* the kisses send shivers down your spine

* you are both willing to go to family functions with each other, no fights involved

* you make it through a DIY project without any problems but instead lots of laughter, jokes and random dancing to hip-hop music to make the time pass

* he grows to love your dog (and you’ve caught them cuddling a time or two)

* he doesn’t make fun of your love for all things “Twilight,”… too much

* your open and willing to learn about new things: music (ahem, The Decemberists), books (ahem, Vampire books), and even put yourself WAY out of your comfort zone around some of his friends

* you are loyal to each other in all aspects of your lives

* you easily, yet cautiously (as in you want to keep things a surprise) talk about the future such as the “e-word,” and living together

* you’re aware of the fact that even though your boyfriend recently washed his sheets, he hasn’t taken the time to put them back on his bed yet, and he’s likely sleeping on the couch

* taking care of each other when sick, after a bad day or just because is a given

* you have the silliest nicknames for each other (Example: my latest nickname is “Spices”)

* you do things for each other that you don’t always want to do but do so with a smile because it makes them happy

* the only thing that can fix your day and make your world right sometimes is hearing their voice, smelling their cologne and getting a big hug

mels-wedding-4

18 Responses to “You know it’s love…”

  1. somewhat voluble March 26, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    I love posts like this! Haha, my husband has weird nicknames for me. Like, he calls me “mrrrgrrrn” and “medhun” … he’s an odd one. :)

  2. Kimberly March 26, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    This was so sweet!

  3. mandy March 26, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Very sweet, sounds like the two of you are incredibly lucky to have found each other!

  4. lucklys March 26, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    awwwww! you are too cute! i love this post so much :) it reminds me of my relationship in almost every aspect. it’s so wonderful to see all this love!

  5. Nina March 26, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    what a sweet sweet post :) you guys sound so happy.

  6. Gigi March 26, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    So sweet! I needed to hear that it’s possible for that kind of love. Are you all @Sugar Creek in that pic?

  7. Amber March 26, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    Great post! I love that picture of you guys. So cute!!

    Eric definitely has some weird nicknames for me, “poopy” is his latest one. Haha.

  8. ria March 26, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    this was such a sweet post

  9. SoMi's Nilsa March 26, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    I say you know it’s love when you’re willing to fart, burp and pick your nose in front of one another. Oh yeah and peeing with the bathroom door open. Though, I am hopeful we’ll never be comfortable with keeping the door open while going Number 2! ha.

  10. Tabitha March 26, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    So true! All of it. :) (Well, I haven’t read Twilight yet…)

    And you guys look so cute together! Eee! I get excited when other people are as in love as I am.

  11. andhari March 26, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWW :’)

  12. Jennifer March 26, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    what a cute pic!!! make me want a bf

  13. Little Fish March 26, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Does he have a brother?

  14. Snarl March 26, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    I would’ve finished reading this, but I had to clean up my vomit.

  15. Jennifer March 27, 2009 at 7:37 am #

    Awww what a sweet post! My hubby and I also have goofy pet names. Lately he has been calling me his little guppy. I don’t know where that came from. We call each other a random new pet name every couple weeks. It’s so much more fun than the typical “baby,” “honey,” etc!

  16. E.P. March 27, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    This post made me sigh out loud. I love it! And it’s funny how a lot of the same things ring true to my relationship. Isn’t it wonderful?

  17. MissMusing March 27, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    I love this. It sounds like your boyfriend is a really wonderful person and you two are lucky to have each other. Reading this list has reminded me of how much the ‘little things’ matter in a relationship.

    (you two are a gorgeous couple, by the way!)

  18. AuburnKat March 29, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Awww! That’s so sweet!

    Sometimes I miss having a man in my life, other times, not so much=)

Leave a Reply

